We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
492 results
Traveller rating
124
171
89
54
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
171
89
54
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parakrama samudra water buffalo welcome drink pool deck the ground floor reception staff sri lanka ancient city beautiful location wild elephants lake ruins tank sites bike
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 492 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2018 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch and was very pleasantly surprised. The view is simply breathtaking and the srilanka lunch buffet was one to remember.

The waiting staff was very courteous and friendly. The price was fair.
I would recommend the lunch for those passing by.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Allenmathiniyarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 12, 2018

Stopped as a member of a tour party
Rooms were poorly furnished and far from clean. My mattress had seen better days.
The hotel is nicely situated looking over the lake. There was a large pool.
Dinner was buffet only and was so so. Not dishes were not kept warm and the ice cream was melted.
Staff were not fluent English and didn't seem interested.
Wi-Fi was only in the reception area.

Room Tip: Lake facing for the view.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

The pool was empty, the rooms were tatty and the food was passable.
The only reason to stay here is the proximity to Polonnaruwa but if I were doing it again I would visit for the day and stay outside the immediate vicinity.
That said the view of the lake is lovely and we did see elephants crossing to an island across the lake which was a bonus.
The hotel were good enough to give us a pass to use the hotel next door's pool and that was appreciated but there was absolutely nothing charming about his place except the view.

Stayed: January 2018
2  Thank LouStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2018 via mobile

There is something wrong here, we never quite worked out what, but the hotel is very run down, management dont seem to know what they are doing so were surprised that the evening buffet was very nice, although they ran out of wine early in evening and sorting the bills for our group was a masterpiece of confusion. Exodus booked us here after their normal hotel was fully booked. I'd be surprised if they go back. Plusses were lakeside location, lovely pool and v close to monuments. If u have to stay, limit it to 1 night till they sort themselves out. It has potential to be good if comletely gutted and new management.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank BootieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2018

Do not go to The Lake Hotel if you don't want to waste your hard earned money. Give it to charity instead. I was checked in at 3:30pm but they were unable to give me a room with a proper air-con until 6pm. All air-conditions were either broken or not maintained properly. They said they were over heated. Reception staff was very unprofessional in all aspects. I had to ask for a porter and welcome drink. Waited more than 30 mins in the reception desk for no reasons. Manager was friendly, but he was unable to help us at all, instead asked us to move out to another new hotel managed by them and asked us to pay the excess fee. They ruined our trip. We had lots of plans to do on Polonnaruwa, but we ended up staying sleepless. We were in B&B but we skipped the Break first because the dining area was full of bad smell and spider nets. Room walls were full of patches and dirty marks and insects. We found many insects under the bed sheet and pillow cases. TV had no working channels. No Wifi in the room area. Bath room lock was broken. Shower floor tiles was broken with holes, there was a big cockroach and a little frog inside the hole. Taps were tapped as a cover-up. Toilet cover seat was small and not properly fit-in to the toilet base, hens it was very difficult to sit on that seat. Tower hanger was just above the toilet. There were hundreds of mosquito eggs in the window and inside the pool. There was a light holder without a bulb. Hotel staff agreed about the dirtiness and complained about their own room service. When i complained about the bad smell, they sprayed very strong Air freshness many times inside the room, and it was very hard to breath. Overall this is my worst hotel experience in Sri lanka.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
10  Thank Gayan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews