We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service & Food!”
Review of Jaga Food

Jaga Food
Ranked #1 of 40 Restaurants in Polonnaruwa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$6
Cuisines: Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: We provide the best and most delicious foods in this area, with our helpful and friendly service and beautiful gardens. The open kitchen means you can see us preparing the foods for you, please ask if you'd like to see it close up! We pick fresh vegetables from our garden daily. Our restaurant between the Minneriya National Park and Polonnaruwa Ancient City. No more long about 5kms. If you have our foods, Sri Lankan taste will stay in your memory forever. Finally our vision is you're satisfied. Please note we close only 1 day a month for full moon poya day.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Our driver recommended this place to us and I am glad we went ahead, despite us still being full from our previous meal.

The owner Jaga personally serves every guest to his best ability. He was very welcoming right from the start. He noticed that my leg had a mosquito bite and he immediately brought the anti-mosquito coil over to my side, without me saying anything. Such attentive service made our experience memorable.

The curry & rice set was amazing with so many varieties. He offered to top-up additional portions if it was not enough for us. All the set items were flavorful: Cucumber curry, grilled fish, brinjal, pumpkin, dahl, papadum, curry chicken, spicy chicken (this one is fiery!), mushrooms, beetroot... With the amount of quantity, we clearly didn't need any top-ups!

The restaurant is in a quiet setting with a nice view of the river and fields. Their walls are covered with compliments from the various guests they've had over the years and a testament to their food.

Overall, really amazing host & food!!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NickyyChee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 93 of 806 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

We loved this place. The food was amazing and had the customer service to go with it. Jaga is lovely, funny and puts the customer first. We felt welcomed and comfortable as soon as we arrived, in fact, even on the phone, as I called ahead to confirm it was open in the evening (which it is, from 6:30pm til 9pm). We are vegan and were served 10 different vegetable curries and dishes, all of which were delicious. Of particular note were the jackfruit curry, the sweet potato curry and the aubergine crisps. The coconut roti for starter was also delightful and arrived hot, fresh from the grill. It was quite expensive we thought, but absolutely worth it! Jaga also dropped us home after, as we had initially struggled to get a tuk tuk! Thanks a lot! :D

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank libbytes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

What a lovely atmosphere and welcome you feel like you are at home very comfortable and very enjoyable food

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank EBK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2018

we ate the most delicious food of our roundtrip in this restaurant! the curries were soo good!
the owner is very nice and friendly as well, we loved the place as a whole!

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank elgsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2018 via mobile

Down a track through the rice paddies is this great little lunch halt with a very friendly owner. Excellent buffet lunch. WiFi, clean loos. Added interest are the water monitors who have their private beach. Best to get there around 12.30 to be sure if a table.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank PUTNEYBIKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jaga Food also viewed

Polonnaruwa, North Central Province
Polonnaruwa, North Central Province
 
Polonnaruwa, North Central Province
Polonnaruwa, North Central Province
 
Polonnaruwa, North Central Province
Polonnaruwa, North Central Province
 

Been to Jaga Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing