We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,250)
Filter reviews
1,250 results
Traveller rating
367
585
224
50
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
585
224
50
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sri lanka lion rock cultural tour swimming pool large area the cottages day tour no wifi in the rooms buffet style reception area dinner buffet mini bar main building nice pool fantastic location dining area stayed nights
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 1,250 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2018

We stayed as part of a tour group and found the hotel very comfortable and met our needs admirably. Staff were efficient and rooms were kept extremely well. Our tour guide did say we were in recently refurbished rooms which were a generous size. The view of Lion Rock from the pool and dining area was magic. Food was buffet service with a wide range to cater for all tastes. Bathroom amenities and safe were appreciated. House keeping staff kept us amused with their turn down service. It was a great location to stay for four nights allowing day trips to be undertaken easily. Within the grounds we saw plenty of monkeys and beautiful birds.

Room Tip: ask for newly refurbished rooms
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rfm013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018

Although this resort is able to accommodate many guests and is used by tour operators it has managed to maintain a serene ambiance offering large rooms in a natural environment with lots of greenery, a few monkeys and little ponds. We absolutely loved our super clean and luxurious room with all the facilities one can possibly need for a comfortable stay. The bathroom is spacious, very nicely designed and well maintained! In the restaurant one can choose a la carte or a fixed buffet rate which is very reasonable and the variety of dishes is excellent! Breakfast is also good. The entrance to the Lion Rock is a few minutes drive from the hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms are located a little far from the main entrance, swimming pool and restaurant and require a little walk.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_CFH, Front Office Manager at Sigiriya Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Sigiriya Village Hotel. We are glad to note that you have enjoyed every area of services we provided you. Our natural surrounding is our strength and our friendly staff is the pillars of our success! We earnestly hope that you would be a good ambassador for our country and our hotel and we look forward to welcome you on your next visit to Sri Lanka and to sigiriya Village Hotel.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

Staying at Sigiriya Village with our family for 2 nights and not off to a good start for our vacation. We booked 3 Superior Cottages. Check-in was ok but then things went downhill.
1. Our bags were taken to one room and the Porter suggested we “share” our bags so he could dump it all in one lot without delivering to our separate rooms. We suggested otherwise.
2. After settling in we ordered an early dinner for our toddler - mashed potatoes, usually a simple request we are used to making at most hotels- however, what we received was not made of potatoes. Rice flour paste does not substitute for mash.
3. Our group gathered into one cottage for about an hour after check in. When my parents returned to their room, a member of staff was rummaging through their belongings. Shocked on being disturbed, he had mumbled something about a cleaning and rushed out of the room.
4. My Husband and I, tired after our long trip, decided to order room service. This time they delivered our order but tripled the quantity. When we pointed out that we only ordered a soup and sandwich the waiter argued that we had actually ordered the 4 soups and sandwich (dinner for 2). Escalation to clarify with the restaurant manager resulted in rude and offensive language. Apparently we should pay for the order although they had conveniently lost the paper that he noted down our order on originally.
So disappointed- I hope hotel management takes these reviews seriously. Not likely to return on our next visit to Sri Lanka.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Nalin & Avanthi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_CFH, Front Office Manager at Sigiriya Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018


Dear Nalin & Avanthi,
We are extremely sorry and shocked to note of the bad experience you had during your stay with us recently. Our General Manager has taken immediate action to rectify these issues. We sincerely hope that the rest of our facilities and our natural environment were to your satisfaction and will linger in your memories as good ones! We thank you for your review. This would help us serve our guest with more responsibility.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018 via mobile

Spent 5 nights here. Traveling with a 2 year old baby. Rooms are big and clean. In the middle of the “jungle” it is amazing how few bugs that was in the room. The room had a damp smell like it had not been used for some time. The pool was ok but needed a lot of attention from the staff in order to clean it from the constantly falling leaves. Big area to go for a walk with your child to see the monkies, birds, fish and turtles. The breakfast is fair. The food in restaurant is fine. Only complain is that there are no kids menu. All in all a fine stay with a very friendly staff.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_CFH, Front Office Manager at Sigiriya Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. We are glad to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We have made note of your valuable suggestion.
We look forward to welcome you and your sweet little kid on your next visit to our country.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2018 via mobile

Sigiriya is a small town(village?) in Srilanka. The only major attraction being the Sigiriya mountain.

My husband and I chose this hotel based on the good reviews mentioned here and realised the moment we entered the place that this place deserves all the good words.

It was a delight to stay in this hotel hidden in midst the forest.. everywhere you look it's either a water body with tortoise or ducks lazily staring back at you or every shade of green that you may have forgotten in the city life.

The rooms are huge. while the property seems old it's very well maintained. The staff is very courteous and welcomes you with a warm smile.

The food is quite good too. we actually had the chance to taste all the three meals. The spread is a healthy mix of local and Western food but I would definitely suggest to have the local dishes.

I would definitely like to go back to this place in case I think of having a vacation where I do absolutely nothing .. just look at nature and relax.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Poulami M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_CFH, Front Office Manager at Sigiriya Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2018

Dear Guest,
We at Sigiriya Village are delighted to read your review of your stay with us. It was indeed a pleasure to have you as our guest. As you have mentioned, our strength is the tranquility of our natural surroundings. We trust that you would choose Sigiriya Village Hotel for your next vacation to our country. We assure you of our best service and attention always.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews