We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (461)
Filter reviews
461 results
Traveller rating
221
155
50
16
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
155
50
16
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssri lankapalm treesmosquito netbeach cabanasound of the wavessha shabeautiful countrycold waternice balconysea viewstayed for nightsmonitor lizardsbeautiful placelobsterhighly recommend this placetangalle townstayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 461 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed staying here in a deluxe mud cabana with sea view. Our place was set back from the sea which was actually quite nice and more secluded. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff were helpful, but as noted earlier not particularly attentive or open to conversation unlike other places we've stayed around Sri Lanka.
We had an average tuna lunch here. My partner had battered tuna (who came up with that idea?) and it came soaked in a thick rosemary sauce, a very bizarre non-successful combo... Didn't eat there again after this meal. Breakfast is not included and the Western breakfast looked plain and unappealing to us. We had a lovely, simple meal at Sha Sha's and a superb fresh seafood dinner with lobster at The Lounge. Highly recommend both places.

We recommend staying here as it's a very relaxing sea side place, maybe avoid the food as there's much better places around.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank RestlessSoul76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful location right on Tangalle beach. Hammocks, tables in the shade, volley ball net. We didn’t stay here but ate lunch and chilled. Service is not fast but we were not in a rush. Suspect their local food is probably the best choice. The roast chicken was a bit dry but the pancakes were lovely and tasty.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2018

The location and views are great, a bit of a walk to get into Tangalle town (about 25 minutes), but there are bars and restaurants all along the beach. Lovely to have hammocks and loungers to sit out on the beach and the bar on hand for beers! If you are booking the sea front rooms, ask for the one actually on the sea front as there are three and the other two are slightly set back. The one on the sea front has a day bed on the porch which is great for lounging and taking in the view. We preferred the evening meals at other places along the beach, but it's was nice to go exploring each evening and there are quite a few places to choose from.

Room Tip: If booking the sea front bungalows ask for the one at the front as this is facing directly onto the beach.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fairyexplorerlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 9, 2018 via mobile

We ate in the restaurant and loved the food! Chill atmosphere in the evening, with a small bonfire.

The price is steep, but the food was so good that we think its worth it.

We had grilled calamaries and fried rice. Very tasty :)

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eirik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2018

Ganesh Garden Cabanas is a perfect place if you are looking to get away from crowded beach towns and have some down time just enjoying the sound of the ocean and your own company. It is on the far end of the beach with nothing else really around - though it's easy to take a tuk tuk into town if you want some variety. I stayed for 2 nights in a beach cabana and found it to be exactly what I was looking for. As other reviews have mentioned, staff weren't overly friendly - but provided everything I needed in an efficient manner, including booking a day trip to Udawalawe and a driver to my next destination at a reasonable rate. Restaurant is ok, provides basic Sri Lankan fare and was fine for my 2 days. If I'd stayed longer, I would probably explore other options in town for variety.

Room Tip: Definitely get a beach cabana if you can
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tc71travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews