We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
40
30
8
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
30
8
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews practice yoga high season sri lanka seafood quiet place beautiful garden recommend this place samantha guests dambulla paradise accommodation tlc beach peacocks
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 91 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2018 via mobile

This place is beautiful. Situated right on the cliff it has a small private beach, a perfect spot to meet the sunrise. There are other beaches around, famous Goyamboka and Silent beach. Wonderful opportunity to practice yoga or any other activity in the yogashala or in the garden among the trees and flowers. The peacock family lives inside the property and it was fun to watch them so close...:)
Fresh sea food and very friendly stuff. Sanjee helped to organise the car for a very reasonable price to travel Sri Lanka from Tanglle to Badulla, Ella, Adam’s peak, Hortons plains, Kandy, Pollunaruwa, Sigria and Dambulla. It was fantastic!
During the stay at Rocky we also visited some places around such as Mulgirigala Rock Monastery and Wewurukannala Raja Maha Viharaya.
Thank you, Rocky Point team! You are the best. Love

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank dinam568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balakamadi S, Manager at Rocky Point Beach Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2018

Thanks dear.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2018 via mobile

Lovely location with own beach and nearby access to other amazing beaches. It could be amazing but everything else about this place is faded and jaded . Bungalows are really worn down and dirty ; nothing works very well ; service although warm is painfully slow and ineffective and the food is not great .

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank K4312EUdavida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2018 via mobile

Set in a beautiful location by the ocean, and with direct access to the beach, this place has everything on paper to please. However, it disappoints due to neglect, as cabins are grubby, and lacking basic maintenance (exposed wiring, lamps malfunctioning) and basic cleanliness (wash basin with hair from previous guests, cockroaches, dirt throughout).

Staff at the restaurant is friendly enough but service is very slow and food is unimaginative, making Rocky Point a completely missed opportunity. Water was off on two of the days, electricity on another. You can sense all overheads are being kept low (we saw them watering down lassies) but to a point that it offers no value for the money it charges: look elsewhere to stay!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank PeddersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2017

The garden is nice. Rooms not very clean. Completely neglected. No presence of a manager or responsible person. Down the each very old and dirty chairs. They do not care about guests the most important is to cash the rent

Date of stay: December 2017
1  Thank Behlerele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile

After reading all the reviews I had very high expectations, while the location lived up to the reviews bungalows are completely neglected and need renovation or at least a proper scrub. Everything in the bathroom was cracked and it looks like there wasn't invested any money in last 30 years. Fan wasn't working in my first bungalow so I was given another one which looked very similar. In the beach area there is broken furniture lying around and rubbish that no one was going to clean. Food was very tasty and the wife of the owner was lovely and very attentive to any of guests needs. The owner himself sits all day every day in one chair and looked at me constantly from corner of his eye which made me as a sole traveler very uncomfortable, when I spoke to the other guests they have told me that it's not limited to me. While there was a lot of buzz in neighboring guest houses preparing for the high season this place was stuck in its own world. I believe that the location is hard to beat, but the place is not up to the standard. If I haven't booked it in advance I would choose another place.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank Sonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews