We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family lunch”
Review of Red Beach Cafe

Red Beach Cafe
Ranked #33 of 200 Restaurants in Tangalle
Description: Red Beach Cafe is a restaurant run out of a reclaimed shipping container next to the waves of the famous Tangalle Bay Beach. Enjoy local ingredients, handmade breads, homemade desserts, fresh seafood, cocktails and delicious juices with the best restaurant view in Tangalle Bay. We serve Sri Lankan cuisine, pizza, pastas, soups, salad, and sandwiches but our signature dishes are made with local seafood. Eat next to the red sands and relax under the palm trees while basking in the fresh breeze from the Indian Ocean.
Restaurant details
Description: Red Beach Cafe is a restaurant run out of a reclaimed shipping container next to the waves of the famous Tangalle Bay Beach. Enjoy local ingredients, handmade breads, homemade desserts, fresh seafood, cocktails and delicious juices with the best restaurant view in Tangalle Bay. We serve Sri Lankan cuisine, pizza, pastas, soups, salad, and sandwiches but our signature dishes are made with local seafood. Eat next to the red sands and relax under the palm trees while basking in the fresh breeze from the Indian Ocean.
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

My family and I went here for lunch following a local recommendation. The staff were very attentive and the service was quick. There was however only one other table as we were quite early. The venue was pleasant enough. It is located right by the main road, but the noise wasn't intrusive. There was the option of sitting nearer the bar/kitchen area, in the garden area or on a roottop area. I suspect the rooftop may have been noisier and it was too hot in the midday sun.
The menu was simple and the food was excellent. One of us found the chips (fries) a little salty. It was reasonably priced.
I would recommend Red Beach Cafe if you are looking for a snack, drink or a light bite.

Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedBeach_Cafe, Owner at Red Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thank you for letting us know about your experience and giving specific feedback. Our Chefs pride themselves on your enjoyment so we will make sure to pass your recommendation along. Hope your family has safe and happy travels and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 60 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2018

We were here for a few drinks one night. There's a really nice raised area with bean bags which is great to relax at. The staff are really friendly. We didn't eat here but it seemed popular.

Thank lnsFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedBeach_Cafe, Owner at Red Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Happy you were able to relax and enjoy our space. Next time please come and enjoy one of our popular pizzas or prawn dishes. We're happy to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2018 via mobile

We ate here 3 times during our stay in Tangalle. The Pizza is great, very tasty. We also tried the fish and chips which was also very good. The staff is very friendly and the location is nice, right next to the beach. I would recommend having a meal here during your visit in Tangalle.

Thank Aotearoa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedBeach_Cafe, Owner at Red Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Thank you for enjoying your stay with us! We love seeing familiar faces. Hope you had safe travels and come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2018

Our driver took us here for lunch on our way to Weligama. It is a very nice setting next to the beach and ocean and the food was very good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EssexPolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedBeach_Cafe, Owner at Red Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Thank you for stopping in and enjoying our food by the ocean! We hope to see you again some day, have safe and happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2018

We went there on their opening day as perhaps their first guests. The food was very tasty and excellent service. Beeing close to the main road, they served the food in takeaway boxes, so it will be easy to take the food in the car and drive on.
Most guest will eat their food on the premises, and than it is better to have real plates ( which we got when we returned the next day). They also serves homemade cakes and deserts of excellent quality. Highly recommended.

Thank EmblaNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedBeach_Cafe, Owner at Red Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2018

Thank you for being our #1! We are constantly improving thanks to amazing customers as yourself. We hope to see you again in the future and as always have fun safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Beach Cafe also viewed

Tangalle, Southern Province
Tangalle, Southern Province
 
Dikwella, Southern Province
Tangalle, Southern Province
 
Tangalle, Southern Province
Tangalle, Southern Province
 

Been to Red Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing