We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic wonder”
Review of The Last House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Last House
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Tangalle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2018

What a beautiful boutique hotel on a quiet glorious beach. Simplistic Geoffrey Bawa architecture, makes the last house both homely yet private. All the rooms have a unique style and design. We loved overlooking the small lake, awakened to the sound of the forest and water birds. food and staff were great.

Room Tip: the two i fancies were the lake room with windows on three sides and the larger corner room upstairs...
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank greggray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

5 - 11 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2018

This Bawa designed house is fabulous - set beside the sea on a beautiful but deserted beach which is excellent for swimming - the Last House is all about being comfortable and pampered.
Excellent meals, excellent staff - a great place to relax. The Last House does not have a license so take what you need - or else the staff will organise it for you by taxi.
Book one of the two beachfront suites they have a very nice balcony.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Arriving at the last house truly feels like you are arriving at the end of the world. This striking architectural beach jewel is at the end of a winding road among lagoons (make sure you follow their directions). It is well worth it, when you catch your first glimpse of the sparkling ocean and golden sand between the coconut palms from the main living area of the house. The house itself is perfect - with a large veranda and outdoor dining area, lush tropical gardens, and beautifully appointed rooms. The beach is essentially private, but a short walk towards the opposite end of the cove leads to a sleepy fishermen village where you can watch the boats launching at sunset. The Last House serves delicious meals, mostly seafood based (but several options available). The service is impeccable and the manager is very helpful in arranging activities for guests.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Miriam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Amazing house designed by Geoffrey Bawa. My two night stay was not long enough to fully enjoy the house.
I was very fortunate and was the only guest, so had run of the house!
Before arriving I was concerned about there not being any air conditioning but this was not an issue as the house is designed to capture the sea breeze. During the night I opened all the shutters in my room and sleep well with the cool sea breeze.
My room was on the ground floor and was very large with a four poster comfortable bed and two seat sofa. There was also another separate sitting area at the back of the room. I had an amazing outdoor private shower and bath as well as indoor facilities.
I used the indoor and out door lounge rooms and common area of the house. Both were extremely comfortable to relax in and read a book and idle the day away.
The pool was the perfect size for the house. I also swam each day in the ocean which is literally on your doorstep.
The staff were very accomodating and checked on me regularly to make sure I was ok but were not at all intrusive. All staff were friendly welcoming and very professional.
I enjoyed all of my meals at the house. The food was simple, fresh, well presented and delicious.
Thank you for an amazing experience. I highly recommend a stay at the Last House.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

This is my favourite resort, simple, full of charm and it does have elegance. rooms are cozy, perfectly designed, the common areas are airy, breezy and tastefully designed to offer style and comfort.

they do have a fantastic pool, the staff are attentive, goes into details. having breakfast with the sound of waves is magical. the place is tough to find which makes it even more fun as it is real hideout perched in the heart of a off the beaten track village. the exteriors are fantastic and you realise you have come to the most fascinating place.

tangalle also have pristine beaches and the cultural sites (especially Mulkirigala) is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Cinnamon Hill Suite and the Na Room are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dilshad_Sadiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

The Last House is architecturally stunning, it's located right on a beautiful beach where we found ourselves more or less alone every time.
The buildings are very open & airy, no glad windows, are designed to make use the sea breeze to cool the place down there's is no air conditioning, we were there during a very hot season & it worked as long as you keep all windows and doors open which you can do, there are no misquotes, at least we didn't come across any & there are mosquito nets on the beds.
The staff members are terrific, the fact that there are no TV sets in the rooms, the atmosphere, the fact that you are on the beach away from anything makes for the most relaxing stay you can have.
On top of that, the food is excellent, the décor is incredibly tastefully done & enhances the architecture.
We had a wonderful to time & I highly recommend it but remember, if you suffer from the heat it might not be the best place to go during the hottest period of the year.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank anatg2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

This boutique hotel surpised us with the top floor suite, solely for us. The view on the Ocean (through the orchyard trees) was breathtaking.
Service and food was excellent. Lunch and dinners were served outdoors; each day a different menu and the plates looked attractive.
The pool was nice, albeit the water a bit hot.

This stay was very relaxing after our roadtrip through Sri Lanka and a perfect alternative for the Maladives at the back-end of such a trip.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Marjo v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
3.5 km away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
5 km away
Coco Tangalla
Coco Tangalla
#3 of 23 in Tangalle
213 reviews
4.5 km away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#9 of 23 in Tangalle
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
Sooriya Resort & Spa
Sooriya Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Rekawa
54 reviews
7.3 km away
#4 of 23 in Tangalle
99 reviews
1.1 km away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#10 of 23 in Tangalle
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last House

Address: Pubudu Mawatha | Seenimodara, Nakulugamuwa, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Tangalle
Price Range: $301 - $664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's beach and chic at this Tangalle beach villa. As Geoffrey Bawa's final example of his infamous brand of architecture throughout Sri Lanka, this six-bedroomed seaside escape enjoys space, ventilation and barefoot luxury in a private location. Decor throughout the property is largely a mix of fresh white walls and grey polished cement floors, serving as a backdrop to a mixture of antique and contemporary furniture, all adorned with bright colours. Bedrooms enjoy views of the sea or a lagoon, set in tropical gardens with a central swimming pool. Whether with family, friends or as a couple, this Tangalle Hotel - The Last House is a truly serene tropical hideaway planted beside the Indian Ocean. It can be booked in part or as a whole house, and is staffed (including a chef) to accommodate up to 14 guests. Well suited for couples and families, and situated at the end of unspoilt Mawella beach. The house is also a perfect wedding hotel in Sri Lanka. The Last House Tangalle beach hotel provides for a quintessentially seaside holiday combined with a variety of wildlife, cultural and heritage destinations to visit on the south coast. From The Last House you can visit Yala National Park to see Sri Lanka's highest concentration of Leopards, see elephants at Udawalawe Reserve or visit the Turtle Conservation Area at Rekawa. Alternatively try whale watching from Mirissa, only 45 minutes away. Or closer to home, get aboard our Fishing Boat to try your hand alongside Mawella's fishermen, dive off the boat to swim or snorkel, or just observe the Blow Hole at Kudawella from the sea. For sights nearby, take a short trip to the Mulkirigala Caves boasting a remarkable temple and monastery carved out of a large and sheer rock formation in the surrounding forest. Also nearby, fans of Bawa's architecture should visit Ruhuna University and Claughton House. There's the Dutch Fort at Matara to warm you up before a visit to Galle and its own UNESCO World Heritage Site at Galle fort, also an oasis for some browsing and shopping in its' boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Last House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing