We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
119
17
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
17
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeoffrey bawacinnamon suiteair conditioningsea breezefamous architectwithout being in your facesri lankahome from homebeach housewindows and doorsamazing houseprivate gardendeserted beachhighly recommend a stayhis teamupstairs suitecommon areas
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 142 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2018

This Bawa designed house is fabulous - set beside the sea on a beautiful but deserted beach which is excellent for swimming - the Last House is all about being comfortable and pampered.
Excellent meals, excellent staff - a great place to relax. The Last House does not have a license so take what you need - or else the staff will organise it for you by taxi.
Book one of the two beachfront suites they have a very nice balcony.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2018

Arriving at the last house truly feels like you are arriving at the end of the world. This striking architectural beach jewel is at the end of a winding road among lagoons (make sure you follow their directions). It is well worth it, when you catch your first glimpse of the sparkling ocean and golden sand between the coconut palms from the main living area of the house. The house itself is perfect - with a large veranda and outdoor dining area, lush tropical gardens, and beautifully appointed rooms. The beach is essentially private, but a short walk towards the opposite end of the cove leads to a sleepy fishermen village where you can watch the boats launching at sunset. The Last House serves delicious meals, mostly seafood based (but several options available). The service is impeccable and the manager is very helpful in arranging activities for guests.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Miriam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile

Amazing house designed by Geoffrey Bawa. My two night stay was not long enough to fully enjoy the house.
I was very fortunate and was the only guest, so had run of the house!
Before arriving I was concerned about there not being any air conditioning but this was not an issue as the house is designed to capture the sea breeze. During the night I opened all the shutters in my room and sleep well with the cool sea breeze.
My room was on the ground floor and was very large with a four poster comfortable bed and two seat sofa. There was also another separate sitting area at the back of the room. I had an amazing outdoor private shower and bath as well as indoor facilities.
I used the indoor and out door lounge rooms and common area of the house. Both were extremely comfortable to relax in and read a book and idle the day away.
The pool was the perfect size for the house. I also swam each day in the ocean which is literally on your doorstep.
The staff were very accomodating and checked on me regularly to make sure I was ok but were not at all intrusive. All staff were friendly welcoming and very professional.
I enjoyed all of my meals at the house. The food was simple, fresh, well presented and delicious.
Thank you for an amazing experience. I highly recommend a stay at the Last House.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2017

This is my favourite resort, simple, full of charm and it does have elegance. rooms are cozy, perfectly designed, the common areas are airy, breezy and tastefully designed to offer style and comfort.

they do have a fantastic pool, the staff are attentive, goes into details. having breakfast with the sound of waves is magical. the place is tough to find which makes it even more fun as it is real hideout perched in the heart of a off the beaten track village. the exteriors are fantastic and you realise you have come to the most fascinating place.

tangalle also have pristine beaches and the cultural sites (especially Mulkirigala) is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Cinnamon Hill Suite and the Na Room are the best
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dilshad_Sadiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2017 via mobile

The Last House is architecturally stunning, it's located right on a beautiful beach where we found ourselves more or less alone every time.
The buildings are very open & airy, no glad windows, are designed to make use the sea breeze to cool the place down there's is no air conditioning, we were there during a very hot season & it worked as long as you keep all windows and doors open which you can do, there are no misquotes, at least we didn't come across any & there are mosquito nets on the beds.
The staff members are terrific, the fact that there are no TV sets in the rooms, the atmosphere, the fact that you are on the beach away from anything makes for the most relaxing stay you can have.
On top of that, the food is excellent, the décor is incredibly tastefully done & enhances the architecture.
We had a wonderful to time & I highly recommend it but remember, if you suffer from the heat it might not be the best place to go during the hottest period of the year.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank anatg2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews