We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
53
3
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
3
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews silent beach minute walk self catering perfect holiday one night egg hoppers sri lanka four nights breakfast and dinner stayed longer enjoyed our stay eli squirrels beaches surf ocean balcony
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 57 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2018

We had just a wonderful time at Little Tamarind. The place is gorgeous, the team welcoming and attentionate, Silent Beach is marvelous. We stayed four nights, and so wish we could have stayed for longer, but it was saddly time to fly home. We will be back. I know we will make it back, soon !

Room tip: All rooms were beautiful, both has a nice balcony with a magic view.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank virginie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eli G, Owner at Little Tamarind, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2018

Thanks for taking the time to give us this great review. Next time plan to stay longer with us :-) Hope to see you again, Eli, Little Tamarind - 'Let Nature Embrace You'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2018

I spent a long time looking for a place to spend a couple of nights by the beach and stumbled across Little Tamarind. I feel very lucky to have found this place. The setting is simply stunning - looking out over the treetops to the ocean with a host of wildlife around. I had the blue minisuite and it was very nicely designed. There are some elements which are open so expect some of the local critters to share your space with you. Didn't see one mosquito though but there is a net provided. There is a fan in the room but I still found it very hot at night. The staff here are such genuinely lovely people and looked after me as a solo traveller very well. I ate dinner here on both nights of my stay and the quality is high - I requested a fish one night and was presented with a perfectly cooked fish and flavourful side dishes - thank you chef! If you can tear yourself away from the view from your balcony, Silent Beach is picture-perfect, unbelievably quiet and only a 5 minute walk away through the village. I didn't swim as I was alone and there were some big waves but others did. Please don't hesitate to book here - and rest assured that however many nights you book you will wish you stayed longer.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank SJ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eli G, Owner at Little Tamarind, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2018

Dear SJ,

Your review is just awesome and gives us great pleasure to see that the experience we envision for our guest meets their expectations. Hope to see you again!

Little Tamarind​ - Let Nature Embrace You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 10, 2018 via mobile

Originally booked for 2 nights and ended up staying for 6! The location is fantastic, not far from anything in this area. The actual hotel is a dream surrounded by peacocks, beautiful trees, butterflies and amazing views of the coast! Its a 2 minute walk to 2 beautiful beaches. Silent beach being 1 of them and 1 of the most beautiful beaches i saw whilst in sri lanka! Also a 1 minute walk to break point restaurant which is one of if not the best food spot around. The rooms are decorated beautifully and have everything you need. And then there's the staff... so friendly, so helpful and just so nice! I couldnt have asked for a better place and better people to see out my last days in sri lanka! I can not rate this place highly enough. Pictures and my words alone do not do this place and these people justice!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Benjamin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eli G, Owner at Little Tamarind, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2018

Dear Benjamin,

Many thanks for your awesome review! we are delighted that you had such a good experience with us in Little Tamarind and you are kind enough to share with others.

hope to host you again!

Little Tamarind​ - Let Nature Embrace You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2017

What stands out the most at Little Tamarind is the amazing and wonderful staff. They are the friendliest and kindest people you will ever meet. I had a 3 year old who was quite a handful and the staff went over and beyond to make sure we all had the perfect holiday! Prasanna & his crew were extremely hospitable and were always going out of their way to make sure we had everything we wanted. We wanted to eat Sri Lankan food in general and asked if they could make different types of local cuisine for breakfast and dinner and they always obliged and the food was delicious.
The only con is that there is no AC in the rooms. Wish they would have AC in the rooms as it can get really hot in Tangalle even in December. But outside of that, it was a wonderful stay and the staff makes it simply perfect!

Room tip: The family room downstairs has a refrigerator. Chef makes amazing Sri Lankan food!
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nishani F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eli G, Owner at Little Tamarind, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2018

Many thanks for your awesome review! we are delighted that you had such a good experience with us in Little Tamarind and you are kind enough to share with others. hope to host you again! Little Tamarind​ - Let Nature Embrace You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2017

This little boutique hotel is a must if you visit Tangalle. In fact, in hindsight we would have stayed longer had we known we'd fall in love with the place so quickly. Prior to us arriving at the LIttle Tamarind, we were in touch with Elli who was extremely helpful giving us helpful tips for transportation as we were coming from Colombo. When we arrived we couldn't belive how picturesque the location was. In all honesty, the pictures do not do the setting justice. The hotel is designed with the panoramic views in mind,so we were always looking out over the ocean. The hotel being set back from the ocean is a nice quality, you find yourself looking out over the rooftops and then at the vast ocean, absolutely stunning. Once we arrived we were given refreshments and then escorted to the room. The view is directed to the ocean and the bathroom is open to the room giving a very nice beach hotel feel. The food experience was quite interesting as everything was bought fresh. The staff would liaise with us in the morning to see what we wanted for dinner and breakfast. They had a set menu, but we were also able to ask for different dishes which was a nice option. The dining area is open to the beautiful panoramic view. We also did not encounter any mosquitoes, which was amazing. The hotel is very clean, and so is the village. We walked around barefoot for most of our stay. The beach was utterly magnificent. There were places to swim when the tide was not as strong. Locals have a F&B area by the beach where we had lunch and drinks (non-alcoholic). We absolutely loved our stay and would definitely go back.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank upssus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eli G, Owner at Little Tamarind, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2018

Many thanks for your awesome review! we are delighted that you had such a good experience with us in Little Tamarind and you are kind enough to share with others. hope to host you again! Little Tamarind​ - Let Nature Embrace You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews