We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Tangalle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2017

We had a great stay here at Nuga Eden. The swimming pool is ideal and not too common to have in your hotel in Sri Lanka. The breakfast is a small buffet with some great Sri Lankan as well as Western choices, a great way to start the day. The manager was so eager to help and he sorted out all sorts of things for us. If you stay here, do not miss out on the massage: it was unbelievable. The price was very good for what it was. The rooms were nice, but we did not have a/c. Not sure if any other rooms have a/c but it did get pretty hot. Mosquitos are pretty unavoidable but the mosquito nets work really well and we did not get bitten much. Overall, great place for the money.

Room Tip: Go for a balcony room and definitely air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

We traveled with our 7 months old daughter. We reservated a room with sea view and balcony. We got a very dark room with a shared "balcony" (it was the space between the stairs and our room). The view was to a metallic roof with the sea in the back. Between the sea and the hotel is a road with heavy traffic. So this was not quite what we expected. But it was clean, and the staff was friendly. We, however, checked out after three nights (in stead of 14) because the road next to the hotel made it impossible for us to go anywhere with our baby daughter without a tuktuk. And even though the pool area and garden is nice, we got bored quickly. The breakfast is good! We moved to Mangroves where we got our own beach hut with a private veranda far away from noisy roads.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Mette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

The hotel is well located and offers greats accommodations as a swimming pool with an incredible sea view.

The breakfast buffet is one of the best we got during our Sri Lanka trip.

The host and his team are welcomed and always here to help.

I highly recommend the Nuga Eden for your Tangalle next stay !

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alexandre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

We stayed here for 3 days. We traveled with 2 children 7 and 8 years old and they loved the pool. The pool area is really nice with deck chairs on the grass. The breakfast was rich with lots of varieties. Beach is just a few minutes away. The whole place is really nicely taken care of and the staff is very friendly. They helped us with everything we needed. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PKarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

I came here with my mother and we stayed for one week. I am travelling for 3 months and she came with me for 5 and for her last week I wanted a bit of chill time and a more decent bed! Having looked at the reviews I decided to book. This place is lovely, the staff are extremely helpful and friendly, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the gardens are pretty and the added bonus of wildlife at is best is apparent every day. We had a lovely stay, did lots of excursions, visited tangalle beach a few times but always enjoyed coming back to relaxing by the pool with a coconut. The road I will at first agree takes a bit of getting used to however at night you don't hear a thing and by the end we didn't even notice it. The food was tasty but a bit pricey compared to places down at tangalle beach but i would still recommend. Having seen some other places in the area I think this is brilliant value for money :)

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Tashahirschmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

We stayed at the tree house of this small and cozy resort. It has been my dream for a long time to stay in a tree house, so this was an excellent opportunity to combine that with a nice beach holiday. Some insights that we got from our stay at the resort:

- The tree house is very high up in the tree, so keep that in mind if you don't feel comfortable with height.

- It sits on a tree and two concrete pillars, so I guess it should be very stable, but still the tree house moves with the wind and makes according creaking noise.

- It is very much in the nature, even though they really tried to close every hole with mosquito nets, there is still a chance to meet spiders, a baby gecko and a cockroach.

- You find a shower, a tub and a toilet up there. Everything works basically well, but there was an unpleasant smell from the sink. Tip: close the washing basin, put a glass into the shower sink to cover it.

- The toilet is separated from the rest of the room only via a curtain, which you can actually not really close when you are sitting on it. So you can see this holiday as a chance to get to a even more intimate stage in your relationship.

- The resort has a very nice pool, plenty of couches and a restaurant that offers decent food. The breakfast included traditional food like Rotti, dal, curd but also pancakes, toasted bread, jelly, scrumbled eggs and sausages. They also provide you with fresh fruits. Only negative here: we stayed four nights and the breakfast offer never changed.

- Close to the resort there was a beautiful beach in a rather wind-protected lagoon with very few people. We always got couches under an umbrella. You can always have drinks and food at the three nearby restaurants but they never bother you to order something. The only negative about it that you have to walk there about 100 meters on a really, really busy and polluted road.

- The hotel provides free Internet, which was generally working OK (if a bit slow). Reception in the tree house is rather low, one phone had issues getting the WiFi signal there.

If this is OK for you, you will have an excellent stay at the tree house of Nuga Eden resort.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schlabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Nuga is a very good choice for your visit to the south-coast of Sri Lanka. Clean rooms and a very well kept garden. The chief is well skilled and presents the Lankan cuisine with rich taste. Do ask him to make your dish spicy! The staff gives you top service with a smile and portion of humour. Nuga is perfectly situated on a small hill with a good wiew over the ocean. The placing also keeps the traffic-noise to minimums. Great beaches within walking distance. We will return. /Hans and Annica, Sweden

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
1 km away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
3.4 km away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#10 of 22 in Tangalle
290 reviews
2 km away
Ceylon Sea Hotel
Ceylon Sea Hotel
#12 of 22 in Tangalle
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Sooriya Resort & Spa
Sooriya Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Rekawa
48 reviews
0.6 km away
Coco Tangalla
Coco Tangalla
#5 of 22 in Tangalle
210 reviews
7.2 km away
Maya
Maya
#9 of 22 in Tangalle
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle

Address: Pallikkudawa, Mahawela Rd., Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka (Formerly NugaSewana Eden)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Tangalle
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tangalle
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tangalle
Price Range: C$53 - C$81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nugasewana Eden is a family-run independent hotel with 10 wonderfully comfortable and spotless AC rooms plus an open-air terrace restaurant with magnificent views overlooking Tangalle's most famously beautiful beach just a minute's walk down from your favorite room. Nugasewana Eden located on a beautiful garden over looking the magnificent view of the Tangalla Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nugasewana Eden Hotel Tangalle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing