We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ananthaya Beach(Rekawa)(Great Value!)
US$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
US$68
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Little Tamarind(Tangalle)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$75/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eagles Nest Cabanas(Tangalle)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,571)
Filter reviews
1,574 results
Traveller rating
1,316
185
40
24
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,316
185
40
24
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsil mareitalian restaurantvilla hostpersonal butlerspice spoonsprivate poolgarden villasri lankanature walkflip flopssun creamspecial thankscooking classour honeymoonking coconutin room diningpiece of heaven
Filter
Updating list...
239 - 244 of 1,574 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2018 via mobile

This is a truly wonderful resort with very beautiful and thoughtfully designed rooms, high quality amenities, and incredibly helpful and courteous staff. The buildings and grounds are spectacular, and the beach is stunning and uncrowded. Water and the currents are strong here though. Breakfast was excellent, with high quality ingredients. Dinner was good but not as well done as breakfast. We felt pampered during our three nights here.Overall we would keep going back to Anantara if we return to Tangalle.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank papaya168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded February 14, 2018

Dear papaya168,


Thank you so much for taking the time to visit us recently and for writing such a wonderful review of your experience.


We are all delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at Anantara Tangalle. Thank you for your kind words with regards to the stunning setting, thoughtfully designed rooms, stunning beach, and courteous service delivered by my talented team.


It was a pleasure having you with us and we all hope that it's not too long before we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Paradise for another pampering experience.


Warm regards,


Ross Sanders
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2018

We stayed here for 5 nights in January and overall this was an excellent resort, with high standards, friendly staff and great facilities in a very nice location.

Rooms
Rooms were spacious and all rooms appeared to have a view of the pool or the beach. The décor was modern and the in-room amenities were excellent. Room cleaning was good, although a little late on some days but I think this was due to the resort being very busy. However, upon request, this was immediately attended to and clean towels were always provided when requested. Complimentary water, tea, coffee and milk were provided everyday.

Restaurant
We dined at the pool side bar and at the buffet restaurant. The Buffet Restaurant had a theme dinner each evening which was ok but could do with more variety. The food was generally good at the buffet but it would have been good to see more options for vegetarians and children. We had children in the group but staff were very good to provide alternative food for children when the buffet food did not suit. Restaurant staff were great -very attentive and polite.

Beach/Pool
The resort has a nice stretch of beach but the sea is not very calm! But, this is expected for Sri Lanka, so not really a complaint but its worth being aware especially if you have small children. There is a public peach next door which appears a little bit calmer but it was very packed, not very clean and had stray dogs running around so would not recommend venturing over! The beach itself at the Anantara is nice but I would recommend the pool if you want to go in the water. The pool area is great -plenty of loungers and an amazing infinity pool. The resort also provide complimentary water, fruit and sun cream at the pool side which is a nice touch. There is a large shallow area which is ideal for kids, aswell as a deeper area.

Staff
Staff are very polite and helpful. They are very accommodating with young children and whilst some had limited English, always keen to help.

Kids Club
Unfortunately this was a little disappointing. Kids Clubs are ideal for young children when the mid-day sun is too intense. the club was nicely air conditioned and a nice sized room but unfortunately facilities were very limited. Many of the games had missing pieces and there was very little available to engage kids otherwise (no art and crafts). Staff spoke very little English and did not seem very engaged.


Other points:
- The resort offers a nature walk several times a week. The guide is very knowledgeable and this is an interesting walk around the resort.
- There are a few souvenir shops at the resort but I found they were not very well stocked. There is a BarefootCeylon shop which sells handmade toys and clothing. Great items at good prices but not much in stock. There is also a tea shop which frustratingly had virtually nothing we wanted in stock and the prices seemed to change depending on who you spoke to!
- There a lot of buggies travelling around the walkways which is not ideal as you constantly have to step onto the grass ways to let them pass. Not pleasant for guests, and especially when you have kids!
- We ventured out of the resort once to see the local area but unfortunately we did realise it was Full Moon Day (which is a public holiday) so mostly everything was closed and so we did not see much. The Resort will arrange a Tuk Tuk for you to ride out of the resort.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank quixotic_spider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded February 15, 2018

Dear quixotic_spider,


Thank you so much for taking the time visit us and for writing such an incredibly detailed and positive review of your experience!


We are all delighted to read that you enjoyed the quality of your room, the friendliness of my team, the beautiful beach that we are blessed with, the high standard of food served throughout, and the guided nature walk with Eddy. Thank you so much for your kind words and recognition.


It was a pleasure having you with us at Anantara Tangalle, and we all forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again to our little piece of paradise for another wonderful experience!


Warm regards,


Ross Sanders
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2018

Highest standard hotel meeting all expectations. Amazing and new buildings with great views and experience. We've been there for 12 nights in group of 12 people. Everyone was very pleased and excited about this stay. Everything was well organized. Room clean, big with beautyfull sea view. Main restaurant with everyday different cousine. Two other restaurants - Italian and Japanese also perfect for lunch during a day. Beautyful beach and infinity pool. And the most important very friendly stuff - smiling and helping as much as they can.

I specially recomend Mr. Daniel Kavindu who was our manager. He helped us a lot and meet our all expectations. Very profesional and customer oriented.

Room Tip: rooms at 3rd floor had the best sea views
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Piotr P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded February 11, 2018


Dear Piotr P,


Thank you so much for taking the time visit us and for writing such an amazing review of your experience!


We are all delighted to read that you enjoyed the beautiful view of the Indian Ocean from your room, the design of our double level infinity pool, the stunning beach that we are blessed with, the quality of cuisine served throughout, and the genuine hospitality from the heart delivered by my team - especially Kavindu. We are all thrilled that your group had such a memorable experience.


It was a pleasure having you with us at Anantara Tangalle, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.


Warm regards,


Ross Sanders
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2018

We were greeted at reception by 4 ladies drumming and singing,and then taken to our spectacular beachfront room.
Even the bath had a seaview via an electrically operated rising blind !
Quality and choice of food was exceptional,pool enormous,and the on=site ecologist chatted to us while the turtles came on to the rocks to feed.
Sea swimming was challenging but exhilerating,and the waves a lot of fun.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsden85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded February 10, 2018

Dear Marsden85,


Thank you so much for taking the time visit us and for writing such an incredible review of your experience!


We are all delighted to read that you enjoyed the traditional welcome delivered by our lovely Raban ladies, the spectacular views from your villa, the guided nature walk with our Resort Naturalist, Eddy, the quality and variety of cuisine served throughout, and the fun filled days playing in the Indian Ocean waves. Thank you for you kind comments and recognition.


It was a pleasure having you with us at Anantara Tangalle, and we all forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again to our little piece of paradise for another wonderful experience!


Warm regards,


Ross Sanders
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 9, 2018 via mobile

It is probably the best hotel in Sri Lanka. Comfortable, clean, safety and modern hotel in South of the country. Very friendly staff, especially our personal client manager Isuru, concierge, personal driver Mandgur and all other people. Brilliant Italian restaurant managed by Italian chef with fantastic ocean view. Excellent outdoor swimming pool, modern SPA, romantic Japanese restaurant, comfortable beach area, big territory etc.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dzhimbinovkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded February 11, 2018

Dear dzhimbinovkd,


Thank you so much for taking the time visit us and for writing such an amazing review of your experience!


We are all delighted to read that you enjoyed the quality of cuisine at II Mare, the spectacular views, the design of our double level infinity pool, the stunning beach that we are blessed with, and the genuine service delivered by my passionate team. We all appreciate your kind words and recognition.


It was a pleasure having you with us at Anantara Tangalle, and we all look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future for another memorable experience.


Warm regards,


Ross Sanders
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews