We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best to avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sun Moon Lake Apollo Resort Hotel
Ranked #102 of 127 Hotels in Nantou
singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best to avoid”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2010

My family booked 2 rooms here for 1 night.
I was grateful that the hotel took my reservation over the phone without requiring me to send a deposit first.
The rooms are tiny and in poor condition. The bed was firm and we could get by sleeping on it. I suppose my disappointment stemmed from the fact that the room cost TWD2600, only TWD200 less than Harbour Resort Hotel next door. From the outside of Harbour Hotel, it certainly looked a lot newer. I couldnt book Harbour because it was full but I certainly wished i was there and not in Apollo.
The staff was quite helpful though. My son broke a drinking glass and the staff came immediately to clean up.
The breakfast was poor. There was a large group of chinese tourists who had breakfast earlier but the food was not replenished. So scraps were left when it was our turn to eat.
The breakfast did not look very appetising either.
What added to the disappointment was the hotel's recommendation of the restaurant for dinner. We had asked to try out local cuisine and the staff directed us to Hu Jing a few doors away.
We ordered a 6 course dinner for 5. The food came within 5 minutes giving us the impression that it was all done and merely heated up. The food tasted bland and certainly did not look good in the first place.
Do avoid it.
There is nothing much to do in sun moon lake other than the cruise and a cable car ride. So staying beyond one night would not be recommended. We were offered the cruise tickets at TWD 150 instead of the usual TWD 300 at the ticket counter just outside Harbour Resort Hotel (run by the HR Hotel) if we bought a day in advance. I still wonder whether we were hoodwinked because Apollo runs a similar cruise but at hourly intervals rather than half hour intervals at TWD150.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lspsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    4
    5
    7
    5
See reviews for
9
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2009

The friendly hotel staff accepted our booking over email (and later via a phone conversation). We arrived at 1pm but since room wasn't ready (check-in at 3pm), left our bags by the front desk and went for lunch. We had a laptop and the bag was left in their storage facility. We were able to check-in when we returned at 2pm.

Location --
About 3 minutes from the Shuishe Visitor's Centre and main bus drop-off/pickup point. (from the Visitor's Centre, turn right, walk down the road and turn right again up past Lago Hotel). When asking the locals for directions, tell them "Hong Bin Hotel" - its Chinese name. The only "Apollo" they know is in Puli, 30 minutes away.


Room --
After the booking, we found out about a really cheap room promotion that included tours and dinner! But apparently those were with street-view rooms. Apparently the lake view rooms cost "NT$600 more"....

Hotel has an excellent view of the lake even from the 2nd floor. Pretty good vantage for sunrise. At night the hourly water fountain show is in clear view.

Our small double room was simply furnished with tv, bed with mattress that felt old and a dresser. No wardrobe, only 2 hooks with hangers. Really no frills except for complimentary room slippers and new kettle. Tap water contained minute particles though -- observed even after boiling. So we asked hotel staff to fill out bottles with water from their water coolers. Room had a powerful air-conditioner; great for beating the heat outside.


Toilet --
Its entrance had unnecessary curtain; an unhygenic obstacle. Ironically, the bath area had no shower curtain and it was hard not to splash water onto the toilet floor. There was no floor mat. Powerful hot water shower but fixtures old and dowdy. All toiletries provided.


Internet --
The nice receptionist offered us the secure password for the hotel's wireless network. Unfortunately we couldn't get through probably due to a firewall. Impressive though that every floor has its own router. We ended up using the Visitor Centre's free internet stations.


Breakfast --
Nice cafe setup where its doors and windows opened straight onto the pedestrian area right in front of the lake. Very simple fare of porridge with light condiments. The toasts' butter and jams were displayed in unlidded bowls. Most of the food is gone by 9am so go early, although they scramble/fry eggs to order.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ziji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

I stayed at this hotel after reading the comments from Tripadvisor. Basically, all the hotels located near the Sun Moon Lake are expensive and this is one of the reasonable ones. I loved the lake view scenary and we could catch the sun rise from our hotel balcony. The reception lady is nice, offering us travel suggestions. However, the decor is old and in the night time when I am in the toilet, there is cockroach.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2009

Stayed one night at the Apollo. Sun Moon Lake is a small undeveloped place with only about 5 hotels & 5 "bed & breakfasts" however they are building at least 3 more. Apollo itself we had nice, no frills 3 star room overlooking the lake. Was very peaceful, is central so restaurants, Starbucks, bus stop all just downstairs. We had complimentry dinner which was pasta, nothing special. People on front desk not very friendly, but ok. Sun Moon Lake is a nice place to relax, walk around, cycle, go on the lake, but not much else.
However in the evening the jetty, waterfront, and nearby path is tastefully illuminated making it nice for romantic walks

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CIASingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2009

Stay 1 night in Sun Moon Lake Apollo Resort Hotel on 26th November 2008(calendar in Sun Moon Lake read as 26th November 97).
Booking the room is pretty easy, just giving them a call; no down payment is required for foreigners, base on trust.
It is a typical local hotel with simple and outdated décor.
Room is clean with balcony, facing the beautiful lake. Bathroom is small.
Breakfast is simple – porridge, cabbages, fried egg of your choice and pickles.
We paid NT2675 for a triple room with lake view, 3 ferry tickets touring Sun Moon Lake and breakfast.
Around the vicinity are shops, hotels and eateries, visitors centre and bus stop.
Apart from a local traditionally dress band singing yesterday’s numbers at nearby restaurant, the rest of the place is pretty quite.

  • Liked — the beautiful lake view
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azumi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2008

We did a walk-in for a triple room at NT3000 incl of tax and breakfast. We didn't bother to book as it was a monday. It was expected to be quiet day with an abundance of hotels lining Minsheng Rd at Sun Moon Lake.

We chose this cozy mid-range hotel in Shuishe Area rather than the Ita Shao Area where there are also many hotels and B&B for reasons being:

1) Beautiful sunrise/sunset views of the lake for the price

2) Close to the bus stop at Visitors centre for transport to Taichung and Shueli as we do not want to lug our luggage.

3) Close to commercial area for food/restaurants.

  • Liked — the view and the coziness
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank zutzut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantou hotels
0.1 km away
SPA Home Sun Moon Lake Lakeside Hotel
0.1 km away
Harbor Elite Hotel
Harbor Elite Hotel
#70 of 127 in Nantou
3.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 km away
El Dorado Hotel
El Dorado Hotel
#76 of 127 in Nantou
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Song He Homestay
Song He Homestay
#63 of 127 in Nantou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.1 km away
Star Moon B&B
Star Moon B&B
#96 of 646 in Nantou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.1 km away
Sunmoon Starlight B&B
Sunmoon Starlight B&B
#158 of 646 in Nantou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Moon Lake Apollo Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Moon Lake Apollo Resort Hotel

Property: Sun Moon Lake Apollo Resort Hotel
Address: No.3 Minsheng Road, Yuchih, Nantou, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Nantou
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 127 Hotels in Nantou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Moon Lake Apollo Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun Moon Lake Apollo Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Moon Lake Apollo Hotel Nantou
Sun Moon Lake Apollo Resort Hotel Taiwan/Nantou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing