We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Gran Hotel Bahia(Bocas Town)
Book now, pay at stay
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Selina Bocas del Toro(Isla Colon)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Palma Royale(Bocas Town)
Book now, pay at stay
US$105
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jardines Vista del Mar Condos(Bocas Town)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$53
US$50
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tesoro Escondido(Bluff Beach)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$125
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$118
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel la Terraza(Bocas Town)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$63
US$54
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$60/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$350
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Spanish at Locations - Bocas del Toro(Bocas Town)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveller rating
220
69
21
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
69
21
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjack leesaigon bayevery morningthird worldboat touron stiltsin townlocal culturepanama citybreakfasts were greatfully equipped kitchenfriendly hostsfew minutes walkinteresting peoplehot waterthe main housecabin
Filter
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 326 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent three nights in the place, we liked it although we had lots of rain.

We had the orchid house which has the best view (according to us). We really loved the design of the house with an upstairs bedroom, and a spacious 'living area'. There are two balconies with a hammock and relaxing chairs and the sunset here is just amazing.

As mentioned we had rain and than walking to town is quite far but with nice wheater it's a nice walk and in about 15 minuts you'll be there. The owners can advice you about things to do in the area and between rain showers they advised us to go to Playa Estrella with the bus, which we simply loved.

Breakfast is fun and is served by a grumpy, funny man and enjoyed together on a bar.

The only point for recommendation is the maid service, which there wasn't during our stay (3 nights). Although after the second night we saw that someone had tried to empty the bins, as they were standing in the room. But maybe was called away and forgot about us. However, as this place was clean enough when we arrived we didn't really mind it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pepper1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Koko Resorts is really quite amazing. The view in the morning from our cabin was stunning, and we never got tired of it. It was great to have a whole house. We never used the AC because the breezes came through the house, and upstairs there was also a fan. There were no screens and no bugs. We didn't do any real cooking but one night we got a rotisserie chicken with some salads and ate "in." Jack and Lee are very active hosts, with plenty of opinions about everything, and are eager to help guests enjoy the area. They set up a boat trip and restaurant reservations and generally offered advice about where to go and how much to pay for anything. Jack's breakfasts are terrific, always with beautiful fruit as well as a main dish. As Lee said, the neighborhood does not look like "an American middle-class suburb," but we quickly got used to the street and its people. We never felt threatened in any way while walking into town. On the Saturday night the music from the local bar was very loud. My husband had no problems, but I needed earplugs to sleep. The other nights we just heard the water lapping on the shore, and an occasional dog.

We'd go back in a minute.

Room Tip: We had Gecko, which was in the middle, not the farthest out into the bay, and not the closest to the shore. The cabins on the end are probably the most desirable, but ours had fine views of the water too.
Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank jeanfrombos2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I think it's all been said before, but this accomm is fantastic and the owners are awesome!

The huts on the water gave us an amazing view, and it's very quiet and peaceful, with hammocks, outside deck chairs and cool ocean breezes.

Jack and Lee are great hosts, very friendly and helpful, and go out of their way to make your stay memorable; from organising tours (they even got us a few discounts by calling tour operators themselves!) to making hearty breakfasts for everybody.

Would recommend without hesitation to everybody, and will definitely be coming back here!

Room Tip: The Orchid cabin is the furthest out on the water, and has unobstructed views of the sunset. Would recommend paying the extra $20!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dush64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I can't say much more than has already been said. The reviews here on TA were accurate. Jack and Lee are gracious hosts, always glad to assist or advise. The weather was less than perfect during our trip, but we found plenty of things to still do in Bocas. We stayed in Starfish cabin, and it met our needs fine. My only suggestion would be to upgrade the linens on the beds, as they were well worn.
I do think some have underestimated the walking distance to town from this hotel. It is not a 5 min walk. At least 20 min or more to the main part of town. But cabs are $1.
We enjoyed Starfish beach on the other side isla colon, and Red Frog beach on the other island. Our favorite restaurant was Ultimo Refugio, as recommended by Lee.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aggie92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The views are priceless, you could say.
First of all Jack and Lee are wonderful hosts, they will help you wherever you can, with transport day trips or general advices.
And the make a Mean" breakfast as Jack would say.
Our cabin, "sea star" was nice and clean and for us it was really great!
A little bit outside of town, but that's fine if you like to avoid the trouble and tourists

Why not 5 stars? I gave 4 but would have give 4,5 if possible.
The location, the way to the very nice and clean resort is a little bit scruffy

For the rest I would definitely recommend this place for a nice and special stay in Bocas

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews