We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to experience Bocas del Toro”
Review of Koko Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Koko Resort
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Isla Colon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2013

My girlfriend and I spent 4 nights at Koko, and it was great. We stayed in the Gecko cabin (one of the middle ones) and the view was amazing. First, the resort is exactly the way it looks online; it did not disappoint. The cabins are huge...two private outdoor spaces (downstairs and up)...huge kitchen...awesome sleeping area and nice bathrooms. Also, the cabin has AC unit and a kitchen utensils, so you can stay-in and cook and enjoy a nice meal with significant other or family. You can watch the sunset from your window or walk to the end of the peer...You can also grab a canoe or go for a swim. The resort is not downtown Isla Colon, but it is a short walk or a 75 cent cab ride away. from the main strip. J and L (and their staff) are amazing hosts...you feel right at home. The resort is in a neighborhood, which did not bother us at all. People where nice and friendly. Oh Yes...BTW - Jack's breakfasts are "awesome"...believe the comments, the man can cook (I can only vouch for the breakfast)...Overall our time at Koko was amazing. You can choose to go Bocas and have the backpacker experience or you can choose to go and have the full touristy experience...Koko is the only place(that i found) that allows you to be in the middle. BTW - the internet works fine - Unfortunately I had to take a couple work calls, and it worked fine - after that, I did not see the point to going back home - LOL

Thanks J + L, we hope to see you soon

Room Tip: The property is in a neighborhood, so if you have a problem dealing with too much culture or looking...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bensorj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
There are newer reviews for Koko Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2013

We spent three nights in the place, we liked it although we had lots of rain.

We had the orchid house which has the best view (according to us). We really loved the design of the house with an upstairs bedroom, and a spacious 'living area'. There are two balconies with a hammock and relaxing chairs and the sunset here is just amazing.

As mentioned we had rain and than walking to town is quite far but with nice wheater it's a nice walk and in about 15 minuts you'll be there. The owners can advice you about things to do in the area and between rain showers they advised us to go to Playa Estrella with the bus, which we simply loved.

Breakfast is fun and is served by a grumpy, funny man and enjoyed together on a bar.

The only point for recommendation is the maid service, which there wasn't during our stay (3 nights). Although after the second night we saw that someone had tried to empty the bins, as they were standing in the room. But maybe was called away and forgot about us. However, as this place was clean enough when we arrived we didn't really mind it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pepper1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Koko Resorts is really quite amazing. The view in the morning from our cabin was stunning, and we never got tired of it. It was great to have a whole house. We never used the AC because the breezes came through the house, and upstairs there was also a fan. There were no screens and no bugs. We didn't do any real cooking but one night we got a rotisserie chicken with some salads and ate "in." Jack and Lee are very active hosts, with plenty of opinions about everything, and are eager to help guests enjoy the area. They set up a boat trip and restaurant reservations and generally offered advice about where to go and how much to pay for anything. Jack's breakfasts are terrific, always with beautiful fruit as well as a main dish. As Lee said, the neighborhood does not look like "an American middle-class suburb," but we quickly got used to the street and its people. We never felt threatened in any way while walking into town. On the Saturday night the music from the local bar was very loud. My husband had no problems, but I needed earplugs to sleep. The other nights we just heard the water lapping on the shore, and an occasional dog.

We'd go back in a minute.

Room Tip: We had Gecko, which was in the middle, not the farthest out into the bay, and not the closest to the...
Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank jeanfrombos2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

I think it's all been said before, but this accomm is fantastic and the owners are awesome!

The huts on the water gave us an amazing view, and it's very quiet and peaceful, with hammocks, outside deck chairs and cool ocean breezes.

Jack and Lee are great hosts, very friendly and helpful, and go out of their way to make your stay memorable; from organising tours (they even got us a few discounts by calling tour operators themselves!) to making hearty breakfasts for everybody.

Would recommend without hesitation to everybody, and will definitely be coming back here!

Room Tip: The Orchid cabin is the furthest out on the water, and has unobstructed views of the sunset. Would r...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dush64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I can't say much more than has already been said. The reviews here on TA were accurate. Jack and Lee are gracious hosts, always glad to assist or advise. The weather was less than perfect during our trip, but we found plenty of things to still do in Bocas. We stayed in Starfish cabin, and it met our needs fine. My only suggestion would be to upgrade the linens on the beds, as they were well worn.
I do think some have underestimated the walking distance to town from this hotel. It is not a 5 min walk. At least 20 min or more to the main part of town. But cabs are $1.
We enjoyed Starfish beach on the other side isla colon, and Red Frog beach on the other island. Our favorite restaurant was Ultimo Refugio, as recommended by Lee.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aggie92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The views are priceless, you could say.
First of all Jack and Lee are wonderful hosts, they will help you wherever you can, with transport day trips or general advices.
And the make a Mean" breakfast as Jack would say.
Our cabin, "sea star" was nice and clean and for us it was really great!
A little bit outside of town, but that's fine if you like to avoid the trouble and tourists

Why not 5 stars? I gave 4 but would have give 4,5 if possible.
The location, the way to the very nice and clean resort is a little bit scruffy

For the rest I would definitely recommend this place for a nice and special stay in Bocas

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Jack and Lee made us feel welcomed and at home away from home. The location is a 2 minute cab ride ($1 per person) from the main street. We stayed at one of the cabins on the water. The sound of the waves at night along with the sea breeze was amazing. The best part of the stay was Jack and Lee's company. They were very helpful, helped us get reservations to restaurants, called us cabs, picked us up from the airport, and of course, made us fresh coffee and a hefty breakfast in the morning before our scuba dives. Our flight out was at 7:40am, and Jack and Lee were up by 6 to make us breakfast and get us to the airport on time. I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: furthest out to the water (starfish). great sunset view.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northparkave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Colon
1.5 km away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
544 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
421 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 13 in Bocas Town
184 reviews
5.0 km away
Hotel Caribbean View
Hotel Caribbean View
#2 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
73 reviews
6.1 km away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#4 of 20 in Isla Colon
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koko Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koko Resort

Address: Las Cabanas, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Colon
Price Range: $98 - $614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a picture postcard. Cabins built over the water of a beautiful bay. Various size houses. Steps from the beach. 5 Minutes to town. Fantastic sunsets from the dock and lit up fish viewing at night. Full kitchens, AC, fans, maid and laundry service. Full time security, Safety boxes in rooms. Wireless Internet. Kayaks, bikes, snorkel masks free. Grocery delivery. We speak English and Spanish and will help you with arrangements for a perfect vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Koko Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koko Hotel Isla Colon
Koko Resort Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing