We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cross between roughing it and livin' in style!”
Review of Koko Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Koko Resort
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Isla Colon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Bocas is a great getaway from the hustle and bustle of any city living. It's a laid back town with plenty to see and do. From Koko Resort you are a few minutes away from town where you can grab a bite to eat or head to the market to pick up snacks for your cabin.

The cabin we stayed in was over the water with beautiful views of the bay and a gentle breeze blowing almost 24/7. Our cabin did have air conditioning that we used only at night. Relaxing on the porch with a beer, in either the hammock or the chairs, had to be my favorite part of the trip.

Must do's:
During the day be sure to see Starfish Beach and stay for lunch.
Day boat trip with Chris: schedule with Lee or Jack the day before.
Rent bikes from Ixa's if your comfortable riding amongst crazy drivers.
Bibi's Restaurant is good food and beautiful setting.
OH AND NOT TO BE MISSED... Jack's amazing breakfast! ( biggest bummer was coming home and no more amazing breakfast!)

Jack and Lee do a great job making you feel comfortable and at home there in Bocas. The cabins are rustic and not for the "high maintenance" type of people.

Overall it was a great trip and I'm glad to have visited Bocas del Toro, Panama. I'll be back some day!

Room Tip: Definitely book any of the Over the Water cabins. Furthest out is prime.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcarran83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
There are newer reviews for Koko Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

I came to Koko Resort with four other friends for a week of relaxing and scuba diving. The cabins are roomy and open up to let in the fresh air. Each cabin has great plumbing and an air conditioning unit to fight the day time humidity. Jack and Lee are the most gracious hosts you could ever hope for and can arrange any activities or transportation you will want for your trip. Jack makes the best breakfasts. I recommend this to anyone wanting to stay away from the loud noise of Bocas town and swing in a hammock reading away.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

I can't say enough about what a great time we had staying at Koko. After a very early flight from Panama City we were welcomed for breakfast by the lovely owners of these cabins and the guest house they have a few doors down. We were able to get right into our cabin, which was very clean and had everything we could have needed. As other reviews stated breakfast is included every day and I doubt better could be found on the island, although we didn't try. All activities can be arranged through your hosts, and we would recommend listening to their suggestions, they know a lot of great local guides and have been on the island long enough to steer you away from any scams. They give great dinner recommendations as well. We would definitely recommend Koko to our friends and would be glad to stay there again should we return to Bocas! Read through the info on their website before deciding if this is for you, it's comfortable and clean but is not an all inclusive type of resort if that's what you're looking for. Thanks to Jack and Lee for a great week!

Stayed: November 2016
Thank Kathleen_22388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

Great stay. Loved the private cabana and balconies. Great breakfast prepared by friendly owners. Clean and comfortable. Short cab ride into tourist area. Would definitely recommend and would stay there if in the area again.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

First, let me start out by saying, "READ THE INFORMATION ON THE KOKO WEBSITE." This is not a typical resort and is not based in an area dedicated to tourists. While this is what attracted us to Koko, I can see why this would not be for everyone. The cabins are in a neighborhood of local residents and Bocas Town is intermingled with tourists, expats and both Latino and Jamaican locals. This made for an excellent experience and we really felt as though we got to understand the culture.

Jack and Lee are excellent hosts and know all of the best contacts for for whatever you might like to do during your stay. They set up a beach trip, snorkeling, sailing, a message, and an anniversary dinner for us. Each one was an excellent experience. Their recommendation on the right chocolate tour brought us to a rain-forest jungle hike through an indigenous village; a highlight of our trip.

The views from our cabin were great and we had virtually no mosquito. We kept the windows open during the night and never needed the air conditioning. Sitting on the front porch was relaxing both day and night. The cabin was sparse, but clean and adequate. I used the coffee maker every day and loved the local standard brand. Jack cooks breakfast every day and it was awesome. He is extremely fussy about the ingredients he uses and the fruit was so ripe and flavorful every morning. If you like spicy, ask for some of the picante salsa the Jack has made special.

There was music every evening that we could hear coming from the town. On Saturday night it kept us up a bit, but the other evenings it stopped pretty early. The area is in the tropics, so I expected bugs, but there were next to none. We saw one in the shower and a couple of spiders. Termites are a problem and there was quite a bit of dust evidence. They don't bother anyone. It's just unfortunate. The local people are in the process of learning not to litter or to throuw trash into the ocean; there was some trash in the water at the shore near the cabins and along the public ways.

If you are looking for an experience where you are not isolated in a sanitized tourist district, and want to experience local culture with tropical relaxing flavor, Bocas del Toros and Koko is for you. If you want an "over the water" stay at a reasonable cost, this is for you.

Room Tip: All the cabins are good. The two further out are the best.
Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The owners know EVERYONE so getting info on what you need/want to do is easy.
We got picked up at the airport by a taxi friend of theirs, and rode the short distance to the resort. After a quick check-in we were shown our room. Their description on their site is dead on. Nothing fancy but everything you need. If you want 5-star, go elsewhere.
Short walk to the grocery store, quick cab rides to everything else, or take a nice walk.
Views are great with a dock to hang out on over the water.

I'm going back!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericpikeflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Let me start off by saying the owners Jack and Lee are very nice and cook you breakfast every morning something different everyday and will schedule you any excursions you want which is great because you get your own personal water taxi with Chris or Gabrial your captain who are wonderful all to yourselves verses going into town and booking one with at least 20 people per boat. They will also call you a taxi anytime you want to go into town and that is only 1 dollar per person so very reasonable. We started off with the Palm cabin which was nice inside but it is in the very back and right next to the locals house which would have been ok but we kept hearing there boats bump up against each other all night and by 6am them and all their kids are awake. The second day we asked if the 2 front cabins which are the dolphin and the orchid were available and for a little more we were able to move to the orchid cabin. The view and breeze here was awesome but unfortunately the cabin was not so great the air barely works and being in the sun all day you want air but it did get a little cooler late at night plus you have a fan right over your headboard. The next issue we had which is awful is the whole cabin was infested with termites every morning the furniture and the walls had a huge mess of dust where they had chewed all night, and there were cob webs and small spiders which we killed at least 4 of those. If the termite situation is not fixed soon this cabin will be destroyed in a years time, other then that the cabin was really cute and cozy after talking to other guest theirs was fine. These bungalows are located right in the heart of the locals but like everyone said they are super nice and the kids are so cute we actually brought a bag of twizzlers and handed some out everyday to the little ones and they loved it so that's something to keep in mind. When we got there, there was a lot of trash all around the neighbors homes and the water by there houses but the last couple days we were there they cleaned all of it up and it looked really nice. The whole resort does need major updating the deck to the cabins is in really bad shape and needs new wood and the bungalows could use new paint. They replace your towels everyday and change your sheets every 3 days, there is no safe in the rooms so make sure you lock your doors when you leave and at night we had no problems but because there is no safe we made sure it was all locked up. The cleaning guy is a local young male who does ok but not like a female would we noticed the drawers in the kitchen were dirty the floors under the furniture were really dusty and the whole time we were there I never saw them use a mop in any of the cabins when they checked out. I am not trying to give this place a bad rap but I am letting you know it is NOT a five star so if you expect that you need to go someplace else. Would we stay here again not sure only because it needs so many updates. Ok now to recommend some tours that are a must while there, 1) star fish beach, bird island and snorkeling at drago. 2) monkey island was wonderful you go to her island and she has 3 different types of monkeys and out of those 3 breeds she lets each type out one at a time to play with you and that was great. 3) The bat cave and tour through the mangroves to see the sloths which we saw a lot on this tour this excursion is only if you don't mind water or mud and you definitely need tennis shoes but its a great tour. 4) deep sea fishing. In town is restaurants and stores and there is a small grocery store right by the resort and in town are bigger ones. We highly recommend the El Limbo seafood restaurant and the India next door which is beautiful with local panama menu. We also went to a bar in town called Toro Loco which is great. Just so you know the beers are only $1.25 to 2.00 anywhere in town so great price. Last but most important if you go in September to this resort ask if the carnival will be there if so DO NOT book then they blast the music till 4am and its right by the resort and it is LOUD. P.S. stay in Panama at least 2 days so you can see the canal and Casco Viejo beautiful town. I hope this helps you.

Room Tip: Cabins in front the Dolphin and Orchid best breeze and view
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Travelingfools0618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Colon
1.5 km away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
544 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
421 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 13 in Bocas Town
184 reviews
5.0 km away
Hotel Caribbean View
Hotel Caribbean View
#2 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
73 reviews
6.1 km away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#4 of 20 in Isla Colon
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koko Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koko Resort

Address: Las Cabanas, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Colon
Price Range: $98 - $611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a picture postcard. Cabins built over the water of a beautiful bay. Various size houses. Steps from the beach. 5 Minutes to town. Fantastic sunsets from the dock and lit up fish viewing at night. Full kitchens, AC, fans, maid and laundry service. Full time security, Safety boxes in rooms. Wireless Internet. Kayaks, bikes, snorkel masks free. Grocery delivery. We speak English and Spanish and will help you with arrangements for a perfect vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Koko Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koko Hotel Isla Colon
Koko Resort Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing