We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Palma Royale(Bocas Town)(Great Value!)
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Gran Hotel Bahia(Bocas Town)
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Selina Bocas del Toro(Isla Colon)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tesoro Escondido(Bluff Beach)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Spanish at Locations - Bocas del Toro(Bocas Town)(Great Value!)
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Jardines Vista del Mar Condos(Bocas Town)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel la Terraza(Bocas Town)(Great Value!)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$102
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$93
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveller rating
220
69
21
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
69
21
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssaigon bayjack leeevery morningthird worldboat tourpanama citybreakfasts were greatfriendly hostsmin walkthe main housecabindockstarfishwaterdeckislandbocas
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 326 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2016 via mobile

I came to Koko Resort with four other friends for a week of relaxing and scuba diving. The cabins are roomy and open up to let in the fresh air. Each cabin has great plumbing and an air conditioning unit to fight the day time humidity. Jack and Lee are the most gracious hosts you could ever hope for and can arrange any activities or transportation you will want for your trip. Jack makes the best breakfasts. I recommend this to anyone wanting to stay away from the loud noise of Bocas town and swing in a hammock reading away.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 18, 2016 via mobile

I can't say enough about what a great time we had staying at Koko. After a very early flight from Panama City we were welcomed for breakfast by the lovely owners of these cabins and the guest house they have a few doors down. We were able to get right into our cabin, which was very clean and had everything we could have needed. As other reviews stated breakfast is included every day and I doubt better could be found on the island, although we didn't try. All activities can be arranged through your hosts, and we would recommend listening to their suggestions, they know a lot of great local guides and have been on the island long enough to steer you away from any scams. They give great dinner recommendations as well. We would definitely recommend Koko to our friends and would be glad to stay there again should we return to Bocas! Read through the info on their website before deciding if this is for you, it's comfortable and clean but is not an all inclusive type of resort if that's what you're looking for. Thanks to Jack and Lee for a great week!

Stayed: November 2016
Thank Kathleen_22388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 16, 2016 via mobile

Great stay. Loved the private cabana and balconies. Great breakfast prepared by friendly owners. Clean and comfortable. Short cab ride into tourist area. Would definitely recommend and would stay there if in the area again.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2016

First, let me start out by saying, "READ THE INFORMATION ON THE KOKO WEBSITE." This is not a typical resort and is not based in an area dedicated to tourists. While this is what attracted us to Koko, I can see why this would not be for everyone. The cabins are in a neighborhood of local residents and Bocas Town is intermingled with tourists, expats and both Latino and Jamaican locals. This made for an excellent experience and we really felt as though we got to understand the culture.

Jack and Lee are excellent hosts and know all of the best contacts for for whatever you might like to do during your stay. They set up a beach trip, snorkeling, sailing, a message, and an anniversary dinner for us. Each one was an excellent experience. Their recommendation on the right chocolate tour brought us to a rain-forest jungle hike through an indigenous village; a highlight of our trip.

The views from our cabin were great and we had virtually no mosquito. We kept the windows open during the night and never needed the air conditioning. Sitting on the front porch was relaxing both day and night. The cabin was sparse, but clean and adequate. I used the coffee maker every day and loved the local standard brand. Jack cooks breakfast every day and it was awesome. He is extremely fussy about the ingredients he uses and the fruit was so ripe and flavorful every morning. If you like spicy, ask for some of the picante salsa the Jack has made special.

There was music every evening that we could hear coming from the town. On Saturday night it kept us up a bit, but the other evenings it stopped pretty early. The area is in the tropics, so I expected bugs, but there were next to none. We saw one in the shower and a couple of spiders. Termites are a problem and there was quite a bit of dust evidence. They don't bother anyone. It's just unfortunate. The local people are in the process of learning not to litter or to throuw trash into the ocean; there was some trash in the water at the shore near the cabins and along the public ways.

If you are looking for an experience where you are not isolated in a sanitized tourist district, and want to experience local culture with tropical relaxing flavor, Bocas del Toros and Koko is for you. If you want an "over the water" stay at a reasonable cost, this is for you.

Room Tip: All the cabins are good. The two further out are the best.
Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2016

The owners know EVERYONE so getting info on what you need/want to do is easy.
We got picked up at the airport by a taxi friend of theirs, and rode the short distance to the resort. After a quick check-in we were shown our room. Their description on their site is dead on. Nothing fancy but everything you need. If you want 5-star, go elsewhere.
Short walk to the grocery store, quick cab rides to everything else, or take a nice walk.
Views are great with a dock to hang out on over the water.

I'm going back!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericpikeflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews