We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tropical Suites Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed at Tropical Suites in Bocas del Toro for 5 nights in Feb. 2012. I can't recommend it highly enough! The hosts/owners were a huge part of the amazing experience! Jamie and Chip and their staff went way out of the way to help us with day trips, restaurants, transfer to Boquete, and room service. The hotel is beautiful, but the staff is remarkable! We are in our 70's, and would highly recommend to travellers our age! Leonore and Lee Wiltse

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonorew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here in spite of the power outage---which wasn't the fault of Tropical Suites....power was out all over the island. We'd been warned that staying in town could be noisy. Not so...close the doors to the balcony and all is quiet. The rooms are lovely and comfortable. The location is great and the staff is overwhelmingly helpful and thoughtful. Chip even moved the router closer to our room to help with internet connectivity! I cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good, I'd say.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suhzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Great clean well appointed hotel in the middle of town. Rooms with decks over the water to observe all the water activity . This is a suites hotel so it is possible to cook your own meals should you wish.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water are more expensive but let you view the many comings and going to and from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacation023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

From the moment of our arrival to Isla Colon they offered the transfer to the hotel, which was fabulous with Marlo. The owners welcomed us: Jamie and Chip with their hotel staff: Mayda, Danubis, Mirza, Tracy and Alex made ​​my carnival holiday in Bocas del Toro THE best for many years. Thank you for your great attention guys. The rooms were nice and were clean all the time, with everything we needed to enjoy our days in the island. The comfortable beds, a complete kitchenette , the ocean view balcony as well as the town view balcony and bathroom really gave us a feeling of " at home". The hotel has its own marina which is very convenient. Jamie's tips for the tours were excellent. Definitely the best place to stay in Bocas.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZilkaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

The rooms were clean and well furnished. They were cleaned perfectly every day. They had AC, full bath, a kitchenette and balcony. We were very comfortable and we only heard sounds from outside occassionally. The staff were very helpful and even called taxis and set up a private tour for us.
We'd definitely stay here again. The only thing you need to know is that you should bring your own beach towls as they do not allow you to use bathroom towels for the beach. Also, there are no telephones in the room but that's okay as the staff was willing to make phone calls for us.

The owners greeted us when we arrived and said goodbye as we left. They had lots of good advice to give while we were there too! Definiely the best place to stay

Room Tip: We had a balcony facing the street of the city. You might like a ocean view instead but we found we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tami S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Very nice property if you're looking for top-end accommodation in Bocas. Rooms were spacious with all the comforts & mod cons you'd expect from a good hotel back home, with the added bonus of the kitchen for that "appartment" feel. Beds very comfortable, nice linen etc. The staff at the front desk are lovely and extremely helpful, and the hotel has a great location. Overall would recommend, although I stayed at many different places in Bocas del Toro and although it's a top-notch place, the prices at Tropical Suites do seem a bit high compared to the price/value tradeoff elsewhere.

One caution: I did not stay at Tropical Suites over New Year, but I was in Bocas staying elsewhere...when I walked past Tropical Suites during the evening, there was a huge party going on in one of their suites with LOTS of people screaming, shouting & drinking on the balcony... Whilst I'm a big fan of New Year's parties & celebrations, I don't think I would have been too happy to find such a huge raucous party going on in the suite next door to mine when I was paying for luxurious & peaceful surroundings!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elklondon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Tropical Suites... best place on the Island. The owners Chip and Jamie take a personal interest and make sure you have a great time. I will definitely recommend that everyone stay at Tropical Suites their first time in Panama. The only complaint I have is the staff cleaned the entry way and hallway just about every hour. Can't wait to come back :)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.3 km away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
423 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
396 reviews
0.3 km away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#11 of 13 in Bocas Town
359 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 13 in Bocas Town
187 reviews
5.9 km away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Suites Hotel

Address: First Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bocas Town
#3 Family Hotel in Bocas Town
Price Range: $125 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Suites is a modern oceanfront hotel located in the heart of Bocas del Toro. Resting on a tranquil Caribbean shoreline, the property is close to many over the water restaurants, shops and attractions. The hotel's comfortable and spacious suites feature a panoramic view of the Caribbean waters or​ ​the island's ​tropical ​landscape.​ Amenities include private balconies, air conditioning, 24 hour front desk and water access from​ ​the hotel's private dock​. Nearby attractions include beaches, snorkeling, dolphin watching, zip-lining, diving and surfing. Tours and activities may be arranged through the hotel's front reception. Guests may choose to include breakfast with their room rate. The property is a 15 minute walk or short taxi ride from the Bocas Town island airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Tropical Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Bocas Town
Tropical Suites Hotel Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing