We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (616)
Filter reviews
616 results
Traveller rating
410
108
57
23
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
410
108
57
23
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate poolgolf cartpunta lavared frogzip liningwater taxifull kitchenluxury villacanopy tourwasher and dryerla rosajungle villageplaya tortugapanama citybeach barper daycapuchin monkeys
Filter
Updating list...
402 - 407 of 616 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We enjoyed our trip but did not expect to feel so isolated. The villa was nice and there was a small pool. We used the golf cart which is a must as there is still a lot of construction and some of the villas are far away. The kids found the golf carts to be a lot of fun though and it made the trip feel more adventurous, but be prepared for potholes. The beach is very beautiful and the surf was very strong, my kids had a lot of fun playing in the water. The people working there are VERY friendly, especially the Manager and the hosts and the people working at the restaurants. But there are limited dining options and if you are there for a bit you will get tired of it. (very good pizza). It is a bit of a backpacker atmosphere but we felt that lent some charm to the place. We liked to hang out there, have coffee, play ping pong etc. The food was reasonably priced and of a decent quality. We enjoyed a few of the themed dinners at the restaurant by the beach which is generally only open at lunch (hamburgers etc) There were a lot of hard panamanian partiers at the beach during a few of our days, drinking a lot and out of control which was disappointing. (it was holiday time and I guess they all go to that beach in particular) We also felt that there is little concern for the environmental impact of this place. There was visible garbage scattered and the beach definitely had garbage laying around. There is a bit of a feeling that the panamanians just don't care what they are doing to the world and are looking to make a quick buck. The restaurant there was allowing styrofoam for take out from the restaurant. Not sure where those were going to go. You will see a lot of garbage as well in Bocas town. We felt the zipline was the best activity we did- my kids loved it and we felt it was fairly priced. We unfortunately felt we were taken for a ride with some of the other activities. The Red Frog needs to do a better job of controlling their vendors for the activities from the outside which are not cheap and are CASH only. Be prepared that it is expensive to go back and forth from the Red Frog resort to Bocas Town, but it is the only way to get food and money. Overall a good place but just stay for 3-4 days, have cash and be a little bit flexible on the food options.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ToniS1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastimentos, Manager at Red Frog Beach Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you for coming during the holidays with your family! We think Red Frog Beach is an ideal place for families that want a beautiful peaceful setting with things to do and experience.
Glad you liked the zipline and enjoyed our friendly staff. Red Frog is a 10 or 15 minute water taxi ride away from Bocas town. Getting to Bocas during the day is $7 round trip on Jampan (sometimes less if you have more people). If you want to go at night, the water taxi boat driver will charge more.
Our staff and management care very much about the environmental impact on Isla Bastimentos. The resort has allowed for the reforestation of the island and has one of the best water treatment facilities in Central America. We can find suitable substitutes for recyclable materials and we keep our beaches clean. Note that the surf can range from larger waves to no waves at all during the year - check with our staff ahead of time if you are interested how the waves look during certain times of the year.
There are several food options at Red Frog. Villa guests can order food directly to their villa or have a private chef come and cook them an authentic meal. Punta Lava on the beach has a typical lunch menu with occasional theme night dinners and Kayukos offers many inexpensive options as well as some nicer dishes.
The geography of the island is very spread-out which makes it unique. We do have regular events at Punta Lava on the beach as a gathering spot for guests – You need to check with resort staff before arriving to know about the schedule for these events.
Thank you for coming – we hope you will come back again after our Grand Opening in 2013 and see all the improvements.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Having just spent eight days at Red Frog Beach in Villa #13 (which is the best two bedroom unit available), I leave with mixed feelings. While the villa was everything we had hoped for, there were some other negatives worth considering before you plan a stay at Red Frog Beach.

Having researched the property extensively online, I knew that the dining options on the island were limited, however, I had anticipated that we would go "off island" and try some other places in Bocas for dinner. We arrived from the airport in a rainstorm, and I can assure anyone that we were completely soaked despite wearing rainwear and taking a large water taxi with a rain/sun canopy. While the time of our travel was during the supposed "dry" season, it rained everyday and was overcast approximately 70% of the time. Since the rains were rather intense, it was virtually impossible to leave the island without getting completely soaking wet which would have made for a rather miserable dinner. As such, we did not leave the island (although we would have liked to) for the entire week. While the food at the restaurants on the island was reasonable (sometimes good, other times not very good at all), it became repetitive over time. Fortunately, we had stocked up on food and drinks upon our arrival at Bocas town, but this was not really sufficient to round out all of our meals.
I also realized that the roads are under development as are some of the villas, but it would seem to me that the gravel roads could be grated to smooth out the rather extensive potholes. I will add that you should definitely rent a golf cart as the distances from the villas to the beach and dock are significant.
I was positively impressed with the Manager and the staff at the property, but felt that they were short staffed, especially for the peak season between Christmas and New Year's. At the beach bar, Punta Lava, there was typically only one server at the bar who had to do the work of at least 3 or 4 people, taking orders, making drinks and saving food all at once. While it may not make sense to have that many staff all season, it would make sense to hire some additional people to cover the peak holiday season.
The zip line tour was a great experience, however, we did not go snorkeling or fishing given the poor weather/visibility. When we did our zip line tour, it was pouring rain, but that did not detract from the experience and even made it a little more exciting/interesting.
All in all we had a relaxing trip and loved our villa. I can't fault the place for the poor weather, but potential visitors should be aware that rain can negatively impact their experience as it negates the ability to take a water taxi (unless you don't mind arriving to your destination soaking wet). My suggestion would be to plan your trip in late January or February to mitigate the chances of rain negatively impacting your holiday.

Room Tip: Villa 13 has great views and a nice plunge pool
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SlickWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 21, 2012

After travelling with our sailboat for 3 winter seasons in the caraibeen form the BVI we really loved the island. We decided to stay at the marina on our sailboat... After inviting to many friends to join us we decided to rent a villa for extra special time. Well, with vast space, magical view, access to internet my husband and I decided to have our second home on the island. It's been a year of pur pleasure, we go back to our villa as many time we can (every 6-8 weeks). Any time is great, the lush forest, the sound of the nature, the smell of the flowers is just pure paradis! We have 3 bedrooms, 2 washrooms and a 3 level infinity pool with a amazing view. The staff is very respecfull and always smilling. We love going at bocas town for fresh fruits and veggies. We also enjoye teasty seafood. Ir's been so pleasent that our sailboat is going for sail since we never bern back in it since we have the villa. Down side the flights... Air panama web booking is a pain... But with time more ootions to get to bocas will be provided i am certain of this.

Gillianne and family from villa mariposa

Room Tip: The villas are luxerious...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gillianneandstephane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I visited the Resort with friends in spring 2012. It consists of bungalows scattered on the island's hills. Ours was villa 26 which is one of the highest with a splendid view of the ocean. It was very roomy, clean and has all amenities and is decorated with gusto. It has a beautiful veranda where you can lounge and read while looking at the sea. It is situated where the zip line starts, it is recommended to use a cart especially when bringing shopping back. You need to organize food as you arrive on the main island to take with you to Red Frog as there are no shops on the island itself except a small convenience store. If you have forgotten, the local boats wait for you at the marina or you can book them and they show up on time even very early in the morning to take you to the main island. The main island has all types of shops for all tastes and is very pleasant, we did numerous trips back and forth between both islands. The Red Frog island has a small beach restaurant where you can eat excellent fish tacos at lunch with great cold beers and you can have a very tasty dinner by candlelight. The beaches are spotless and surfers love their waves. It is safer to swim on the side with a lifeguard as there are strong currents. We booked a snorkelling trip, saw dolphins and beautiful unspoilt and protected corals and ate great tasting langoustes. All in all, it was a very good and relaxing trip where you can stay at the villa and enjoy a day at the pool or go out and visit the surrounding islands and shop or just go to the beach. The local Panamanian people are very welcoming and willing to let you try your spanish without laughing too much, I'd go back anytime.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Citadellian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was my fourth trip to Red Frog Beach Resort and my second trip to the Jungle Lodge in the to-be-deveoped "Jungle Village." The Lodge now has a number of "homey" touches, to include a newly installed television. It appears the Village swimming pool will be installed soon. The anticipated date is March 2013...being Panama, we will see if this comes about! The Lodge is NOT one of the wonderful villas. Rather it is a wonderfully unique experience. But, not to fret, It has a completely outfitted kitchen and bathroom, as well as a sleeping loft. It also has two very adequately air conditioned bedrooms with the additional living space wonderfully cooled by constant hill-top breezes and a ceiling fan. The view, overlooking the Caribbean, is absolutely stunning. As it sits atop a hill, the Lodge's deck permits great bird-watching opportunities. I saw a Harpy Eagle perched on a tree just several yards from the deck! (It looked like it was waiting for a small morsel for lunch!) Can't wait for Trip Number Five!

Room Tip: Both bedrooms are great. The Lodge has 360 degree views of the Caribbean and surrounding jungle.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RFTGJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews