We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A hotel for business travellers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel The Royal Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel The Royal Plaza
Ranked #72 of 701 Hotels in New Delhi
Mumbai
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A hotel for business travellers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Hotel The Royal Plaza is situated close to connaught circle and New Delhi Lutyens.

The rooms are very small and are convenient only for business travellers with small baggage. For families travelling with children on a vacation this is not the place. There is hardly any space for extra bed and space to keep the bags. Also I had to remind the room service twice to keep additional towels and water bottles since we were a familly of three.

The morning buffet breakfast was extraordinary with a large Continental, Indian and Chinese menu.

Its a good hotel for those travelling on short business trips.

Room Tip: If one is carrying additional bags, ask for suite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hgsalunke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    517
    485
    216
    194
See reviews for
307
441
182
705
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

This was my first visit to this hotel and i really didn't know about its services at all. I was there with a mixed feeling. At arrival when i entered the lobby i needed assistance with by bags and could not find any bell boy in my vicinity. I was greeted by the lady manager Ms.Prity and she immediately assisted me with by baggage and helped me doing an express check-in. She was very courteous to explain all the restaurants and the facilities in the hotel.
The hotels USP is its location and the City center is very close by. I would recommend this hotel to the people visiting Delhi. The stay here was indeed a value for money and was complemented by excellent services.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Collen82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
1,152 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 513 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

A great hotel that also has a super pool area.
The internet is rather expensive though.
The staff were fantastic wit their assistance and are sure that they are just as good with everyone.
The room was comfortable with SUCH a comfy bed but a bit on the small side if you have more than one large suitcase.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventurers049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usa, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

I arrived at Royal Plaza only to find out that my bag is missing from the taxi which I took from Grand hotel. I thank Mr Sandeep who helped me in tracing out my lost baggage. The hotel from what I have seen is excellent and I am extremely happy that I chose this hotel.
My stay here at the hotel has been excellent quick check in ,welcomed by 6 girls on the main door with a candle and a welcome drink.. This is amazing you feel like a queen awesome hotel. The staff, the restaurants and the facilities are first class. Abhimanyu , Umesh and a smart suited Hotel Manager were excellent in assuring me that lost bag in the taxi will be traced as they have security system in place where they record numbers of all the cars exiting the hotel.. They work at the reception and ensured that every detail was perfect. They are a credit to the hotel. The food in the restaurants was terrific.. I would not hesitate in using the hotel again where I feal safe and secure when I return. If you are wanting to do a tour of the city be sure to ask the Concierge .
When I was booking to come to Delhi I was not sure which Hotel to book, I had actually booked Shangre-La and changed to the Royal Plaza instead I am very happy that my decision was perfecttttttttttt I did and I look forward to when I return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Suites are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hcarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

It has a grand reception and the first sight of the reception itself can build expectations of the quality of the stay. But that was not the case. This was the first hotel that took almost 20 mins for completing the check-in formalities (while we were the only guests at the reception) and also deducted the amount from my credit card for the stay. The manager and the staff were more responsive that made up for the response lapse at the reception.
After leaving the lobby I thought a grand room awaits me, but to my disappointment there was a small pentagonal room with an average quality bed and very little area to move around. The work desk area was too cramped and the room is quite dimly lit. The bath and toilet area were clean but not sparkling clean. Even the towels and linens were pale.
The food however was quite good and the spread for dinner as well as breakfast had Indian and Continental dishes.
The hotel had a good gym and the spa too looked good. The best part of the hotel and perhaps the best room of the hotel is the 'aroma shower' and the steam room that was complimentary. The aroma shower could be the only other reason to stay in the hotel again.
The hotel has a lot of foreign guests and thus focuses on B&B packages catering to foreign tourists. Overall the rooms were a complete disappointment but made up with the quality of food.
In conclusion the experience was not awesome but not bad. There are other hotels that can provide better rooms at lower prices.

Room Tip: The higher floors have spectacular views and the hotel is quite happy to provide rooms at higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KartikIyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Hotel seemed clean on arrival, bathroom had a funny smell. Was tired and on business so got in to bed whilst working. Could feel things biting me, after calling house keeping they sprayed the room.
Next morning informed them that things in the bed were biting me, after a long day returned to hotel was told situation had been checked. I woke to over 57 flea bites, demanded to be changed.
They moved me, every time I tried to talk to someone I was taken away from the deskso no one could hear.
My flea bites were infected and also had ringworm from the conditions, was reasonable and asked to be refunded for the 2 nights stay in room 404 but they wouldn't
I know for a fact that people were then booked into room 404, matresses should of been burnt.
Plumbing on floor 4was shocking as other peoples waste kept coming into our toilet and water always bubbling. Floor 4 seemed to be having a lot of complaints

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed here twice during our saty in India and its a great place to stay. The enrty with its grand murals on the ceiling and marble everywhere enhances the ambience of the hotel.
Staff are friendly and very helpful. Food is good though a little on the expensive side as are drinks etc. Compared to some of the other hotels of the same ratings this was definately value for money with a great location near Connaught Place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shrinkingworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.8 km away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#61 of 701 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,567 reviews
1.4 km away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
1.5 km away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#42 of 701 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
The Hans New Delhi
The Hans New Delhi
#102 of 701 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.2 km away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#14 of 701 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,484 reviews
1.4 km away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Royal Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Royal Plaza

Property: Hotel The Royal Plaza
Address: 19 Ashoka Road, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 701 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel The Royal Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Royal Plaza is one of the best luxury boutique hotels in delhi. Superbly located in the heart of city downtown- Connaught Place. The Hotel is minutes away from International Trade Fair Grounds, President House , India Gate, Parliament House. The Hotel is very close to New Delhi Railway Station.Its prime location in the heart of city has made it a commercial and shopping hub for both domestic and international travellers.With three restaurants , bar and night club The Royal Plaza provides excellent dining to suit any palate , in an elegant and inviting ambience.Royal Plaza also has an extensive Health Club and Spa -offering wellness menu with signature treatments and therapies to choose from and a temperature controlled & a eco friendly swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your Hotel The Royal Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing