We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel The Royal Plaza
Ranked #73 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Canberra
1 review
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Ended up in the hotel after googling and was positively suprised that the rooms and bathrooms were actually better than I expected. Sheets and bedding and towels were not only immaculately clean but also of good quality. Bathroom exceeded expectations - could have been of a 5-star hotel. Food was very good and the prices more than reasonable. Can warmly recommend this for both business travellers and holidaymakers.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    559
    534
    241
    221
See reviews for
373
486
214
803
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ludhiana, India
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The location is awesome, in close proximity to CP.
The lobby is very well decorated. The Chinese restaurant jasmine is a bit expensive but worth every penny and then some. The SPA is good and the therapists are well trained and skilled.
The staff is courteous and all in all, it was a very good stay. Have been back there twice.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puneet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Ok so it's expensive but it's worth it!
amazing lobby with painted ceilings and marble statues everywhere. got a complimentary and awesome chocolate cake delivered to our room (they knew it was our honeymoon). Breakfast was irrestible so we had all of it!!
Evening meal was great Italian food festival.
And the pool was idyllic as an oasis in Delhi.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrlegoben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The hotel as a grand reception area which offers a tranquil welcome having travelled on the chaotic roads from the airport.
We have used this hotel twice now during our visit to India. This first time we arrived was late evening, the staff were efficient and helpful on arrival. The second time, we were greeted a lot more friendly with a drink and a voucher to use in the spa (which we did and was very good).
The hotel rooms we found were very comfortable and clean. The room has a good size walk in shower and ample space to store clothing etc. All rooms have an electronic safe to store any valuables should you be going into the centre of town (Connughton Place).
The hotel restaurant was very nice, albeit expensive, both for drinks and food. We had the breakfast one morning, this does offer a large amount of choice, but possibly again expensive.
The pool area was immaculate and the grounds very peaceful to sit in away from the hustle and bustle of the city.
The positioning of the hotel for traveling to the city centre was good. You can walk if you want, although you are hounded by the taxi and tuk-tuk drivers. We used the tuk-tuk for most journeys; this was about 20 – 100 rupees, depending on the driver. I would strongly advise that you give them an address/ business card and be firm with them as to where you want to go; otherwise they go to where they want!

We do need to mention the Hotel Manager, Amit. He did really make our stay. He allowed us to check out late evening at no charge. He even drove us to the airport personally on his way home. He was possibly one of the most helpful and friendliest people we met during our stay in India; he is a credit to the owner of the hotel. A big thank you to him for enhancing our experience during our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in two rooms, the first 1426 where you overlooked the back of the hotel. Room 1410 overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 684phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My (adult) son and I recently stayed at the Royal Plaza in Delhi and had a great stay. We thoroughly enjoyed a delicious meal in the Asian restaurant, were pleasantly assisted by the indoor bar/pub when we wanted to sit in the outside pool bar area after that bar was closed, received helpful information from the concierge, and check out was a breeze. This is a busy, business hotel - probably more suitable for adults. Really a pleasant place to stay in Delhi. Our room was small, but efficient, with comfy beds and a nice bathroom.

Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank MarillaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Hotel The Royal Plaza is situated close to connaught circle and New Delhi Lutyens.

The rooms are very small and are convenient only for business travellers with small baggage. For families travelling with children on a vacation this is not the place. There is hardly any space for extra bed and space to keep the bags. Also I had to remind the room service twice to keep additional towels and water bottles since we were a familly of three.

The morning buffet breakfast was extraordinary with a large Continental, Indian and Chinese menu.

Its a good hotel for those travelling on short business trips.

Room Tip: If one is carrying additional bags, ask for suite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hgsalunke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This was my first visit to this hotel and i really didn't know about its services at all. I was there with a mixed feeling. At arrival when i entered the lobby i needed assistance with by bags and could not find any bell boy in my vicinity. I was greeted by the lady manager Ms.Prity and she immediately assisted me with by baggage and helped me doing an express check-in. She was very courteous to explain all the restaurants and the facilities in the hotel.
The hotels USP is its location and the City center is very close by. I would recommend this hotel to the people visiting Delhi. The stay here was indeed a value for money and was complemented by excellent services.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Collen82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.8 km away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#62 of 716 in New Delhi
2,908 reviews
1.4 km away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
1.2 km away
The Hans New Delhi
The Hans New Delhi
#110 of 716 in New Delhi
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#42 of 716 in New Delhi
3,755 reviews
0.3 km away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 716 in New Delhi
2,721 reviews
1.4 km away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Royal Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Royal Plaza

Property: Hotel The Royal Plaza
Address: 19 Ashoka Road, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel The Royal Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Royal Plaza is one of the best luxury boutique hotels in delhi. Superbly located in the heart of city downtown- Connaught Place. The Hotel is minutes away from International Trade Fair Grounds, President House , India Gate, Parliament House. The Hotel is very close to New Delhi Railway Station.Its prime location in the heart of city has made it a commercial and shopping hub for both domestic and international travellers.With three restaurants , bar and night club The Royal Plaza provides excellent dining to suit any palate , in an elegant and inviting ambience.Royal Plaza also has an extensive Health Club and Spa -offering wellness menu with signature treatments and therapies to choose from and a temperature controlled & a eco friendly swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel The Royal Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing