We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”
Review of Hotel Aura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Aura
Ranked #457 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Delhi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Hotel Aura offers clean comfortable rooms in a friendly hotel. Be sure of what you ask for and the staff will do their best to help you. The tour desk offers great deals and Praveen has good English. Be wary of day returns especially to Aggra, with the roads, speed limits and jams this is a trip too far.
It was only the language difficulty that caused any hiccups but with patience most problems are easily overcome.
The laundry service was good value and efficient.
I highly recommend this hotel with the only slight negative being in relation to the restaurant which struggled at times with stock levels

Room Tip: The first floor can be a little noisy with reception sometimes being too loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    143
    79
    44
    36
See reviews for
47
128
59
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Hotel Aura was a great find in the crazy city of Delhi. The staff was very attentive, we were safe, and I thought it was a great value for what we paid. We didn't have hot water a few of the nights because the power was out but that is out of the hotel's control. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated, the bathrooms were tidy, and their laundry service was prompt. The best part is breakfast is included and its delicious! They had lots of options. Also, we ordered room service every day we stayed there because it was some of the best indian food we found. It was safe to eat and very tasty! I would stay here again just for the food. We also arranged a day trip to Agra to see the Taj Mahal and it was satisfactory. The driver was nice but our tour guide was questionable. At least they were on time and everything was arranged.

Room Tip: I don't think the walls were very sound proof so if you need quiet, make sure you ask for a quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HappyVegasGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

Last februari my daughter and I stayed several times at hotel Aura.

Mr praveen is a great host and arranged everything in delhi (taxi, sight seeing, etc.)
Besides he also arranged our trip from jaipur, ranthambhore, agra back to delhi which was perfectly arranged.
When kingfisher cancelled my daughter's flights to manipal he even arranged new flights with spicejet

I would recommend this hotel to everyone and have mr Praveen arrange your tours and when going back to India I would again visit this Hotel

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank johnoetkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Our room was perfectly adequate, with air conditioning which was a nice break from the intense Delhi heat from time to time. However we had no hot water for the full 3 days were there. Arranged a trip through the hotel with a guide to Agra to see the Taj Mahal & Agra Fort which was great and good value for money, albeit if the driver took some lengthy discussions with to actually take us to the places we wanted to go in the order we wanted to do it not the way that was easiest for him. We also had to go a long time without food because there are few places worth stopping for food on the road between Delhi and Agra, would advice taking some snacks for the journey. It's a long trip. The main problem we had with this hotel was we e-mailed in advance explaining there would be an extra person in our party and we therefore needed 1 room for 4 rather than 3, or 2 rooms for 2 in each. We were e-mailed saying 1 room for 4 would be arranged just pay for the extra person on arrival. When we arrived at the hotel we were taken to a room with only 3 beds and were told a 4th bed would be brought in a few hours (only 2 of us arrived at the time so this wasn't a problem). However when the other 2 in our party arrived they were taken to another room. To cut a long story short we were ripped off by the hotel as they ended up charging us for a 3 person room and an extra 2 person room. We complained at the time but they did not want to help and were extremely rude. Quite often at reception there were 4 or 5 staff stood around chatting, doing absolutely nothing which doesn't help for the image of the hotel. Overall a reasonable hotel but sadly let down by the service offered by the staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ned46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales_aurahotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Aura, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for sharing your feedback at tripadvisor, it helps us to improve and motivate our staff to provide better service. We glad to hear that you had a wonderful trip to Agra and you found good air-conditioning in the room. But on the other hand it is very sad for us that you don’t had hot water. We ask everyday to our Guest about their stay, so that if there any problem we will do the needful. We have 24hrs Hot water available, but you never complain to us during your stay. There could be some other reason of unavailability of water in your room.
Regarding your booking, kindly go through the e-mailed sent you for your request. We have clearly mention upon your arrival at the hotel also that we don’t have room for 04 person. Our room has king size bed and we can put an extra bed inside the room. You have to take one more room, although it’s your choice how you will share the room. We have charged for the Single Occupancy for another room and the agreed tariff was informed to you upon arrival.
The staff were unhelpful as they cleared about the tariff and once it is entered to the hotel software, the front desk staff is empowered to make any changes. You may cross check at any website for our room occupancy and categories, we hope that will make you some satisfaction to believe upon hotel staff.
If you would like to have any confusion about your bookings kindly send us an e-mail. We will investigate for the same room you stayed in our hotel to check the problems you faced during your stay. Give us a chance to serve you better and we will promise you will have a wonderful stay.

Thanks & regards,

Team, Hotel Aura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I loved the hotel! Be it the flooring, the mini-bar (had almost everything), the lounge, the breakfast, the location!

The entire area was a mass house of hotels, is crowded and it kinda looked like an unclean area. But most 3 star hotels are located here apparently. But Aura has kickass interiors in the room and finally a Sony TV as well. The staff was hospitable as well. They accomadated us in nearby rooms even though we had made last minute reservations.
The hotel is pretty close to the New Delhi railway station as well.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ideepakc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We chose this hotel for it's advertised location and we did indeed walk the short distance to the train station for an early morning train to Shimla via Kalka and it was a walk to the big bazaar and short tuk tuk ride to Connaught Place, but its location is on a very cramped, noisy and dirty road and wasn't really suitable for walking at night.The staff were great, Mr Praveen the tour organiser is brilliant, everything he arranged worked like clockwork, a miracle here. The hotel is a bit tired, hot water is an issue and the place is a bit grubby too. The meals in the rooftop restaurant come from the kitchen of the (much cheaper) hotel across the road, although sticking to vegetarian dishes meant the food did taste good and no dreaded tummy issues. So it does what it says on the tin, but may be staying out of town and getting transport in would have been better

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank noteasytoplease66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abu dhabi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

“Best hotel to start your trip in India”

This hotel is centrally located, walking distance to New Delhi Railway Station and Cannaught Place. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We were picked up from the airport as arranged, checked in and given a much needed cup of coffee.The Travel Desk person helped us to arrange our transport and hotels for our 3 week trip to India making it as hassle free as possible. The hotels they recommended and arranged were clean, comfortable and some even had a swimming pool! We found our holiday the worth for our money. We will definitely recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank abid a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel The Pearl
#499 of 716 in New Delhi
141 reviews
Hotel Ajanta
#60 of 716 in New Delhi
1,838 reviews
Hotel Krishna
#578 of 716 in New Delhi
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#55 of 716 in New Delhi
1,065 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Aman Continental
Hotel Aman Continental
#102 of 716 in New Delhi
208 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
#70 of 716 in New Delhi
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aura

Property: Hotel Aura
Address: 31 Arakashan Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110002, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #457 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aura 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Facilities and ambiance of Hotel Aura enchants the business and the leisure traveler alike the luxurious lifestyle experiences for you. Hotel Offers facilities like laundry services, doctor on call, fax, e-mail & Wi-Fi Internet facilities, elevator facilities, money changer, mini-bar in rooms, travel desk and uninterrupted power supply. Besides these hotel is also facilitated with Gym, Massage Services and Spa, Steam & Sauna Bath , Parking Facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Aura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing