We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-priced and no pool to use”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Piccadily Hotel New Delhi
Ranked #234 of 717 Hotels in New Delhi
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Over-priced and no pool to use”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed here on one of our transits through Delhi for a couple of days because they advertise a heated outdoor pool. The hotel is conveniently located opposite a Metro station and the distance into the centre of Delhi is reasonable. However, on check-in we were told that the pool was "under maintenance" and that we could not use it during our stay. We should have asked for a refund (we had pre-paid) but as everything can be such a hassle in Delhi, we decided to make the best of it and stay. The hotel room was pleasant enough, in good condition and the staff were polite, particularly on the ninth floor. Buffet breakfast was satisfactory and staff were attentive. In-room dining was expensive but an easy option at the end of a busy day and the food was reasonable. They have a happy hour and luckily the lights are very dim in this section of the hotel as it is totally ragged looking and in desperate need of new furniture. We booked a driver to Agra (trains were at an inconvenient time and unreliable because of fog and we were silly enough not to remember that the AC buses are very comfortable and almost faster than a driver). The cost of being driven to Agra was over the top - way way more than we had been verbally quoted the night before. So we ended up getting stuck with it - it cost double to drive to Agra than what I had paid for a driver from Pondicherry to Ooty even though the former was an easy and much much shorter drive. When one has been in India for a while, weariness sets in and this is when you make mistakes as it all becomes too hard sometimes. The driver was very friendly and when we asked about a coffee stop, he suggested we stop half way to Agra. This seemed reasonable as we wanted to get to Agra without too much delay but this is where we lost control of our journey. He drove up a driveway which gave us no choice and we had to go into a place under construction called Shree Mangalam Resort. Our driver left us at the entrance and told us he would be back in ten minutes. We had bad vibes from the start. Outside this "hotel" there was a man with a rifle (definitely a civilian - hotel guard?) and a motley crew of people. We walked through a big souvenir shop but thankfully we weren't hassled. This led to a dark dining area with plastic table cloths and a really bizzare smell. (The whole thing reminded me of a Roald Dahl story of a woman who ran a guest houses and "waited" for her guests to whom she then gave almond smelling tea and then proceeded with taxidermy). When we were given the menu (it was about 3.30pm) we were being bullied into ordering one of their chicken dishes so we told them we were vegetarian and only wanted coffee. Actually, we really didn't want anything from this horrible place so we asked for espresso which of course they didn't have. At this point we should have politely thanked them and left but we were too embarassed with all these men hovering around us so we ordered two cans of sickly sweet mango juice from the fridge standing near us. RRP was 30 rupees but they were charging 90 rupees. A bit annoying but we had them anyway. I made a joke about them probably adding luxury tax and service tax to the bill. My husband told me to get the right money ready but the best I could do was two 100 rupee notes. Sure enough, as soon as we had our two cans, we went to the counter to pay and the man at the desk, surrounding by five or six of his men started to write an invoice - he wanted 257 rupees. My husband got angry, gave him the two hundred rupees and told him to go to hell. We walked out and walked down to the end of the driveway to wait for our driver. I was dying to go to the toilet but had to hold on as I was not going to go back into that place. Closer to the hotel we saw another tourist who must have also been in our situation waiting outside and not looking too happy. It didn't matter that this place had no guests staying there as they probably made plenty of money by having drivers drop off unsuspecting victims all the time.(And imagine the poor victims who look this place up, when construction is completed, on the internet and think they are going to stay in a five star resort near Agra - it would be a real Wake in Fright situation). After about five minutes our driver came out, got into the car and picked us up down the driveway. He asked if all was fine and we just politely thanked him. We could feel he was furious as he was very quiet and started driving much faster than he had for the first part of the trip. He had obviiously counted on some commission in this place and had missed out - not really satisfactory for the very very expensive drive. We just carried on as normally and eventually he thawed down as we got into Agra. Had we not taken the driver, the cost of the stay would still have been a bit high compared to similar hotels of the same quality but I would not have been left with such a bitter taste in my mouth. However, if you are more careful than we were, you can have a good stay here. Most of the staff is very helpful and friendly and the woes of the building do not reflect on their professionalism. If the heated pool was operational, it would actually be a very pleasant stay with helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vacancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RubalChaudhry, General Manager at Piccadily Hotel New Delhi, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Greetings from Hilton New Delhi/Janakpuri

Thank you for sharing valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I truly appreciate your positive comments about the hotel. Also apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to non operational pool.

Your positive feedback is definitely very motivating and we hope to see you back at the hotel soon.

Sincerely, Rubal Chaudhry, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    342
    230
    100
    135
See reviews for
267
262
99
275
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Stayed here as a change of location from the Le Meridien as part of a tour. The hotel is big and has decent restaurants at a reasonable price, but not as good as other hotels we stayed at during our tour. It is several miles out of Delhi and would be ok as a transit hotel, and we saw several flight crew there. It is not in a location suitable for an unescorted tour round Delhi as you would either have to take the local train if you are brave enough (station just outside the hotel) or a taxi. We had expected to be right in the centre in walking distance of India Gate. The swimming pool was empty, and didn't look as if it had been used for some time. The service was very good, although the hotel was nearly empty, and we had the chinese restaurant to ourselves, so staff outnumbered guests.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete_Sheffield_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RubalChaudhry, General Manager at Piccadily Hotel New Delhi, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Greetings from Hilton New Delhi/Janakpuri

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We sincerely appreciate your positive comments about the hotel and hope you will give us another opportunity, to be of service to you, on your next trip to Delhi.

Sincerely, Rubal Chaudhry, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Birch Bay, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Our party of five stayed here on three separate occasions during our recent trip to India. I will focus our review on the Executive Lounge but will mention a few preliminaries.

First, one advantage of this property is its location literally next door to a Metro Train station. Once we caught on to that, we utilized it several times to travel to and from the airport and the railway station because it's arguably as quick as a taxi, safer, and most definitely cheaper.

We concentrated our stays here in part because the three others in our party (two parents and their adult daughter) wanted a room for three and this property allows that, while some other properties do not.

We ate in the on-site Italian and Indian restaurants, somewhat expensive by Indian standards and not spectacular (although enjoyable entertainment in the Indian restaurant) but certainly acceptable.

As to the Executive Lounge and floors, the staff treated us superbly, calling us by name and offering every assistance. We exercised the option of eating the excellent buffet breakfast in the lobby restaurant but have little doubt from what we saw that even a quick breakfast in the lounge would be fine.

In the evening, executive floor guests enjoy complimentary beverages and a good variety of hot and cold appetizers in the attractive lobby-level bar. The "happy hour" actually runs a very generous 6:00 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. if I recall correctly, with a tactful "last call."

As Hilton Diamond, we've stayed at some terrific properties throughout Europe and Asia, and this one doesn't have to take a back seat to any of them in terms of outstanding service-oriented employees, lounge amenities, and the afore-mentioned breakfast and evening offerings.

If and when we return to Delhi, this hotel will be our default choice.

Room Tip: The Executive Floors are a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank No_Fixed_Address
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RubalChaudhry, General Manager at Piccadily Hotel New Delhi, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Greetings from Hilton New Delhi/ Janakpuri

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Hilton New Delhi/Janakpuri and especially our service offered at Executive floor and dining options.

Your feedback on service-oriented employees is very much appreciated. This is certainly going to be very encouraging for the Team.

Thank you for reviewing us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to New Delhi.

Sincerely, Rubal Chaudhry, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Great service, good breakfast - would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Out of central Delhi
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wagwag222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RubalChaudhry, General Manager at Piccadily Hotel New Delhi, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Greetings from Hilton New Delhi/Janakpuri

It is a pleasure knowing that you enjoyed the services provided by the hotel and would like to thank you for your positive comments about your experience at Hilton New Delhi / Janakpuri.

Sincerely, Rubal Chaudhry, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I spent one night there while was in transit. Got upgraded to executive room with club access. Service was excellent, breakfast was good and bar drinks were reasonable priced. Not sure about the location as it was a night visit

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbarashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RubalChaudhry, General Manager at Piccadily Hotel New Delhi, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Greetings from Hilton New Delhi/Janakpuri

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the facilities provided on our Executive floor. We aim to sustain a high level of service throughout the hotel and allow travellers such as you, to have a pleasant and hustle free stay.

Thank you once again for your patronage of Hilton New Delhi / Janakpuri and we look forward to your longer stay with us on your next trip to Delhi.

Sincerely, Rubal Chaudhry, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Srinagar, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I had a marvelous two days stay at the Hilton New Delhi Janakpuri.

Amazing piece of interiors and the metro site view at the front side of the hotel. If I talk about the service, I can say I have no words for that 100% more than I was expecting.

One more thing that I would like to add here, that is food, too good and variety whatever you want at very reasonable price too for a luxury hotel.

I am sure once a customer like me stay in such hotel will recommend the the Hilton New Delhi Janakpuri to visitor of india.

Room Tip: Top front metro view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arhaan121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RubalChaudhry, General Manager at Piccadily Hotel New Delhi, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Greetings from Hilton New Delhi / Janakpuri

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at Hilton New Delhi / Janakpuri.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed many of the facilities and services provided by us. We greatly value feedback such as yours helps to further meet and exceed the expectations of our guests.

Hope to be of service to you again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely, Rubal Chaudhry, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2012

My stay was an excellent experience, i stayed twice in the hotel and both the expereiences were excellent. the atmosphere is very good, the metro is just in the front and you have a shopping centre next to it where you can shop for. There is a mall next to it but still it has not been opened completely. A good hotel to stay and connect..

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ars1523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RubalChaudhry, General Manager at Piccadily Hotel New Delhi, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Greetings from Hilton New Delhi/Janakpuri

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We sincerely welcome your positive comments about the hotel. Thank you once again for your patronage of Hilton New Delhi / Janakpuri.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Delhi.

Sincerely, Rubal Chaudhry, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.8 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel New Delhi Paschim Vihar
6.7 km away
WelcomHotel Dwarka
WelcomHotel Dwarka
#44 of 717 in New Delhi
1,790 reviews
6.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel New Delhi Dwarka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Crowne Plaza New Delhi Rohini
Crowne Plaza New Delhi Rohini
#18 of 717 in New Delhi
544 reviews
11.8 km away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
8.7 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Dwarka
Vivanta by Taj - Dwarka
#52 of 717 in New Delhi
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piccadily Hotel New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccadily Hotel New Delhi

Property: Piccadily Hotel New Delhi
Address: Janakpuri District Centre Complex, New Delhi 110058, India (Formerly Hilton New Delhi Janakpuri)
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Piccadily Hotel New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Piccadily Hotel New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Delhi Janakpuri Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing