We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced over promoted!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Walnut Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Walnut Castle
Ranked #526 of 706 Hotels in New Delhi
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Overpriced over promoted!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

While in Delhi I was staying at a wonderful hotel but was conned into changing it for a 'much better' one by a travel company I booked a car with. (see separate review of Diamond Tours India) I was horrified to end up at the Walnut Castle, I immediately complained to the company and was told my room would be upgraded.....it never was. Very basic, not clean around fridge, on floor and on the old furniture. Staff gathered in groups and leared at breakfast and when trying to get wifi, breakfast sub-standard. No dining room, breakfast eaten beside toilets in a corridor! I was glad to leave.
Positives - clean sheets, hot water. Cheap (although not though tour company) Certainly much better hotels in the area for the money.

Room Tip: Away from elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripitakaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    21
    27
    18
    13
See reviews for
15
28
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vienna
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

i arrived in india for the first time 3/3/12, had only booked a taxi for 2 weeks for driving me around rajasthan. hotel was selected by my driver. as i have not been to delhi before i assumed it was a good choice, after now more then two weks in india i know that you can get better hotels for better price (if you book on your own you do not have to pay the commisiion for the driver)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vienna1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelWalnutCastle, Owner at Hotel Walnut Castle, responded to this review, 26 February 2015
Please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointment at your recent stay at our Hotel.

I am extremely concerned to read your comments with regard to your overall experience at the hotel

It is always our highest priority to us to ensure that our guests and customers leave the hotel happy and satisfied at all times.

I would greatly appreciate to allow us for opportunity to speak with you personally.

I do sincerely apologize for any inconvenience and disappointment caused and look forward to hearing from you.

We are totally renovated and with new amenities with totally educated staff.

Also you are please requested to remove the bad review and give us a one chance again to improve us.

Deepak Jain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed here for one night in mid february and that was one night too many. We were in India for 3 weeks and stayed in a variety of hotels/homestays and this was the only place where I felt reluctant to sleep in the bed - Luckily I had a sleeping bag liner to use. The sheet was very dirty and badly stained, it looked like it had not been changed and the room was also not very clean - breakfast was very disappointing. Perhaps it was acceptable for a very cheap budget hotel - however the hotel was booked for us and we were possibly misled into thinking this was a mid-range hotel, which it clearly is not. On a positive note the staff were very helpful and were quick to respond to our request for clean sheets.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RMG52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swakopmund, Erongo, Namibia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

the hotel is very well stuated in a quiet residential area of Karola Bagh, very close to the metro, and the lively street evening market. the lounge area is cosy, with TV,providing a warm homely atmosphere, with 2 dining tables right there. Breakfast was only adequate but the dinner menu was short but very good and very reasonably priced. My main criticism was the tiny geyser,only enough hot water for one very quick shower. Otherwise the room was quite small but comfortable. While we were there Kingfisher airline cancelled many flights and as we were to fly the next day we were worried about our flight. the staff were exceptionally helpful and made many phone calls to check n the status of our flight. I would recommend this hotel as a good, standard hotel with not too many frills.

Room Tip: Our room was very near the front entrance and was a little noisy when guests arrived or departed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

prompt services with extra efforts to serve clients,good food , neat and clean rooms and washrooms and also very near to karol bagh metro station.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms on 02nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Manish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

- clean rooms
- close to metro
- very good wifi connection
- uninspiring neighborhood
- average breakfast

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jprzada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varanasi, India
Level Contributor
149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

this is a hotel where u can expect good hospitality, a little away from the noisy streets but yet near for street shopping people.
good rooms, clean bathrooms, and helpful staff.
memorable place in the vicinity of karol bagh.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faisaldaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
#67 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Wood Castle
#13 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Biden Pura
Hotel Metro View
Hotel Metro View
#155 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sohi Residency
#248 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Hotel SPB 87
#506 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Biden Pura
Hotel Singh Sahib
Hotel Singh Sahib
#186 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Walnut Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Walnut Castle

Property: Hotel Walnut Castle
Address: 18 / 10 Pusa Road | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Biden Pura
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #526 of 706 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Walnut Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the prime business and shopping district of Karol Bagh in the New Delhi National Capital Region and is a 15 minute drive from Delhi International Airport. The hotel is also within easy reach from the Cannaught Place, major sightseeing destinations and most of the entertainment, shopping and recreation hubs in Delhi city. Serene surroundings. Luxurious rooms. And legendary service. A stay at Walnut Castle Hotel promises all of these benefits and more. The next time you visit, you could leave with something even more memorable - an WC Experience. So as you make your reservation with us, give our menu of experiences a close look. With personalised options for each destination, you could well have an WC Experience that stays with you long after your holiday ends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Walnut Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing