We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booking process dreadful, actual hotel was great”
Review of Eros Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eros Hotel
Ranked #43 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Booking process dreadful, actual hotel was great”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Firstly, the bad stuff.

Since the Eros was recently acquired by the Hilton group from the Intercontinental, some cross contamination of website links and phone numbers has occurred. Don't think that phoning the number on their website will get you to the Hilton, it will redirect you to the central booking office for Intercontinental. This caused me huge problems, and many misunderstandings. It was only after finding the landline for the Hilton in Delhi and calling the front desk to put me through to reservations that finally got me to the person who could go through the booking process.

They will tell you they'll send an email with confirmation, but this just doesn't ever happen. I rang twice to ask for this email and it never arrived, and yes I did check that they had it correct. I headed to Delhi (from Sydney) hoping for the best.

Business Centre: be careful if you send anything by email for printing. It may get lost or the person you sent it to disappears without telling anyone what they've done with your stuff. You could spend 20 mins trying to find out what happened and hopefully for you you're not waiting to catch a flight that morning.

And the good stuff:

Breakfast, breakfast and more wonderful breakfast choices. I've never seen a display quite like it. Full bank of Indian foods, traditional egg, bacon etc, on the other side of display, Japanese breakfast, lots of different muesli and fruits, mini danish pastries, fruit laden tables, about 12 different teas, lovely lovely lovely.

Beds: Really comfortable, soft yet supportive. Perfect, thank you Hilton for making this a priority.

Service: Excellent, cannot be faulted.

Decor: traditional and a little worn, but I quite like that old styling. Please, please don't get rid of the lovely old panelled lifts.

All in all, a really great place to stay in Delhi and I'd recommend it without reservation ('scuse the pun).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eros_Nehru_Place, General Manager at Eros Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Shumi,

Thank you for reviewing Eros Managed by Hilton, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality.

We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience you experienced during your booking process. We are looking into our website, as well as third party websites to ensure that our reservations contact details and links are correct. However, we are also aware that some third party websites may not have updated our details yet. Please let us know the website you accessed and we will have this rectified immediately.

As for the Business Centre, my team are reviewing and taking the necessary steps to improve their processes.

Despite these concerns, your recommendation of our hotel is truly appreciated.

Thanks again and should you be planning your future stays with us, you may call us directly on +91-11-4122 3344 or through our email Delnp_res@hilton.com. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Julian Ayers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    373
    118
    29
    47
See reviews for
159
152
61
506
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I have stayed at the Eros hotel for over 10 years when it was under the InterContinental Brand, but decided to wait for favourable reviews before returning under the Hilton Brand. In the meantime I stayed at the Shangri-La which I really did not like. When returning to the Eros Feb 10-15th 2012, I was surprised that not much had changed, some different detail in the guest rooms, but otherwise it was nice to be back to my home from home in New Delhi. One of the managers remembered me and greeted me by name and even some of the housekeeping and room service staff remembered me. There were a few tiny hiccups, but they were promptly corrected and I had one of the nicest stays in years. I shall definitely not be returning to the Shangri-La and hope that under Hilton management, the Eros will get better and better.

Room Tip: In wedding season (Dec to Feb) avoid the lower floors and ask for a pool view room, much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_Nial67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eros_Nehru_Place, General Manager at Eros Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear cwmfelin,

Thank you for your kind review of Eros Managed by Hilton, we are most delighted that you returned to your "home away from home"!

It is very much a pleasure to know that you are a familiar face to some members of my team and that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality after a brief hiatus from the hotel. As always, we are committed to ensuring the comfort and well-being of all our guests.

Once again, we are delighted that you have returned to our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
Julian Ayers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed at the Eros Hotel Feb 5th -8th and this will have been our 6th time staying there. We are from the US and are not used to the first rate service you get here. The decor, rooms, fitness room, and restaurants are top notch in every way. But it is the service and friendliness of the people working there that are the true reason we keep coming back. It is almost like coming back to family each time we return. We plan on coming back again in May....

Room Tip: A room facing the side of the pool and Lotus Temple is nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthluvindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eros_Nehru_Place, General Manager at Eros Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Dear Ruthluvindia,

It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed all your stays and our hospitality each time you stayed with us.

Thank you for your compliments to the hotel and especially our service. Indeed, I am very proud of my team, who all work very hard to uphold high service standards for our guests.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back on your return in May.

Yours sincerely,
Julian Ayers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We recently stayed here for 3 nights and the hotel and location are excellent. The service is excellent as well. Had issues with Wifi connections but this was quickly resolved with one phone call.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arvin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eros_Nehru_Place, General Manager at Eros Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Arvin N,

Thank you for reviewing Eros Managed by Hilton, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality.

We hope you will visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Julian Ayers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Stayed at this place for 3 nights for a convention. The location is awesome and very close to other attractions in South Delhi. However, the access is quite difficult. But then there isn't anything easier in Delhi anyway! The food at the Blooms cafe was excellent. The daily breakfast is the best you can find anywhere. The staff is outstanding and the service very personalized and impeccable. The rooms, though, leave a lot to be desired. The heating wasn't very effective and the AC vents made a constant noise all night. The decor is very average and old. The beds were very comfortable, so no complaints there. The housekeeping staff were superb.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desimd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eros_Nehru_Place, General Manager at Eros Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear desimd,

We are delighted that you had a comfortable stay with us.

We truly appreciate your kind feedback on Blooms and the daily breakfast, as well as the comfort level of our beds. My team are addressing your comments regarding the air conditioning vents and will take steps to rectify them.

Thank you for reviewing us and especially for your compliments to the team and their service. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to New Delhi.

Yours sincerely,
Julian Ayers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiruchirappalli
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Switched to this hotel at the last minute going largely by the Managed by Hilton tag and was pleasantly surprised. Decor probably dates back to the star hotels of old but is well maintained and charming in a quaint way. A lot of old woodwork in the spacious room which had a separate dressing area and a very modern bathroom made the place quite homely. A great buffet spread both for breakfast and for dinner at the lobby restaurant with fairly enthusiastic staff which was a welcome change from the leisurely laid back demeanor of the staff at the reception and at the bell desk. Certainly a good choice for the business traveller looking for peace and quiet and a comfortable clean bed at the end of the day. Found a complimentary bottle of wine in the room on my return in the evening, apparently to make up for a slight delay in check in early in the morning on account of reservation information that the night clerk had apparently failed to enter into the computer. A thoughtful gesture considering that I had indicated that I was a teetotaller while interacting with the receptionist during check-in.
Took delight in returning the bottle back to the same lady while checking out. Full points to the staff for effort though. Would definitely consider returning to this hotel especially since it is conveniently located.

Room Tip: Found that I had been given a room upgrade to make up for the slight delay in check in. Great view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AVGeorgeIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eros_Nehru_Place, General Manager at Eros Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear AvGIndia,

It is a pleasure to know that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us.

Thank you for your kind feedback on our hotel, which provides good insight on what is important to business travellers such as yourself - the service, comfort level, food offering and overall hotel ambiance. We are certainly delighted that you were happy to have chosen to stay with us.

We thank you also for your compliments to the team and hope to welcome you back on your next trip to New Delhi.

Yours sincerely,
Julian Ayers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Eros Hotel was a nice hotel and centrally located if you wanted to stay in a the mid of the city close to all parts of NCR, but the interiors have not been renovated since long. Once you will stay there you will feel sad about the very old doors and especially the bathroom. No modern gadgets inside the room except the LED TV and a small DVD player (which is not so common white good in a hotel room). And most disgusting is the bed which moves as you move inside the hotel . It was winter and i felt the AC was switched off mid night,it was so suffocating in the mid night that you cant sleep.

Food is good part of the hotel,well made and well presented though service is not very good but food is really made with care.
Funniest is the entry ,always a huge queue at the lobby proche, you are always behind 10 cars minimum.Entry to the room is funny and in the corners also .Pub in the hotel is a big plus,it is nice.

Room Tip: You dont have a much choice as far as the rooms are concerned,select a higher floor since the surrou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pakul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eros_Nehru_Place, General Manager at Eros Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Pakul,

Thank you for reviewing Eros Managed by Hilton, we sincerely apologise for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay.

Rest assured my team is doing their best to address the service and product issues you have highlighted in your valuable feedback. At the same time, we are very pleased that you found our pub and food quality and presentation satisfactory.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Julian Ayers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
2.4 km away
The Suryaa New Delhi
The Suryaa New Delhi
#26 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
4.1 km away
Sheraton New Delhi
Sheraton New Delhi
#24 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
9.3 km away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#20 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,640 reviews
9.9 km away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
6.6 km away
Hyatt Regency Delhi
Hyatt Regency Delhi
#36 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eros Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eros Hotel

Property: Eros Hotel
Address: American Plaza, New Delhi 110019, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#30 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#40 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#43 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Eros Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eros Hotel New Delhi Nehru Place is perfectly placed for both the business and leisure traveler, with a prime location at the center of the city's business and commercial districts. With over 100 international business houses located in the immediate vicinity, we offer our corporate guests the convenience of having most of your business needs at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eros Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental New Delhi
Hotel Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel New Delhi
New Delhi Intercontinental
Nehru Place Intercontinental
InterContinental Nehru Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing