We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for a short stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ashok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ashok
Ranked #167 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Ok for a short stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

Stayed here at beginning and end of our India Trip. First room was not renovated but clean, small double bed. Second room was renovated, much more comfortable.
Food was ok in the buffet but not kept very warm.
Staff at reception seemed overwhelmed. Did not try pool.
So ok for a night or two.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaudiLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    186
    125
    81
    77
See reviews for
65
71
50
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Novato, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

We went to dinner at the non-veg restaurant here. It was not cheap but the food was inedible. The staff made no effort to try to get us something more to our liking. To top it off, it made me sick.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snovato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Jabalpur, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

It is a very well located property in Delhi's Chanakyapuri area.A big hotel with good architecture.
The rooms are dirty.The bathrooms are dirty needs renovation.The service is bad.Too many persons not interested in doing their jobs.Over all experience is bad. For the price you feel cheated.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOPALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
195 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

We stayed here for one night to go to a friend’s wedding reception, which was taking place at the hotel. A grand entrance, professional staff and the obligatory (but seemingly pointless) security scanner.

Given a room on the 5th floor at the front of the hotel. Great view but (much later) discovered the back would have been better.

A very decent sized double bed (with full double mattress) was comfortable and good lounging/working area too (free wi-fi).

Bathroom had a great shower, but there was no hot water when we arrived (clearly we were cursed, see Mantra Amaltas review where we had been staying), but was fixed quite quickly.

So, all was now good, but it was a Saturday and Delhi was out to play! The car park, the horns, the taxi tannoy and the club music all filtered into the room and then loud talking from the housekeeping office opposite our room woke us early. If we’d had earplugs we’d probably have been okay, but we didn’t. Sadly it was a bad night’s sleep.

On a side note, keen clubbers would be well advised to pop into the F Bar & Lounge that is part of the hotel and one of Delhi’s top clubbing spots. As a guest you can get in for free. Great atmosphere!

The next morning we had a good breakfast at the café bar overlooking the swimming pool.

Check-in and Check-out staff seemed a little self-important, but taxis are on hand at the hotel once you have checked out and you are on the correct side of town to make it to the airport quite easily, where you can then experience showing your passport to at least ten different people to leave the country!

Recommended, if you get a room at the back of the hotel, away from the housekeeping office and go as high as possible to escape the noise!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrHandBaggageOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

I've been in thiw hotel twice in my life and I will not go back ever again.
The room have dirty carpets.
The worse is the toilet, with rusty mirrors and brown water that comes out from the baths faucet.
Once I found a coa
The hotel is smelly and humid.
Service and reception are very slow and lazy. I once tried to speak with the general manager but my request was denied by an arrogant person on a desk in front of the reception.
Absolutely not worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PierbrunoProfili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

It's been a very good experience visiting hotel ashoka.....i stayed there for two days.....what i most like is it's location ...very near to IGI airport and its proximity to gurgaon and noida. Service was good...great view from hotel room windows....small shops for foreigners.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaghavGoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Ashok Hotel is one of the best place to stay in delhi... A great infrastructure with nice architecture .....The food qulaity is awsome with great variety of dishes,...The room service is supuerb... Like the ambience in the hotel an great friendly

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravinder82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Samrat
Hotel Samrat
#446 of 708 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#270 of 708 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
4.9 km away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#47 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
3.2 km away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#18 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,552 reviews
3.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Delhi
Hyatt Regency Delhi
#38 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashok

Property: The Ashok
Address: 50 - B Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110002, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#61 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ashok 5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing downtown hotel with distinctive royal feel completed with arches & turrets, situated in the Diplomatic Enclave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ashok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashok Hotel New Delhi
Ashok New Delhi
Hotel Ashok New Delhi
The Ashok Hotel
Ashok Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing