We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“take everything as an experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ajanta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ajanta
Ranked #58 of 704 Hotels in New Delhi
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“take everything as an experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

This is a very decent place with friendly front desk staff. Food in the attached restaurant is also decent. Yes, it is on a noisy but relatively small street. But it's Delhi; you can't expect to get away from noise. Our room was on the ground level facing the back street. Through our window in the bathroom, we could hear all kinds of noises from street sweeping to dog fight to men hawking up (okay, that is when we shut the bathroom door!). But we just took it as one of the Delhi experiences. One caution is the use of the travel desk. If you don't know the questions to ask, you might feel a bit ripped off at the end. We asked for a cost to hire a driver for a half day. To make a long story short, we settled on a 6-hour ride for 800 Rs for two of us. A good deal, we thought. The next day, what showed up was a typical auto-rickshaw. Because he kept calling it auto, we pictured an enclosed automobile! The next day, we hired an automobile driver to take us to Taj Mahal. The trip included couple of Hindu temples; however, the hotel didn't tell us that our driver would go ahead and 'arrange' guides for us for additional money. Make sure to ask them what's included in the quote (a guide at TM was included and we liked having one) and tell them that you want to know about guides at other stopping points before a driver makes arrangements.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sushirama23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel Ajanta. We take all feedback very positively as this helps us improve our services. All points have been forwarded to the concerned persons and we will ensure prompt action is taken wherever necessary.
We hope you visit us again and give us a chance to better your stay experience.
Warm Regards
Team at Hotel Ajanta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    637
    304
    129
    152
See reviews for
285
455
299
359
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Hotel is at walking distance from the train and subway stations. Room was ok but is was VERY noisy at night. Had to wear earplugs! Staff was very friendly

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leyda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel Ajanta and taking time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to know we were able to meet your expectations. The comment about the room has been noted and necessary steps will be soon taken towards to keep them soundproof.
We look forward to hosting you again during your next trip to Delhi and assure you of an even better stay.
Regards
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and then had to move to another hotel because I really could not stand this one. The shower in our room has nothing to isolate itself from the rest of the bathroom, not even a curtain, so everytime we had shower, the floor got very wet, the bathroom did not even have proper tiles. And the water temepature at the shower was only warm, not hot enough for bathing. On the bed there was only a carpet, no quilt. In this season, even in India, these conditions could easily lead to getting cold, which my wife did.

We followed one of the suggestions from a review which says guests should try to get a room with window which we did. But only found we were awaken during 5-6am in the early morning by the noise outside. We asked our friend who was also staying in the hotel but in a room without window. He said the noise level was OK, but the room was quite suffocated without good ventilation.

In terms of food, the restaurant at the hotel offer a big range of cuisine from international, Thai to Indian food. Our experience was Indian food was OK, but do NOT try their international offering. I had the worst ever pizza and sandwishes at this restaurant. Also the hygiene is problematic there, the same table cloth is used again and again, if the surface is too dirty, they just flip it over for the next group of guests, then flip again...

All in all, I will definitely not stay at this hotel for future trips to India though its rate is relatively competitive. People can pay a little more but stay at a much nicer hotel than this one. Another boutique hotel I moved in after this hotel actually was quite nice, room rate was 1000 rupees more than Ajanta hotel.

Oh, BTW, they tend to charge the full amount when you check in, which they claimed to be the common policy for Indian hotels, but the other hotel I moved in afterwards did not charge a cent until I checked out on the last day.

Room Tip: room with window or without window, doesn't really matter as they are both bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardMeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Guest,

We have e-mailed you twice on your personal e-mail ID to further inquire about your complaint.
However, having received no reply we have decided to refund half your room rent.

Please be assured that we take all complaints very seriously and will do everything to make amends.

Our regards

The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Stayed there in late December....After repeated request before arrival for the superior room. Room not ready upon arrival...was told to wait 2 hrs but ended up waiting for 10+ hrs. Paid for superior room but got some other cheesy room. Even though breakfast was complimentary with the superior room....the staff tried to charge us for everyday that we were there. They wanted to charge a full day taxi rate 1500 for a drop off that was 15 minutes away.......later agreed to do it for only 400 rupees. Some misc charges on the bill on the last day that you leave and they just want to give you the total amount. They get surprised when you ask for receipt. I would NEVER stay here again. This hotel will try to steal money out of you any way they can specially if you are a foreigner.

Room Tip: Even though you might have paid for a better room....they will try and put you in a cheesy room. As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

This hotel is located in a very busy, noisy area of Delhi but despite this we had a mostly enjoyable stay. The staff are friendly and not too in-your-face and the room was spacious and clean. It was however a very noisy room as the windows didn't quite close properly & there seemed to be a big hole in the wall which was just boarded up. There was a wedding in the courtyard next door on one of the nights we were there which was very loud until about 2am - this wouldn't have affected us so much if the room had been sealed properly.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We are extremely grateful to you for sharing the positive review here. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. The suggestion is highly appreciated as we always believe that we could always benefit from the valuable comments from our guests. We would be happy to rectify the issue at the earliest and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused. We look forward to serve you even better during your future visits to the city.

Warm regards
Team at Hotel Ajanta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Ajanta Hotel had the basic amenities. The mini bar had cheap food which was great for budget travelers like us. They have two restaurants, one in the ground floor and a new one on the roof top which was pleasant.

However, they don't clean the rooms. Outside was also crazy.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monique730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent stay with us and sharing the feedback. The positive comments are appreciated. We always offer our best services for the satisfaction of our guests and ensure that complaints are dealt with promptly. We apologize for the highlighted complaint regarding rooms. We would have happily assisted, had the complaint regarding the unclean room brought to our notice.
Please give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves on your next visit to the city.
Warm regards
Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN, USA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We booked Hotel Ajanta before leaving the states. I'm sure it's possible to have a similar experience to ours for less money, but we were pleased with the helpful staff, airport pick-up (included in "superior" room rate), good food, safe feeling, travel and tour plans to Agra. We had no trouble with our booking, but we did check often with them before we came when we saw reviews with comments about having trouble there. Staff was especially helpful checking and solving a domestic air travel problem we experienced. The hotel is rather basic by western standards but quite acceptable to us.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs. Paharganj is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanceEnthusiasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing the review following your recent stay with us. The kind comments regarding our staff have been passed to the team and are received with great pleasure.
Hotel Ajanta is a commendable budget option with a key location in the capital city. We always plan the tariffs and amenities keeping in view the very needs of a budget traveler. In this respect and all the praiseworthy aspects that you have also noted, we can proudly confirm that we have hardly any competent.
We look forward to welcoming you back with us to enjoy an even more enjoyable stay.
Warm regards
Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#44 of 704 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#39 of 704 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
#72 of 704 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Shelton
Hotel Shelton
#81 of 704 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ajanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajanta

Property: Hotel Ajanta
Address: 36 Arakshan Road | behind New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110055, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#41 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ajanta 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ajanta is a colonial fully renovated hotel with all modern facilities, the minibar, LCD TVs, ACs, coffee / tea makers, 24 hour room service, safety lockers, etc. Airport transfers, taxi and tour services are also available. We are very centrally located near the railway and metro stations and also close to Connaught Place, Jama Masjid, museums and shopping centers. Our in-house bakery and restaurant offers a variety of cuisines for all tastes. Ours is a family run hotel specially preferred by families and single women who find it safe and welcoming. We are proud to say that word of mouth has made us a recipient of so many prestigious awards and the first choice (in the Luxury Budget category) for guests coming to Delhi. We feel privileged to welcome our guests to The Ajanta Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ajanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajanta Hotel New Delhi
Ajanta Hotel Delhi
Ajanta Hotels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing