We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value For Money”
Review of Hotel Ajanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ajanta
Ranked #61 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed in this hotel, in late feb. Our flight was early in the morning, and the promised shared Air port pickup was waiting for us at airport on time.

Even at the early hour, check took less than 10 min. We got a room in the second floor. The room was decent for the amount we are paying, i guess its Value for money. It was almost like the pictured except for a little wear and tear.

Our room did not have any windows, so there was no out side noise, but due to some construction going on in the same floor, there was plenty of noise. We could hear hammering and cleaning going on.

Taxi from the hotel is very expensive, considering that we are 1st time travelers in delhi, we took their taxi services as we did not want to bargain with unknown vendors.

We stayed for only for 10 hours, so cannot commend on the room service. Over all i would rate it 2.5 out of 5. But its a good value for money hotel especially with the airport pickup. Would recommend it to anyone visiting delhi for a day or a short stop over as long as there you get a room in a floor they are not renovating and cleaning.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank jilfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear Guest

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Ajanta Hotel. Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share the great compliments. We regret the inconvenience caused due to the ongoing renovation at the time of your stay and express our heartfelt apologies for the same. But we can assure you that we will be welcoming you back with us to even better facilities.
Once again, we express our appreciation for the kind comments. We look forward to meet you again.

Regards
The Hotel Ajanta Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,878)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,131 - 1,137 of 1,878 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

Enjoyed our stay at this nice hotel. Room was spacious and clean. Bathroom was modern with hot water and good pressure. The restaurant has an excellent (relatively slightly pricey) breakfast buffet. The area (like perhaps all in Delhi) is quite noisy. Earplugs recommended if you want to sleep in past 6am with the horns and traffic noise.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and for your very complimentary review.
Just for information our breakfast buffet actually brunch is Rs. 275.
Looking forward to your next visit.
Regards
The Hotel Ajanta Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This was my first stay. To my surprise the room was too small and doesn't have LCD , ventilation,window and wardrobe.i will never reccomend the room at 1900 price. Althogh the service was satisfactory.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vinodbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We booked a 16 day, chauffeur driven trip in an AC car, at the Ajanta from 23rd November to 8th Dec 2011. Dinesh Singh at the hotel made all the arrangements. It was a little more expensive than another quote we got from an agent at Connaught Place, but we knew Dinesh, so we knew that we would not get ripped off ! We could have done the trip cheaper by train, but it would not have been so extensive and would have taken much longer. Our driver was Tarpa - really friendly, nice man, always on time, good driver. He knew the way to everywhere - short cuts when city traffic was bad, all the attractions, ATM's, shops and our nightly hotel. All hotels were pre-booked ON a bnb basis and all were fine ( some were really luxurious ! ). I have no hesitation in recommending Dinesh and Tarpa for a trip of a lifetime !

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nbichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank You for your recent stay at Hotel Ajanta and sharing your feedback with us. We always get benefited from guests’ appraisal. Knowing that our guests had a memorable stay with us boosts our services and hospitality.
We are really glad to know that you had such a great time and our team made your trip wonderful. The team at Hotel Ajanta always strives to give an eventful experience to the guests.
We look forward to treat and greet you at Hotel Ajanta again.
Regards,
Team at Hotel Ajanta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The hotel was overbooked, because a group stayed longer. We were offered a deluxe room in the Sweet Home hotel acros the road, which is from the same owner. These rooms were brand new and very good. The restaurant is ok but not very special. The roof terrace is very basic, but has a good view over the city.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siem H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay at Ajanta Hotel. Your feedback is quite encouraging to the team and is received with utmost gratitude.
Our staff always desires to leave the guests on a very happy and satisfied note, and it feels great to know that our efforts and services are appreciated.
We look forward for the pleasure to serve you on your next visit to Delhi.
Regards
Team at Hotel Ajanta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This is a nice place with friendly and helpful front desk staff. It is on a noisy but relatively small street - we were in a room on the back and the noise wan not too bad.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGDG297672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Ajanta for your recent stay. The team is extremely grateful for the encouraging comments. We appreciate the time spared to share the kind review. We look forward for the pleasure of welcoming you back with us.

Warm regards
Team at Hotel Ajanta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed or total 4 nights /2 +2/ .I booked the presidential suite for all the nights incl the so called Free airport pick up ,which is not exactly free since you pay 140 Rp for the parking. Anyway it is quite appreciated . The presidential suite is huge with 2 big beds.It has access to a terrace. The suite though is quite outdated ,needs to be refurbished which i think they will do since there were already some renovation works going around.
The hotel is in a very vibrant and dynamic area , but if you want to experience real india i think this is still one of the best option for a budget hotel.
The first impression is quite good ,clean lobby nice hallways,friendly staff.
The restaurant is nice we ate there for breakfast and had a couple of dinners and it was delicious and thanks got we did not get any stomach problems.
on our second night they asked us to move to a smaller suite since there were four people coming to the hotel that wanted to stay in one room and after seeing the other room and discussing it a bit we agreed ,and got 500 rp back since we were moved to a lower price and category room. Then we went for a night to Varanasi.We left our luggage at the hotel which was nice,cost 10rp per bag ,but be careful because they did not give us any receipt although i insisted.They said its ok ,and it was at the end although the guy that gave us the backs once we returned asked of proof that we were getting ours but not others bags!"!!
And after we returned from varanasi the problems begun.Apparently,as expected,the presidential suite was booked and they tried to put us in a normal suite without even mentioning the mistake and trying to cheat us when i asked about how many presidential suites they have etc. Not only that but when i started talking about that they did not offer reimbursement of the price difference or whatsoever to smoothen things out. They were lying to us big time promissing that they will resolve the situation but nothing really happened.
Mistakes happen ,fair enough, but they should show some more appreciation of the tourists and treat them honestly.
I know its a three star hotel so i do not expect 5 star service but i was quite disappointed because i had to follow the staff every single minute in order to get things done in a fair way.
There is way too much staff at the hotel but very few of them do real job,efficiency is an issue.They do not clean the rooms properly ,do not provide enough towels and paper when they clean but wait for the guest to be in the room in order to get a tip for something they should not get a cent.
So after spending way too much time following the staff we were promissed at least a late check-out. Sounds ok but hadn`t i spoken to them thousand o times we would have left empty handed ,and paying for a presidential suite but being in a normal suite. So on our last night they promissed they will let us stay in the room until 6 pm on the following day for free-appreciated.
Guess what! i get up on the next morning and i see a note that we should leave the room before 12pm. I could not believe my eyes.These people were amazing at saying one thing but doing the exact opposite.i went to the reception and after another serious discussion with the 20th person from reception we got confirmation they we can have the late check-out.
The staff is actually quite unprofessional and unfair.it is amazing how they try to lye and cheat their customers.
That is why i decided to talk to the manager which i did try to do many times before but he was never there or so i was told.
I spoke to him and it was a big relief to see that at least someone cares about the guests. I told him everything and he even arranged a free airport drop off .
So in a few words the hotel is decent ,they have some quite nice rooms,the location is interesting .
The BIG problem for us though was the staff. If you have any problem you might have to talk to them big time ,all the time in order to get things done.
Some additional info
The hotel provides airport drop off for 600rp but you can negotiate a price with external taxis for hal that price.
Make sure you visit hammayuns tomb, The red fort is interesting as well . Make sure you haggle the price with a taxi driver or autorickshaw and dont get fooled around and taken to do some shopping. Touts are amazing at being a persistent and dont get no for an answer until you say it in a firm,really Firm way. So do not be very polite they do not get it ,tell them to leave you alone when you do not want to be bothered. Do not be tricked by some "nice" people that get you to a shop or travel agency its is a scam to rip you off.
If you want to go to taj mahal by train try to get your tickets as early as possible.
India is quite an assault on the senses.It is dirty filthy and the people have a completely different mentality that what i expected. But yes it is an incredible country as long as you can cope with most o the things it throws at you, and yes i will go there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a renovated suite.it is really good- better than the presidential suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YankoS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at the Ajanta Hotel.
Please allow me to respond to your detailed review.
Our airport pick up service costs Rs 650 + Rs 140 for car parking while we wait. Sometimes the flights get delayed and this car parking fees doubles.
We do not charge the Rs 650 for the drive but charge Rs 140 for car parking. For a hotel with budget prices, this is the best we can do. This facility is available anytime of the day and night.
Most guests appreciate being picked up by our hotel cars when they arrive jet lagged wee hours.
Glad you liked our Presidential Suite and yes we redo our rooms periodically.
Thank you also for appreciating our vibrant and dynamic hotel location and appreciating Ajanta as the right choice.
Your praise about our restaurant and food is most welcome.
The baggage becomes a security issue and the government authorities are very strict when they check hotels in Delhi.
We charge only Rs 10 per bag, but are very particular about other formalities this involves.
We request you to please cooperate on this assuring you that this helps make our city safer for everyone.
The late checkout was definitely a mix up and we thoroughly apologise. This was not intentional at all.
As you experienced with the general Manager. We all care about the welfare of our guests and take it very seriously when guests are less than satisfied.
Yes we provide a drop off for Rs 600 and I am certain you cannot get a cheaper rate is an equivalent car.
Having gone over your detailed review and answering it point wise.
I could explain things better.
Thank you for your time and patience.
Our Best Regards
The Hotel Ajanta Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#51 of 715 in New Delhi
1,127 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#55 of 715 in New Delhi
1,717 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#24 of 715 in New Delhi
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wood Castle
#15 of 715 in New Delhi
1,135 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
#66 of 715 in New Delhi
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ajanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajanta

Address: 36 Arakshan Road | behind New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110055, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#41 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $31 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ajanta 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ajanta is a colonial fully renovated hotel with all modern facilities, the minibar, LCD TVs, ACs, coffee / tea makers, 24 hour room service, safety lockers, etc. Airport transfers, taxi and tour services are also available. We are very centrally located near the railway and metro stations and also close to Connaught Place, Jama Masjid, museums and shopping centers. Our in-house bakery and restaurant offers a variety of cuisines for all tastes. Ours is a family run hotel specially preferred by families and single women who find it safe and welcoming. We are proud to say that word of mouth has made us a recipient of so many prestigious awards and the first choice (in the Luxury Budget category) for guests coming to Delhi. We feel privileged to welcome our guests to The Ajanta Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ajanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajanta Hotel New Delhi
Ajanta Hotel Delhi
Ajanta Hotels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing