We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean affordable friendly.”
Review of Hotel Ajanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ajanta
Ranked #58 of 736 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed 2 nights after a long flight.we where picked up at 1am and taken to hotel free of charge. Staff very nice room nice location great central. Enjoyed it very much. My boys even went back on the way through for a couple of nights .

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jinther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Hotel Ajanta.

We are pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated by the members of our team.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

Warm regards,
Team at Hotel Ajanta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,936)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,152 - 1,158 of 1,936 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

Hotel Ajanta is a good Hotel with nice rooms and the pick up arrangement from Airport is very helpful. However, the service is very very poor. The whole staff is well mannered.But that's about it. I reached 11.30 pm at night and was very tired. Wanted to have a quick dinner and go to sleep.I received cold food from the room service.When i asked to change change the order and get hot food, the waiter was kind of forcing me to eat the same food.Only after complaining to the front desk, the food was changed.When i ordered 2 cups of tea the next two mornings, i got 4 cups and charged too.No one bothers to improve the service. They will just listen to your complain and say "yes sir".Thats it. To make up, they informed me that I will be upgraded to a superior room free of cost and kept waiting for an hour at 3pm in the afternoon when actually I wanted to rest. After 3-4 calls to the front desk, i was eventually taken to a roof top room which was a bad single bed standard room. So i insisted to stay back in my previous deluxe room. Their focus is to only serve foreigners.I had booked for 3 nights but checked out a day earlier. Will never advise anyone to stay there.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are good.Dont order food to the room.Better eat outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ajit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review. We are grateful for your note complimenting the services and facilities of our hotel. However we regret that you had to face inconveniences, contrary to our aim.

The comments are noted and taken into regard as we believe that we stand to benefit from them. Please give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves on your next visit.

Looking forward to serve you with better services.
Warm regards,
Team at Hotel Ajanta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Hotel Ajanta is good & economical. The people out there have been quite helpful. However, we were not communicated about their rule of submitting a photo id proof. We landed at 11 pm at the Delhi airport and Hotel Ajanta kept to its promise of keeping the car ready for a free pick up. Ofcourse, the parking charges of INR 140/- was to be paid by us. We reached the Hotel around 12 am and the staff was good enough to greet us. We had a slight issue as we were not informed about a photo id and a residence proof which needs to be submitted before we check in. Despite trying to convince the Hotel staff that we have come from Mumbai and have not carried any proof with us, they were adamant as that has been a rule. Our concern was that atleast we should have been communicated well in advance so that we could carry the necessary proofs. Since the hotel stay booking had already been done by us, they showed us 2 rooms which was a Standard room for two and this Standard room was pretty decent and clean. The other room was a Delux room which can accommodate 3 people by putting an extra bed. We were not too convinced with the Delux room as putting an extra bed, would leave the room with no space. We were then showed a suite which can easily accommodate 3 people but we were also told that for the same we will have to incur an extra cost as they are providing us with a suite. However, after speaking to them, they were very helpful and courteous to charge nothing extra. We used the room service to order our food and the food was pretty average. Next day, the travel desk helped us with the car booking for site seeing in Delhi and this had been an excellent tour. We requested the Hotel staff that we would check out in the evening as we had a late night train to Haridwar. They agreed our stay till 10 pm at a very marginal rise in pricing. They also arranged our drop to the Railway Station without any hassle.

To sum up the stay: Hotel Ajanta is good. The staff and the management are understanding and will always welcome you with a sweet smile. They have always gone out of the way for a support as and when required. Food is pretty average. They have an Internet zone, an open view terrace, mini refrigerator in the rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhimple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you choosing Hotel Ajanta for your stay and sharing the wonderful feedback with us. The comments offer great support and recognition to the passionate efforts of our staff and are received with gratitude.

It is a delight to note that you had a pleasant stay with us and particularly enjoyed the sightseeing tour arranged by us. However, we regret the inconvenience caused on account of the ID proof. As a policy, we highlight that visitors should carry ID proof as it is made mandatory by New Delhi police while responding to inquiry and booking confirmation mails. The comment on dining is noted with due attention as the restaurant at Hotel Ajanta is praised by our customers for the wonderful presentation of delectable Indian cuisines.

We would like to have you back with us to enjoy even better services.

Regards
Team at Hotel Ajanta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

In the heart of New Delhi, if you looking for real India it is your place. One thing to consider is that could be too noisy. The other thing is that a little expensive, but I would like to stay there one more time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luda74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying at Hotel Ajanta. We are thankful for sharing the great review. As you have rightly mentioned, we own a prime location in the National Capital Territory. Though situated in the nerve centre of the city and its buzz, we have adopted measures to ensure a calm respite for our guests, once they enter the hotel. This amongst many other desirable features has made us the favorite budget accommodation in the city.

Thank you once again for the kind comments. We would love to have you back with us.
Regards
Team at Hotel Ajanta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Check in appalling - jokers!!
Recommend STA stop recommending them! 
The only good thing was the airport pickup we arranged which is offered free, you just pay the 140 rupee for parking which is about 2quid. And the driver was friendly and promt.
As for the hotel staff, they are just ridicules! We arrived late from our flight about 1 am and I believe they tried to take advantage of this. Asked us to take a seat while they get the room ready. Fine whatever as everything is a hassle, so we sat down a noticed the tour desk a spoke with him about a tour to the Taj Mahal (I hate to think we're we would have ended up if not for doing this - money signs in there eyes!) then they come to tell us they are full they want to put us in the hotel next door, we just laughed but they were serious, we agreed we would look at the room if it was the same spec as what we paid for then fine. All though we paid for air con and it didn't work in the new room so no deal we went back over to the other hotel and explained this was not good enough and they all started talking together in Indian, the guy from the tour desk seemed to have some authority and jumped in. His English was also very good. After some talking they said ok your very lucky, we didn't feel it! They upgraded the room to the suite? He was very smarmy and kept on about how lucky we were.  They tour desk guy checked again we wanted to book the tour before putting it all through so seems this was the condition. Well after a bit more hassle we got our room, it was nice but nothing to rave about and not worth the hassle! The whole floor stunk of new paint which lead to a bit of headache plus the fact we were so wound up by the whole unessasery palavor, needless to say we didn't get off to a great night sleep.
Highly recommend any one thinking of staying here doesn't bother, it's not worth it!! I would never go back or recommend we had come from such a lovely home stay in Kerala, it's really such a shame Delhi was such a let down! 

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Hotel Ajanta for your stay at Delhi. Although it is never our intention to give unpleasant experiences to our guests, we are deeply sorry that you have felt so.

Hotel Ajanta is one of the most preferred budget accommodations in Delhi and remains pre-booked throughout the year. In some cases, if guests could not turn up at the right time and fail to inform us so, we offer rooms at our sister hotel, Sweet Home. The hotel has undergone renovation only recently and hence the smell of paint that you mentioned. We apologise for the confusion and inconvenience caused.
Allow us to make up for the difficulty on your next visit. We look forward to welcome you back.
Regards
Team at Hotel Ajanta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I paid for a superior room and i had to choose between a room with a king size bed small with pretty old furnitures but with a window and a two beds bigger wooden floor but no window. Chosen the no window room, it was clean enough, no cable tv nor safe as said on booking. Definitely not as I expected, the pictures showed online are probably fake.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dallalucio42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying at Hotel Ajanta and taking your valuable time to share the feedback. The comments are taken in good spirit as we believe that customer reviews always work towards our benefit. However, we would like to emphasize that it is never our intention to leave bad impression with our guests. We apologise for the inconvenience caused and would like to amend for the same on your next visit to the city.

We look forward to welcome you back with improved services.

Regards
Team at Hotel Ajanta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I have stayed here so many times I have lost count. The hotel is superbly located. Airport Express Metro lands right next to it at New Delhi Railway station , connects to the New Delhi Metro and Railway stations for connections to all over India. Good breakfast, though slow, a quick shirt ironing by the friendly staff and I am out for the day. Food is good though a bit expensive for Delhi. A nice mini-bar. Good stay packages too. They pick you up for free if you stay for 3 days or more. My typical stay is 5-7 days. Will be back soon.

Room Tip: Choose one with a window as many rooms don't have one. I think only higher category rooms have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrinceMallu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing Hotel Ajanta for your stay. The kind comments are appreciated as they provide immense support to our passionate services. We are delighted to learn that you have found the location and the various facilities around the hotel to your satisfaction.
Once again, thank you for the great review. We look forward to welcome you back with us on your next visit.
Warm regards
Team at Hotel Ajanta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#39 of 736 in New Delhi
1,211 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#22 of 736 in New Delhi
785 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#53 of 736 in New Delhi
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
#44 of 736 in New Delhi
920 reviews
Wood Castle
#21 of 736 in New Delhi
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ajanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajanta

Address: 36 Arakshan Road | behind New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#41 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $36 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ajanta 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ajanta is a colonial fully renovated hotel with all modern facilities, the minibar, LCD TVs, ACs, coffee / tea makers, 24 hour room service, safety lockers, etc. Airport transfers, taxi and tour services are also available. We are very centrally located near the railway and metro stations and also close to Connaught Place, Jama Masjid, museums and shopping centers. Our in-house bakery and restaurant offers a variety of cuisines for all tastes. Ours is a family run hotel specially preferred by families and single women who find it safe and welcoming. We are proud to say that word of mouth has made us a recipient of so many prestigious awards and the first choice (in the Luxury Budget category) for guests coming to Delhi. We feel privileged to welcome our guests to The Ajanta Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ajanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajanta Hotel New Delhi
Ajanta Hotels
Ajanta Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing