We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A lovely slice of history” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla
Ranked #27 of 112 Hotels in Shimla
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A lovely slice of history”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at the Woodville Palace and had a thoroughly enjoyable time. As it was pre-Christmas the hotel was quite cold as they don't have heating in corridors or proper heating in the rooms. But the beds are very warm and surprisingly (for India) quite comfortable.

The heating was inadequate and only consisted of a small 2 bar heater from the 60's. It remained on 24hrs a day and would be my only criticism, they need to invest in something better.

We were shown a couple of rooms initially which didn't suit and were then moved into room 101 beside reception which was gorgeous, a large corner room with a lounge area.

Lovely staff, very friendly and some of the best and cheapest food in Shimla!!

The hotel is roughly 10-15 mins walk (and fairly level) to The Mall and so in a great location. I'd happily stay there again but perhaps in a warmer period.

Room Tip: Don't be scared to ask to see several rooms as it depends on the location within the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dobson73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    103
    51
    25
    29
See reviews for
114
93
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

We visited this place in last week of march 2010. Our travel agent at Nagpur had recommended this heritage hotel for our honeymoon trip for 4days/3nights. I personally visited the site and found it to be good.

We reached shimla lately at 7pm and directly checked in the hotel. After verification of pre-booking docs we were directed to our room at 1st floor. Rooms which we got were OK. I could say normal ordinary rooms nothing special. Somewhere it didn't gave me the feel, the value for the amount which we paid. The rooms was dimly lit(may be part of heritage look), there was a heater, washrooms were small but OK. Rooms had windows, opening the windows could hear the talks of drivers which had parked their cars below the rooms. Our privacy was disturbed by the talks of drivers so we decided to keep the windows shut. Surprising there was no balcony in room neither the windows had any view. It was very disappointing on this part at least for honeymoon couples.

Next day woke up early and walked through the hotel property. The property is not that big which we had expected but nice maintained one. I asked with the attendant for badminton
rackets but we got the reply that he didn't had the keys for stores.

The hotel has nicely contribution of artifacts of previous years. Walking though the passage one could see collection of old photographs related to princely state of jubbal. Its worth a
watch. The photographs represented the previous members of the princely state of jubbal staring at you. These were nicely hanged on the walls of passage. But at night, passing though the corridor reminded me of a horror movie. We used to avoid at nights.

The hotel was very impressive in preserving old history related to jubbal estate. One could see the photos of tigers which were killed way back in 1930's. These were shortly described and hanged on walls. There were photos of famous personalities who had visited this hotel previously. Also there is a bar named Hollywood bar but i think it is open only in evenings. Total ambiance of the bar and the property is very good. Nice chairs and tables of English styles impressed me a lot. The interior property is well maintained and kudos to hotel staff. It takes you back to memories of an old era.

We had dinner every night at the restaurant but food was OK nothing special.The restaurant is small but has good ambiance. Morning breakfast had different varieties offered to tourists.
The attendants are well dressed, polite but service is bit laid back. We heard the king used to stay at the same palace but never saw him during our stay.

This hotel is not a happening place for young couples, the hotel hardly had any amenities/facilities for tourists. No functions held at night. Simply anyone would get bored at
nights. The happening place was at mall road which is 10 min from the hotel.

Summarizing our stay the place is well maintained property and resembles of an old era. I would recommend this hotel to people whose only purpose to visit shimla is relaxation, people who wants to have aristocratic life having drinks with their old friends and having good time with them. A complete 'NO' to young couples. Kindly look for other better staying options in shimla.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sliver18th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shimla hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

Having booked this on the internet we arrived to find a rooms that as damp, sheets unclean and tiles hanging off the bathroom. We asked to be refunded (which still has not happened 2 months later) and moved hotel the staff were very helpful with the move and tried to upgrade the accomodation however the room was still not suitable for the money that they charge. A very dissappointing and lack luster hotel What a shame!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebowsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Transferred to this hotel as our original one was fully booked. Very helpful staff - provided fire and could have had 'hot bottles' if required. Restaurant chilly and not welcoming although food OK. Quite a distance from centre of Shimla but quiet area and good gardens.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maat49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Overall I think whatever shortcomings the staff or the hotel room has are more than made up for the property upon which the hotel lies. Nice and quiet with an amazing colonial feel. The hotel lobby and corridor has photographs of various Indian princes and their consorts. I didn't have the food since I was here only for one night and as for the service my assessment is that it is probably iffy. Rooms are not in the best shape and could use some investment for refurbishing them. But I would stay here in case I wanted to be here for a nice quiet holiday in Shimla away from the hustle bustle of the city.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rahul_gulati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

The building is great and has a real Raj feel to it and the gardens are nice, too. the food (buffet) was a bit disappointing.
Maybe, we were unlucky but the staff seemed a little distant (apart from constantly trying to get us to buy mineral water) and faded into the background after the initial hearty welcome, only to re-appear just as we were leaving.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nepalwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Spent Diwali night there, the saff were very friendly and made the celebrations very enjoyable doing their best to involve all the guests in the celebrations.The food was great, The palace could be best described as tired colonial and in need of internal modernisation.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Palavi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
1.0 km away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#5 of 112 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#12 of 112 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
8.1 km away
Marigold Sarovar Portico
Marigold Sarovar Portico
#16 of 112 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Shimla Havens Resort
Shimla Havens Resort
#19 of 112 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
2.2 km away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#8 of 112 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
0.4 km away
East Bourne Resort & Spa
East Bourne Resort & Spa
#23 of 112 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla

Property: WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla
Address: Raj Bhawan Road, Shimla 171002, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 112 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodville Palace houses 31 rooms, inclusive of the royal cottage and royal suite, which have been tastefully decorated into theme rooms. In the tradition of most heritage hotels, no two rooms are alike in decor and yet they offer that same high quality service and comfort to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodville Palace Shimla
Woodville Palace Hotel Shimla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing