We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heritage Stay”
Review of Hotel Springfields

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Springfields
Ranked #12 of 139 Shimla B&B and Inns
Holland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heritage Stay”
Reviewed 23 March 2010

It was our Honeymoon trip and we had booked the hotel from Mumbai and was waiting to see how the hotel is , but to our surprise it was like an ancient Heritage situated in Chotta Shimla.

The room was spacious with wooden flooring and was elegantly designed with fireplace.It was built by Mohammad Yahya Khan from Lahore.Service of the staff and the manger was good and friendly.It had all the amenities like the swimming pool,hot & cold water,STD/ISD facilty,lounge,library,spa,gym,billards,games,golf and beautifully maintained gardens.

Food was royally served and was very Shahi!!

It was indeed our Royale and memorable stay at Hotel Springfields,Shimla.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmsHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    64
    16
    11
    11
See reviews for
58
49
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

We booked this place because of its heritage value and thinking it was at walkable distance from the main Shimla market "The Mall Road". The property has classic vintage experience with its British bungalow and interiors...offered great food...Dal Makhani is a "must try" item. The service was also above average and the staff is quite helpful.

The main drawback however is its distance....its almost 4-5 km drive from the mall road since it is situated at Old Shimla. Preferable only if you have your own vehicle....else the local taxis charge Rs.100 one way!

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank VTT_mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in our recent trip through North Of India. The hotel is located 1 km from the Mall rd. Its said its a heritage hotel though didnt quite feel like one. The staff are friendly but I guess they are short of staff as you see one or 2 people doing most of the things. The rooms were neat and quite comfortable. Had regular electricity problems but they were usually resoved quickly. The food was expensive and its taste isnt worth mentioning. .

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PramodB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

Hotel Springfields is an Usha-Lexus property, which is about 3 kilometers (by car) from the lifts to the mall road. Its a 2 kilometer hike from the hotel to the busy mall road. This place was built by an aristocrat from lahore and was the summer retreat of Maharaja of Sheikhpura. What got me fascinated was when the hotel staff told that the Queen is still alive and 100+ years old and lives in the adjacent property and she has leased the hotel part for 20 years to Usha Lexus.
We got room no 1 and 2, which surprisingly has a very longish sitting area- you may call it the drawing room, followed by a huge bed room. We opened the middle door between room 1 and 2 , so it felt like a 2BHK suite to us. The construction is old but awesome, wooden floors, high ceiling , fireplace, antique furniture and all amenities. Hotel has 11 rooms , and I had no trouble with the parking, which can be an issue if all rooms are occupied. The food quality is very good and staff courteous. The kitchen closes by 11:30 PM so all orders should be placed before that. The front and back garden had roses and one could just relax there( many monkeys are present in the area, so don't eat in the open, just read a book , or play cards etc)

Tips : Its a tiring walk for the aged to the mall road, better to drive to the Shimla car parking area and take the lift to the mall.

  • Liked — The old world charm of the place
  • Disliked — No internet in the rooms, only at the frontdesk
  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank amiableamit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the Springfield Hotel in Feb 2006 It was the too cold Loved it. Quiet, peaceful, great view of the mountains. Monkeys in the trees. the food was good (by local standards) and the service was also good.

  • Liked — Scenry
  • Disliked — Clean Bed sheet
  • Stayed February 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kumarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

We booked ourselves at Hotel Springfields directly from the first day of our son's summer vacations. It was getting hotter in Delhi and Shimla is a first option which comes to mind to spend some quiet and comfortable time with family.

We drove down to Shimla on a Thursday morning and reached the hotel at about 4 pm. The room assigned to us was quite big as the hotel was built by an erstwhile aristocrat from Lahore as his private getaway. We booked ourselves on the summer package which included welcome drink at arrival, breakfast, dinner and an half day sight seeing. We weren't offered any welcome drinks at arrival though and it was difficult to park our car as the passage leading to the reception was quite narrow and only place to park the vehicle. There was construction going on next to the parked car and in the 2 days that we stayed there, the condition of our car turned pathetic.

The breakfast and dinner was on order and the quality of food was just about satisfactory. A few dishes were good and others were ordinary. The management never asked to provide us with the included items such as the welcome drinks, or the half day sight seeing. I thought they were more than happy to let guests ask for it if they really need it. They seem to be happy to let the opportunity to serve pass by. The rooms were never cleaned during our stay and we had to manage with whatever we could arrange ourselves inside the room.

Overall an average stay more so because of the callous behavior of staff / management at the hotel. The property is quite small but some of the views from the rear of the hotel are awesome. The whole valley is visible and gets chilly in the evenings. The upkeep of the main porch, common sit-outs and recreation room was very ordinary. Just about average overall but not value for money considering that a 2 nights package costs Rs 12000 for a couple and 2 children below 6.

  • Liked — The views from the hotel
  • Disliked — The service, cleanliness of the property
  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank vipinsawhney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
2.8 km away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#4 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
1.6 km away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#3 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#13 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Combermere
Hotel Combermere
#23 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.7 km away
WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Springfields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Springfields

Property: Hotel Springfields
Address: Opp. Tibetan School,, Shimla 171002, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Springfields 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Springfields reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing