We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful locale with”
Review of Hotel Springfields

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Springfields
Ranked #14 of 147 Shimla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2010

This was a quaint and charming little place- the first time we entered the gate to the hotel, it seemed more like a house- a leftover from the British Raj days and the interior lent more credence to that. Colonial furniture and old mementos gave it a cozy look. since there were many rooms available, we had our pick of the room- a large and spacious one with a fireplace to boot. The room opened out to an amazing view of the valley in front which is really nice when having breakfast or dinner outdoors.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluerivera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Springfields
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2010

I stayed at Springfields at the end of a two week trip in H.P.; it was just what I needed - a peaceful and quiet place to stay with friendly, helpful staff and a good kitchen. If you want to be walking distance from The Mall, this is not a good choice as it is about 1 1/2 km. away along a very busy road. Internet with a good broadband connection is available at the reception desk and they will move so you can use it.

If this is your first trip to Shimla, you would probably want to stay closer to the Mall; if it is a second visit and you are on your way someplace else, Springfields is a lovely, quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sachinmalhotra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

It was our Honeymoon trip and we had booked the hotel from Mumbai and was waiting to see how the hotel is , but to our surprise it was like an ancient Heritage situated in Chotta Shimla.

The room was spacious with wooden flooring and was elegantly designed with fireplace.It was built by Mohammad Yahya Khan from Lahore.Service of the staff and the manger was good and friendly.It had all the amenities like the swimming pool,hot & cold water,STD/ISD facilty,lounge,library,spa,gym,billards,games,golf and beautifully maintained gardens.

Food was royally served and was very Shahi!!

It was indeed our Royale and memorable stay at Hotel Springfields,Shimla.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmsHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

We booked this place because of its heritage value and thinking it was at walkable distance from the main Shimla market "The Mall Road". The property has classic vintage experience with its British bungalow and interiors...offered great food...Dal Makhani is a "must try" item. The service was also above average and the staff is quite helpful.

The main drawback however is its distance....its almost 4-5 km drive from the mall road since it is situated at Old Shimla. Preferable only if you have your own vehicle....else the local taxis charge Rs.100 one way!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank VTT_mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in our recent trip through North Of India. The hotel is located 1 km from the Mall rd. Its said its a heritage hotel though didnt quite feel like one. The staff are friendly but I guess they are short of staff as you see one or 2 people doing most of the things. The rooms were neat and quite comfortable. Had regular electricity problems but they were usually resoved quickly. The food was expensive and its taste isnt worth mentioning. .

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PramodB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

Hotel Springfields is an Usha-Lexus property, which is about 3 kilometers (by car) from the lifts to the mall road. Its a 2 kilometer hike from the hotel to the busy mall road. This place was built by an aristocrat from lahore and was the summer retreat of Maharaja of Sheikhpura. What got me fascinated was when the hotel staff told that the Queen is still alive and 100+ years old and lives in the adjacent property and she has leased the hotel part for 20 years to Usha Lexus.
We got room no 1 and 2, which surprisingly has a very longish sitting area- you may call it the drawing room, followed by a huge bed room. We opened the middle door between room 1 and 2 , so it felt like a 2BHK suite to us. The construction is old but awesome, wooden floors, high ceiling , fireplace, antique furniture and all amenities. Hotel has 11 rooms , and I had no trouble with the parking, which can be an issue if all rooms are occupied. The food quality is very good and staff courteous. The kitchen closes by 11:30 PM so all orders should be placed before that. The front and back garden had roses and one could just relax there( many monkeys are present in the area, so don't eat in the open, just read a book , or play cards etc)

Tips : Its a tiring walk for the aged to the mall road, better to drive to the Shimla car parking area and take the lift to the mall.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank amiableamit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the Springfield Hotel in Feb 2006 It was the too cold Loved it. Quiet, peaceful, great view of the mountains. Monkeys in the trees. the food was good (by local standards) and the service was also good.

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kumarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
2.8 km away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#13 of 113 in Shimla
1,075 reviews
1.6 km away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#2 of 113 in Shimla
510 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#19 of 113 in Shimla
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#4 of 113 in Shimla
807 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#14 of 113 in Shimla
283 reviews
3.2 km away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Springfields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Springfields

Address: Opp. Tibetan School,, Shimla 171002, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Shimla
Price Range: $97 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Springfields 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Springfields reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing