We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Surya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Surya
Ranked #38 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Hospitality”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I stayed twice in this hotel. I found it to be a very decent place for the money that you spend. Staff is nice, food is good and view is nice. on our last visit we reached at the hotel 6 in the morning after overnight bus journey. it was top rush time in Shimla being the XMAS time, but still hotel people were quite friendly and gave me a nice room for early check-in. Normal check-in time is 12PM. X-MAS party was good. overall its nice place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brajesh & Famil... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Surya, responded to this review, 29 May 2015
Dear Guest
Thanks for your valuable feedback. Hotel is completely renovated.

Please Visit us again.
Team
Hotel Surya Shimla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    68
    54
    24
    42
See reviews for
98
71
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Patiala
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

During my visit to Shimla , we checked all the hotels near Mall road . Then we compare rooms with its rates . However , we found hotel Surya the best and preferred to stay there . We opted for luxury room . It was very clean and with good room amenities like kettle, tea-coffee sachets,32' inch LCD and a beautiful view . Our stay here was very comfortable and its food looked very hygienic and tasty. It has a covered parking and a separate hotel lift to the Mall road.We will love to stay there again during my next visit to Shimla.

Room Tip: Luxury corner room on the 2nd wing of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayPatiala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Surya, responded to this review, 29 May 2015
Dear Guest
Thanks for your valuable feedback. Hotel is completely renovated.

Please Visit us again.
Team
Hotel Surya Shimla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I start with the Cons first , i wonder why this hotel deserve a "Three Star" rating, or rating agencies don't what is three start facilities are, why i am saying this, please refer following points:-

- the bathroom knob handle is not working, i have checked other room on floor too, none have working bathroom knob handle. i.e. you can't close you bathroom from outside and in some case inside too.

- bed-sheet provided are torn in middle, what the three star facility.

- Basic toiletry kit doesn't have bathing soap, when asked house keeping say you have to buy your own, and now see closest place to but that stuff is atleast 50 stair-steps plus 100 mtrs. see that after you took a long journey to shimla, disgusting.

- in my adjacent room, there is no water. actually there are two couple from same family are staying in different room, due to above mention reason people are using same bathroom ( see with closed door)

-not to mention, the place is full of thieves, mine canon digital camera is stolen near reception and when inquired, no body seems to interested in finding out, started blaming other tourist for theft ( mind you, if person is shell out more than 2000 rs for basic room, wouldn't be there for theft ) i have 100% sure the hotel staff had done that but i don't have any proof. i am sad because it's contain beautiful photos of my baby playing with snow, which i have lost and had no replacement.

- apart from one housekeeping guy (Pradeep & one more) no body is willing to help you in anything. i know it's people make you stay bad or good. however my experience inclined towards bad only.

- my mother in law had left message for me, hotel staff doesn't give heed to delivered same to us, again what the three star facility

On pros side

- I feel few housekeeping people are good and go extra mile to help you.
- the mall road is walkable distance, not five minutes as mentioned in site, you have to clib atleas 40-50 stairs and atleast kilometer from there.

I advicem please consider this only if don't have anyother option and also take care your belongings

Room Tip: please don't visit this hotel, unless you have no choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thatsalok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Surya, responded to this review, 29 May 2015
Dear Guest
Thanks for your valuable feedback. Hotel is completely renovated.

Please Visit us again.
Team
Hotel Surya Shimla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shimla hotels

Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a night, We were not really interested in something luxurious so this place fit the bill.

hotel provides Free parking and luggage services so it saves you from hassles of parking in Shimla, believe me it can be a deal breaker. The room was so so but we were not really looking for luxury. the bed and beddings were clean and cozy and bath room was clean. The inhouse resturant is good and provides nice morning view courtesy its green house like shape and glass enclosures.

The lifts were bad and hassled us but remember hotel provides luggage services so didn't hassle us that much and we are never too reluctant to use stairs.

There were few rowdy neighbors possibly a gang bachelors which were put to place by hotel staff ( good thing )

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rishabhnitc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Surya, responded to this review, 29 May 2015
Dear Guest
Thanks for your valuable feedback. Hotel is completely renovated.

Please Visit us again.
Team
Hotel Surya Shimla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
480 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 939 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

this hotel is good for its location only, i mean people can access lower and upper mall as well..thats it..no good rooms, no good room services..average hotel with average quality and taste of foods as well as other services. staff is friendly specially manager. for some reason i cancelled my 4th day stay and they easily understood me and released me without any question, and returned my 4th day rent completely. okay hotel for single..and family..for honeymoon couple i will recommend some other hotel.

Room Tip: try to get lower road facing rooms for some good view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalbahadur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Surya, responded to this review, 29 May 2015
Dear Guest
Thanks for your valuable feedback. Hotel is completely renovated.

Please Visit us again.
Team
Hotel Surya Shimla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We were a group of 4 girls traveling during the long weekend of Jan 27-29, and stayed in Super Deluxe Family room- and honestly I am bewildered by the reviews I saw below. The room was gorgeous, with sunlight filtering in. We had enough blankets, and we rented out room heaters. Room service was prompt. There hotel has a lift that would be take you near the Mall Road. They also arranged a full day car for us to Kufri for just Rs1000.
The only 2 things that can be improved are the Breakfast, and the small lift, which lead to a lot of queques and people crowding up in front of it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ParomitaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Surya, responded to this review, 29 May 2015
Dear Guest
Thanks for your valuable feedback. Hotel is completely renovated.

Please Visit us again.
Team
Hotel Surya Shimla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I was living in a semi-deluxe room...with my family.there was No LCD no showers tabs was also not working and food was really 3rd class that was waste of money...
As per my advice please don't stay in this hotel..

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Lennon424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Surya, responded to this review, 29 May 2015
Dear Guest
Thanks for your valuable feedback. Hotel is completely renovated.

Please Visit us again.
Team
Hotel Surya Shimla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
1.3 km away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 111 in Shimla
839 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
#82 of 111 in Shimla
292 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#8 of 111 in Shimla
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hotel CK International
Hotel CK International
#14 of 111 in Shimla
287 reviews
1.8 km away
Summit Le Royale Hotel
Summit Le Royale Hotel
#31 of 111 in Shimla
53 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Baljees Regency
Hotel Baljees Regency
#36 of 111 in Shimla
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Surya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Surya

Property: Hotel Surya
Address: Circular Road, Near Victory Tunnel | Himachal Pradesh, Shimla 171003, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Surya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on circular Road, and connected to Mall Road (5-10 minutes walk) by Hotel's own elevators. The hotel has 60 elegantly designed guest rooms including Deluxe Rooms, Luxury Room, Honeymoon suites, Executive Suites and Super Deluxe Family Suites. We offer most modern guest amenities, which include in room Tea / Coffee Maker, Digital Cable , WIFI Internet connectivity, CCTV at reception, Travel desk, In-house laundry service and doctor on call.Delicious dining options at ‘’ 180 Degree Roof Top - a multi cuisine Restaurant’ that will satisfy your taste buds. - From an appetizing breakfast to light snacks and sumptuous dinners. When it comes to planning meetings and events, the hotels experience will ensure your function is flawless. It can cater 15 persons conferencing to 250 persons banqueting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Surya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surya Hotel Shimla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing