We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stay in the hills; relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunrise Villa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shimla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunrise Villa
Ranked #29 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Chandigarh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“stay in the hills; relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed in Sunrise villa in December 2011. We shortlisted this place after reading various reviews on the internet, mainly tripadvsor. We found this place better than what we imagined by reading all this stuff. We had our own vehicle and reached sunrise villa as guided by the owners with ease. The parking was inside the premises so I didn’t had to worry about the same this time.

We found this place quite and picturesque, that what we wanted away from the city noise. The room was neat and clean having a big balcony facing towards the valley. The room allotted to us was on the fourth floor (no lift), which had sloping wooden roof and a huge terrace outside. We spent hours in the morning enjoying the sun and sunrise on this terrace.

Food was good but simple and we got the same prepared according to our taste (We are Jains and do not use onions and garlic). The owners also allowed us to prepare food for our child in their Kitchen. The staff was helpful and helped us in all our requirements with a smile. As we went there to take a break and relax, we didn’t go our much, just a half day visit to Shimla during our four day stay. There is parking problem in Shimla city and one has to walk a lot to see the mall road and ridge.

This was my third visit to Shimla. If we compare facilities like quality of room, food quality,
cleanliness and location this place is far better and cheaper than the hotels I stayed earlier in Shimla. The only drawback is this place is 13 kms before Shimla (this does not apply to me as I was searching a place away from the crowd this time).

Overall our experience was good and satisfying.

Room Tip: Choose room on the fourth floor as it has a big terrace and a high level of privacy. There are two r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vikas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise_Villa, Owner at Sunrise Villa, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Thank you for your review and appreciating the home made food cooked for you as per your liking. Our staff also took note of your kitchen tips while you assisted them in the kitchen. Do visit us again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    92
    20
    3
    5
See reviews for
115
66
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

I booked Sunrise villa after going through reviews at Trip advisor.

On reaching Shoghi by toy train, i was given a pickup to the hotel which was a nice start. At Sunrise villa I was given a room with one of the best views (although i had to climb four floors to get there but was worth it). The room was clean and the place was quite as i wanted. But thats the end of the good part.

The food at Sunrise villa was pretty simple. The cost did not justify the food served (no variety) and quality of food (once found a hair in my chapati). You can get lot better food at the dhabas at Shoghi market at nearly half the cost. (Me and my wife still have dreams of the best tandoori parathas and tea i ever had at one dhaba at the market, sorry forgot the name of it)

The sight seeing transport provided at Sunrise villa is pretty high priced. You can get similar package at 30% discount at Shimla (which includes drop at Shoghi).

To summarize, sunrise villa is quite, clean and beautiful place to stay but the management has taken advantage of same by high priced food and expensive travel.
In all i would recommend Sunrise villa if you want to be away from crowd at shimla and have your own vehicle which you can take for sight seeing and for having food outside.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Abhishek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise_Villa, Owner at Sunrise Villa, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Thanks for your review about Sunrise Villa Shimla.
Regarding quality of our food, we offer simple home cooked vegetarian meals and use the best ingredients available and anyone can have a look of it in our kitchen ( which no hotel allows). It is unfortunate that you found a hair in your food, and you didn't brought it to our notice. Errors can happen by anyone, you also took the key of the room along with you to Manali.
Sight seeing package details and prices are mentioned on the website. Our packages cover more places and justify their price. You didn't took anyone of these packages and went to Shimla for sightseeing by bus. Do not mislead people and be specific. Himachal tourism also conducts daily sight seeing packages by deluxe bus which are much economical.
For very low budget tourists rooms are easily available from Rs 500 onwards and so is the food in Shimla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faridabad, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

I visited Shimla with my office frnds from 24-26 December.
Have to say that this hotel is the best option at such a price.
The rooms as priced at 1200 but once you check in you ll find them worth Rs 2000 or so.
The manager Mr Aggarwal is very decent , helpful and will even respond at odd hours.
The food was home cooked , fresh and very good.
The view from the rooms are breathtaking and sunrise can be enjoyed.
Over all i will definitely recommend it to those visiting Shimla and need a place away from the city hustle and in the lap of nature.

Room Tip: Prefer rooms facing the Valley for the views. Book rooms well in advance as it can get full during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajiv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise_Villa, Owner at Sunrise Villa, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Thank you for your review about Sunrise Villa Shimla. Your appreciation about our food, rooms and location boosts our endeavor to serve our guests to their satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Sunrise Villa is a nice place to stay before Shimla specially when you are self driving from NCR and tired when about to reach Shimla. Excellent view of the SunRise in the morning. Homely food and good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agrabhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise_Villa, Owner at Sunrise Villa, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
thanks for your review, looking forward for your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We went by toy train fortunately train stopped @shogi station, So we happily got down there. We called sunrisevilla reception then they picked up us from station. It is a Homestay kind of type but you get the feel of hotel. Nice balcony view is there. Since we went on the off season whether is Not so chill :-( You have to stay between nov to end of feb. Main thing you have to notice before staying in this hotel is its far from shimla city around 13Kms. So its difficult to visit Mall road(Most enjoyed palce) in the evening because you have to come back to shogi(you have to depend on taxi). So I wont suggest this hotel as far as travelling convenience. Rest of the thing is good. And regarding food there is a home prepared food available for that you have to give order in advance. There is no alternative hotel near by this for food. They provided shimla+Manali package per day @1900/- It was quite comfortable. Driver was good

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank akhilraj27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise_Villa, Owner at Sunrise Villa, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
thanks for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

I booked it by the reviews of trip advisor. Had a good stay and the view is the exceptional feature among all. Home cooked food is really good. I booked krishna travels through them and found that i had paid 50 Rs higher than than actual fare for one ticket. The fare is 450.

The view from the room is breathtaking for that u can spend lot of time in Soghi.

Overall the stay was really good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Riyaz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

I stayed here recently for 2 nights. I wanted to stay for 3 but it was a holiday weekend and the third night was fully booked. Firstly, the room was nice and the view was fantastic and the value good at one thousand two hundred rupees a night. The hotel is around 13kms from Shimla itself. I caught the bus from Chandigarh and it was fine to get off in Shogi, where the hotel is located, and get a taxi from the bus stand for fifty rupees, to the hotel. Getting to Shimla and back by bus is very easy and the buses are very regular.
The hotel has internet access with computers for guests use in the office on the top floor. Munish, the host is very nice indeed as are all the owners and staff that I met.
I managed to get a hotel room in Shimla itself for my third night but if I hadn't, Munish would have managed to get me a bed somewhere around Shogi. This was a really nice touch and I was glad of the extra effort. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank 3bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
8.4 km away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
7.7 km away
Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens
7.3 km away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#9 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Hotel CK International
Hotel CK International
#15 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
7.6 km away
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
#78 of 111 in Shimla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
11.2 km away
Hotel Woodpark
Hotel Woodpark
#52 of 111 in Shimla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Villa

Property: Sunrise Villa
Address: Anandpur Road | Near rail under bridge, Shoghi, Shimla 171219, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Shimla
#6 Family Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Sunrise Villa 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a good hotel / resort stay in Shimla, visit Sunrise Villa, a mini resort for affordable, economical, homely yet luxurious stay in Shimla in the lap of nature away from the congested city. Facilities include: drive-in-parking, lush green lawns, fruit trees, flower beds, peaceful surroundings with neat and clean environment and rooms, home-made hygienically prepared buffet vegetarian meals served across the dining table in the dining room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunrise Villa Hotel Shimla
Sunrise Hotel Shimla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing