We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience - Please avoid this place”

Hotel Leela Regency
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Leela Regency
Ranked #76 of 117 Hotels in Shimla
Reviewed 16 September 2010

We had a horrible experience with this hotel. Travelling from Bangalore, we went by the earlier feedbacks and photos available on the net - of this hotel. The hotel is a shabby, deserted place with pathetic service. We stayed for 2 hours and decided to forgo the money we had payed for the honeymoon suite for 3 days and move to a better hotel. The rooms are dirty, the linen unwashed - please dont make a mistake going by the photos on the internet of this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
3  Thank sr_bangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2010

This hotel is good for travellers who want to visit Shimla. The food is great. Its on the main road and very near to bus stand. Can stay for couple of days. Very good hotel for budget travellers.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mahi0829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

we did not have a good Experience that you would expect from a hotel who is charging around 4500 rs per night . The little things were overlooked during my stay. There was not any details on amenities such as transportation, dining or local activities in my room. I had to asked several people for information and received different answers each time. the electical switches were not in place .. some portion of the room was stinking..Housekeeping was not up to par: The Bathroom counter was dusty on my arrival. the jacuzi did not worked very well... couple of things u will like is the food and good scenic view............ rest not worth.....u need to pay extra for bottle of water........... we left the hotel in one day... and moved to radisson with little extra money from our pockets..........

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dimpsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Hi,
This hotel is really embrassing. Just on enter we understand that, they have confarmation about our journey, but they did not make room ready. we wait for 3 & 1/2 hrs. Meanwhile they try to convince us to shift to another hotel( reason ubdisclosed). Room is not properly cleaned. chairs, table were Stinking. washroom is also in same condition. They have central AC( but within 3 days staying, I never found it is working, although I request for several times. If we are asking for room service, the immidieate answer is " room boy will reach in ur room within a minute sir", but alas we can see him once in a day.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prasenjit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

The worst hotel service we have ever seen.
Reached hotel and our room was not ready and that was when we had already informed them our time. We reached at 3 PM and I think according to the normal check-in time.. its was pretty fine. We had booked Mini Suite, entered the room and to our disappointment all the furniture.. almirah was all broken. TV in the room was too old like it we used to have in 80s. Bathroom was very dirty and we had to get that cleaned up in our presence. Temperature in Shimla was hot, and there was no ceiling Fan or A/C in room. We were just provided with a pedestal fan.
Food in the hotel restaurant was horrible. Whatever you will like to order, it won't be available. Room Service worst, they won't come until you shout at them. Restaurant staff will refuse to serve you anything if you are taking their buffet. The most un-courteous staff.
You'll have to give your keys at reception if you want your room to be cleaned. And by any chance you come back before 6 after whole day of sight seeing, you'll find that your room is not cleaned yet.
The only good thing was the view from the balcony but that also had minus points as the window glass was broken and it was scary to touch the window.
I would say... never ever go there.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vibs143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Location is on the valley. But please note.. All the hotels are on the valley. Just makesure your room is facing the right direction :)

This is a average hotel.
Above average room service.
Food is tasty and good. Price is average. Dinner they provided option of 1 Non Veg dish, 2 Veg Dish , Rice and Roti, Salad . More than enough for me.. I am not that much of a foodie.

I was in a package with Breakfast and Dinner and so the cost was fine for me.

Walkable to the Mall Rd. But its a good amount of walk or by the lifts.

The Hotels Travel desk is Expansive.
The hotel is Air Conditioned and have hot water on a time bound manner.

Not as clean as you would like to be. The Hotel is good but lacks maintainance.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debasisb2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We were on our honeymoon trip, and we stayed this pathetic place for 2 days, wanted to change but tired so couldn't, though the location and view were perfect , but the services was bad really , and some construction work going on at that time, made it worse.
Food was OK, but don't thing its a 4 star hotel or even a three,

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chandan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0 km away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#14 of 117 in Shimla
1,099 reviews
0 km away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
0 km away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 117 in Shimla
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 117 in Shimla
823 reviews
0 km away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#2 of 117 in Shimla
552 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#7 of 117 in Shimla
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leela Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leela Regency

Address: Near Winter Field, Shimla 171003, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 117 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range: $72 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leela Regency 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Leela Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing