We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“See Mysore wake up - brilliant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MYcycle - Mysore Cycle Tour

MYcycle - Mysore Cycle Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: MYcycle.... guided cycle tours of Mysore and Srirangapatnam Island. See the wonderful heritage city and its diverse communities or the culture and history of this beautiful island. We are also Mysore Bed and Breakfast (also listed on Trip Advisor) as our guests usually do their reviews there. Our tours for 2-4 people are for half or full days and we provide an expert guide, and cycles. We can also design tours according to your specific needs. You can also now bring children on our Srirangaptnam tour as we have a child's seat, tag-a-long and children's cycles. Please note: we do not offer cycle hire only guided cycle tours. Its best to book in advance to reserve your place.We're part of Manjula's Mysore and also provide homely accommodation through Mysore Bed and Breakfast and a hassle free auto rickshaw with our very own vehicle driven by Vasanth.
Burgundy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“See Mysore wake up - brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

At 6:45 in the morning the roads and alleyways are quiet and easy to traverse. With Steve's calm guidance we negotiated fascinating and diverse quarters of the city, learnt some of the history and got some great photos. Well worth the money.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rolymoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfindia7, Owner at MYcycle - Mysore Cycle Tour, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Lovely to spend time with you, its been a tremendous first season for the cycle tours. we've now had the full range from beginners through to serious cyclists and all have enjoyed the unique views it affords of Mysore. Keep on cycling, Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go Tandem - for those who cannot cycle alone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

I have never really cycled until MYcycle. Fortunately, the tandem cycle was just introduced when I was in Mysore last week - and allowed me to have the 'privilege' of being the first one to try riding the tandem cycle.
It was great being able to ride around the city of Mysore on a tandem, very comfortable and much we could see in 3 hours.
Thank you Stephen (and Vinay) for making it possible for a non-cyclist to have so much fun.
Hopefully I shall learn to cycle on my own pretty soon, and enjoy the other cycle tours at MYcycle too :)

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfindia7, Owner at MYcycle - Mysore Cycle Tour, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
hey thanks.... for being such a sport and launching our super new tandem, two person cycle. Really good to get to know you and spend Christmas together at Mysore Bed and breakfast. Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

It was an exciting experience which showed us many hidden corners of Misore.
Steve was an excellent Guide who guided us without any problem through all mysore roundabout. In this kind one understands finally, how traffic in India works. And driving on the left side ist not as difficult, as we thought :-)

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Vegiwoelfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfindia7, Owner at MYcycle - Mysore Cycle Tour, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
so glad you enjoyed the tour, roads are such a good analogy for a country's culture and these on the surface seem chaotic but they do follow very clear understandings, so guests have felt safe, gained great insights and also exhilarated to have met the challenge of the roads ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

Fantastic tour. Very informative and so much fun. Able to give you an insight into Indian communities and lifestyle. Highly recommend this tour

Helpful?
Thank Nakita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfindia7, Owner at MYcycle - Mysore Cycle Tour, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
thank you the reviews are proving so helpful for our guests., we've now added 'Gravity Friday' to the Tours. That involves a walk up Chamundi Hill and an exhilarating ride down.
Best wishes,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
146 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A great way to start the day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

I'll be honest - Indian roads make me nervous. Crossing them was difficult enough, being driven on them pretty scary. So I was more than a little apprehensive about cycling on them. However, the cycle tour of Mysore was definitely one of the highlights of my holiday and I didn't encounter problems with the traffic.

The bikes were comfortable and appeared to be of reasonable quality and well maintained. The 6.30 start didn't agree with my hangover, but it turned out to be a very pleasant time to cycle around the city in relative peace. We particularly enjoyed visiting the Government office and sneaking a peek at the Palace elephants. It was also really good to see the city waking up, watching people beginning their day. By the time we'd finished, we felt that we'd earned the breakfast that concluded the tour - I had a very nice dosa.

I would consider myself a reasonably confident cyclist, familiar with cycling on British roads. Much of the cycling took place on quiet back streets and off-road paths but occasionally we ventured onto busier roads. I found that Mysore traffic was often more yielding and allowed more space when overtaking than British traffic. We all quickly and easily adapted to slightly different rules of the road, and, even when the traffic increased after breakfast and we negotiated some quite busy junctions, felt reasonably safe. I do wonder if cyclists with little or no experience of riding in traffic might struggle slightly, but I'm sure that Steve is pretty aware of the abilities of the group he's riding with and adapts to their needs.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank fancyrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfindia7, Owner at MYcycle - Mysore Cycle Tour, responded to this review, 10 December 2011
thanks for a very helpful review. Safety and enjoyment were our key motivations in designing this tour and its already been a great success. We've had a tremendous response with many people of different abilities coming on the tour. You're right, you do need to be a confident cyclist and we ensure they have a great experience. We'll be launching, in the new year, a tour that takes in Srirangapatnam and is almost exclusively on quiet country lanes, so even the beginner will be able to join that one. We hope to see you again during your next trip and do come and stay at Mysore Bed and Breakfast.
Best wishes,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MYcycle - Mysore Cycle Tour also viewed

Mysuru (Mysore), Karnataka
Mysuru (Mysore), Karnataka
 
Mysuru (Mysore), Karnataka
 

Been to MYcycle - Mysore Cycle Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing