We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't confuse Viceroy and Viceroy Comfort, part of same chain”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Viceroy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Viceroy
Ranked #99 of 138 Mysuru (Mysore) B&B and Inns
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
117 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Don't confuse Viceroy and Viceroy Comfort, part of same chain”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Do not confuse the Viceroy with the Viceroy Comfort, (part of a Mysore Chain of the Viceroy, Viceroy Comfort, and Presidency) but most taxi and rickshaw drivers did. A map on the back of the hotel card proved incomprehensible to both travelers and local drivers alike. The Viceroy is closer to the Palace while the Viceroy Comfort is out of the main action about a 40 rupee autorickshaw ride away from the Palace. The Viceroy Comfort was uneven. Guests more fastidious than me might be offended to seeing someone else's empty water bottle when they checked into the room. Less prepared guests with a preference for Western style toilets would object strenuously to the initial absence of toilet paper. With these problems fixed the rooms would have been fine. The manager was friendly, but told us breakfast was at 8. When I mistakenly took the elevator to the wrong floor there were people eating breakfast at 7:30. The kitchen staff was pleasant and responsive, but only after finishing most of an Indian parody of a White people's continental breakfast did we learn that we could eat a South Indian breakfast, which was good. Chai aficionados thought the chai was bad and coffee baristas thought the coffee only met North India coffee standards.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R___D169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    26
    43
    21
    45
See reviews for
47
42
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stayed in room 105 for a weekend. The room had no views at all and very small for the price they quote. The food is exorbitantly charged but does not taste well. We ordered for plain rotis but they gave tandoori rotis even though we particularly checked many times before placing the orders. In the morning they said they have complimentary breakfast but when we were checking out they charged for it completely denying what they said earlier. They hotel staff even lies about small things like auto charges if asked for help.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel unless you are interested to be cheated
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jhinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels

Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

We checked into room number 208 where there was no central ac and the split ac was not working and it was leaking.

In the same room hot water was not available till 7am and the fan too was not working. None of the power plug points were working. We litteraly had to sleep having suffocated. Too much horrible room maintenance.

We brought this to the attention of the receptionist but there was an arrogant reply that nothing can be done about this. We then informed India Tourism Development Corpration who had arranged this hotel for us and after that the service and politeness of the staff improved.

Same thing was with room number 408, so called 'premium suit'. In this the shower was not working and one of the plug points was damaged.

I would personally advice you to put BAN on this hotel. I would also share the terrible video of this hotel if there was an option to upload.

Room Tip: Rooms have one or the other maintenance issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niranjan_M_Wagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
150 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

I made the mistake of booking a room on the net; they charged me for a Luxury room, but gave me an Executive room. They also sell their rooms claiming a beautiful view of Mysore Palace, but the building is not tall (with the view obstructed by the trees) and it is just not possible to have the views they show in the pictures on their website. Their location is also not as convenient as they make it seem - the entry gate to the Mysore Palace is actually at the diametrically opposite end grounds, and you have to take an auto-rickshaw anyway. The restaurant was just about okay and the rooms were reasonably clean.

Room Tip: If at all you decide to stay here, be very careful about what room you pay for and what they charge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arigho57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

I stayed in this hotel on two occasions. The first time I booked through a well-known website, and was given a room that was very decent (which may have been one of their best rooms). I travelled though Mysore again and stayed for another time, though was given one of their regular rooms, which was really quite awful. Hygiene is very poor - for instance, when I got to my room, the service stuff just took the glass that was already there and put it in the plastic that's supposed to mean it's been cleaned. There were also some (dead) insects, etc. The breakfast is to be avoided. The stuff at the reception is unprofessional. For instance, they didn't forward a very important message that was left for me. In case you end up staying in this hotel, the only relatively nice thing is its roof terrasse (though I had a drink there, and wouldn't be able to say anything about the quality of food).

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IsidoraS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Its an average hotel with more than average rates. So I will suggest travellers to look for other better options rather than going for Viceroy.

Issues -

1. You might not get hot water at all . Taps are jammed so might not able to use it properly.
2. Hotel has a restra, however the service is pathetic..I got a absolute shock of my life.. to see how blatant they were to refuse us chapatis, .. while we were half into our main course. It happen not only with us but with other guests as well.
3.Its overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dearindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

we booked a room for one night for 14th august 2011 through make my trip. first of all it is located on small street and along with there own marriagehall .(choultry). we called them at afternoon and confirm them that we will check in at night 8.30. at time of check in they told us that there is no room available in hotel so we can provide you a alternative arrangement in the nearby marriage hall . only thing we dont have tv and phone and this room and you have to stay as a couple alone in a room which is in marriage hall.when we asked how can you ask us to stay in marriage hall they replied this is only available room. they were not ready to give in writing also that they are not offering us a room in hotel because it is booked. it was a big holiday time so no room was available. even when we spoke to make my trip only thing they were to do for us is cancellation at night 10 o clock. whole process took one and half hour. no one was there to response. infact i told them i have to search new accomdation please write me you dont have room and my booking is cancelled so atleast i can claim my refund from make my trip. but the great staff wasted my time by saying we are trying to contact owner of hotel. as we dont have authority.great climax one girl and his mom arrived at 9 .45 to check in and those two women also got same reply. they had also booked through make my trip and even they were horrified at last i found a accomdation in hotel fortune palace but regret my decision of booking place in this kind of horrible location. beep beep beep beep .and we drop that girl and his mom to auto stand so then can find another accomdation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank riteshbaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
0.3 km away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#19 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Sandesh The Prince
Hotel Sandesh The Prince
#9 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Palace Plaza
Hotel Palace Plaza
#76 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Roopa
Hotel Roopa
#14 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Maurya Palace
Hotel Maurya Palace
#50 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.3 km away
United 21 Hotel
United 21 Hotel
#47 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Viceroy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Viceroy

Property: The Viceroy
Address: Sri Harsha Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570001, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Viceroy 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Viceroy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Viceroy Hotel Mysore
Viceroy Hotel Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing