We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Viceroy Comfort - A stay without comfort” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Viceroy

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mysuru (Mysore)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Viceroy
Ranked #96 of 134 Mysuru (Mysore) B&B and Inns
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Viceroy Comfort - A stay without comfort”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

I was very happy with the photographs of the hotel and thought since it is a new property so it would be good, nice and clean. I picked it over Ginger because of the deal I got it.

I went Mysore in October and stayed in this hotel. On entry itself, the manager (badly dressed) instead of welcoming us, he treated us like he has done a favor to us by giving us the stay. On the first day itself we had a fight.

Since rooms were spacious, clean and had good wardrobe and LCD TV so we calmed down. Then came the surprise, there was no restaurant. If we order something then the staff will bring from their chain of viceroy hotel. some 5 - 6 kms from this property. We had another fight with the manager on food bill. He was ill mannered, misbehaved whatever the negative word I can think of.

Breakfast was served in paper plates, tea in plastic cup and same meal DON'T STAY THERE

Room Tip: DON'T STAY THERE Until you do not have options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naraini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    26
    43
    21
    45
See reviews for
47
42
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Similar issues to those of other writers. We tried to book into the Viceroy but were inexplicably booked into the Viceroy Comforts, leading to much initial confusion. The place looks to be clean and well-decorated but scratch beneath the surface and you will be disappointed. The rooms were less than sparkling: the mirrors had not been cleaned in what seemed like years, the bedside table drawers were full of filth, the blanket on the bed was stained and ratty and there was no fresh cover sheet--so you were expected to have that gross blanket directly on you! We called for the sheet to be brought in and then had to replace the bottom one when we found a pubic hair on it. The service gentleman tried to just brush it off and tell us that is was just fine. We had to call for toilet paper. We were told that breakfast was available at 7 but when we arrived at 7:15, they were very unprepared for us. The pineapple juice was lovely, the coffee was fine and the papaya good. Breakfast consisted of 4 slices white toast, corn flakes and papaya. Disappointing overall.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels

Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

We hade booked a suite room for 2 days with breakfast in the Viceroy Comforts. We arrived Sunday 4 Dec at 2 pm and we checked in. We had the impression the room the gave us was not a suite room and it was not wel cleaned (sheets, towels and the whole room dirty). We complained and they gave us another room, same style. Then we asked the hotel manager that both rooms were standard rooms and not clean. Finally we received a suite room. The room was also very dirty. The staff promised to clean it and we went for a walk. At 4 pm the room was still not cleaned. We waited in the lobby, but at 5 pm no action, 6 pm no action. We went out again and returned by 9 pm. Room still dirty and only one towel. We have personally told the staff where to clean and by 10 pm our room was acceptable.
A new problem was that our room was next to the banquet hall and there was a wedding party going on. There was 88 decibel in our room till midnight. I have again spoken with the hotel manager, but he is not capable for his job as he did not take any action.
When I told him about TA, he pretended that he did not know this site. Or he is an idiot or he lies or probably both.
At 5 pm the staff prepared the banquet hall for a new party, so we had to wake up at this unreasonable hour.
Breakfast started at 8.20 am and when I asked for eggs, the staff said it was a pure veg restaurant. I told them butter and milk also is non-veg, but they were just laughing with us. I asked for the menu and there was chicken, lamb …The conclusion is that the staff is lying also.
The hotelmanager finally arrived at 10 am and refused to say goodmorning. We did not want to stay another night in this place and have checked out and went to Sandosh the Prince hotel, a true relieve.
We have also talked with the hotel manager of the President Hotel ( a hotel from the same group), and this man was very reasonable and wanted to compensate us for our experience in the Viceroy Comforts. We had the impression this hotel is far better and the staff better trained.

Room Tip: Check if your room has no windows that give access to the banquet hall. But best thing is to avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankenmarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Right in the city, Domino's Pizza 2 blocks away, rooms OK, besides the cockroach that was hiding under the telephone, but hey......You're in India!
Weird staff at the restaurant,but food. is alright, WI-FI available in rooms, roof top in bad shape, it's an old hôtel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanno10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

The location of the hotel is the only good thing about the hotel. Few minutes walk from the Mysore Palace.

Otherwise smelling rooms, badly placed WC, limited and average Indian breakfast, a small antique lift than can take only 4 people at a time and stops a few inches below ground level.

Room Tip: I don't think you will find a good room. However, if want to take the one facing the Palace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sri_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
109 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Do not confuse the Viceroy with the Viceroy Comfort, (part of a Mysore Chain of the Viceroy, Viceroy Comfort, and Presidency) but most taxi and rickshaw drivers did. A map on the back of the hotel card proved incomprehensible to both travelers and local drivers alike. The Viceroy is closer to the Palace while the Viceroy Comfort is out of the main action about a 40 rupee autorickshaw ride away from the Palace. The Viceroy Comfort was uneven. Guests more fastidious than me might be offended to seeing someone else's empty water bottle when they checked into the room. Less prepared guests with a preference for Western style toilets would object strenuously to the initial absence of toilet paper. With these problems fixed the rooms would have been fine. The manager was friendly, but told us breakfast was at 8. When I mistakenly took the elevator to the wrong floor there were people eating breakfast at 7:30. The kitchen staff was pleasant and responsive, but only after finishing most of an Indian parody of a White people's continental breakfast did we learn that we could eat a South Indian breakfast, which was good. Chai aficionados thought the chai was bad and coffee baristas thought the coffee only met North India coffee standards.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R___D169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stayed in room 105 for a weekend. The room had no views at all and very small for the price they quote. The food is exorbitantly charged but does not taste well. We ordered for plain rotis but they gave tandoori rotis even though we particularly checked many times before placing the orders. In the morning they said they have complimentary breakfast but when we were checking out they charged for it completely denying what they said earlier. They hotel staff even lies about small things like auto charges if asked for help.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel unless you are interested to be cheated
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jhinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Palace Plaza
Hotel Palace Plaza
#73 of 98 in Mysuru (Mysore)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.2 km away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#18 of 98 in Mysuru (Mysore)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.4 km away
Pai Vista
Pai Vista
#13 of 98 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Roopa
Hotel Roopa
#11 of 98 in Mysuru (Mysore)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.1 km away
Parklane Hotel
Parklane Hotel
#12 of 98 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.3 km away
United 21 Hotel
United 21 Hotel
#47 of 98 in Mysuru (Mysore)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Viceroy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Viceroy

Property: The Viceroy
Address: Sri Harsha Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570001, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Viceroy 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
The Viceroy Hotel Mysore
Viceroy Hotel Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing