We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A secret little place near Juhu Beach and the airport”
Review of Hotel Beach Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Beach Garden
Ranked #196 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
213 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“A secret little place near Juhu Beach and the airport”
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Our suite at the Beach Garden sounded grand but this was a small, mid-range hotel opposite the beach with a main road running past the front gate. The constant honking of car and auto-rickshaw horns reminded us that this was still a suburb of Mumbai, a city that never sleeps and that tries its best to ensure you don't either.

The resort's nightlife was nearby, as was the beach - literally on your doorstep. More distant restaurants were easily reached by taxi or auto-rickshaw from immediately outside the hotel's gate.

We booked the suite because all the rooms, except this one, had only a double bed. This had a double bed plus a sofa-bed in the lounge area. My friend volunteered to take the sofa - he must have known that the double bed had a concrete mattress that left me numb down each side of my body in turn! The room was on the first floor, reached by a small flight of steps up from the reception desk.

When we arrived, the hotel's garden was decorated for a wedding party and set out with hundreds of seats and formal dining tables. That party took place on Saturday evening, the whole affair being dismantled during the night and a new, entirely different set of elaborate curtains, staging and paraphernalia for yet another wedding being erected on Sunday morning. Somehow, none of this work, the celebrations themselves, nor the passing traffic on the nearby road disturbed us in any way whatsoever! Those involved must have been as quiet as church mice or the windows must have been double-glazed!

The hotel management was very obliging and even allowed me to use their own computer in order to amend my friend's homeward flight reservation. Some of the younger staff had a little difficulty with English, but they tried really hard to provide good service with a smile and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them.

The hotel didn't have a restaurant, which was no problem with so many local places at which to eat. Breakfast, simple but well-cooked, was ordered by phone or from the reception desk just below, and quickly brought to the room.

The airport is a short (15-20 minute) drive away, so it's a convenient, reasonably-priced place to spend a night or two. I wouldn't recommend it if you plan to do a lot of sightseeing in Mumbai city, however, as it around an hour to get there.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KeepSmilingUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    25
    7
    7
    4
See reviews for
20
6
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2010

I booked this hotel because of its location and price. Travelling with 5 adult family members, this hotel appeared to be the best value for money. Being our first time in Mumbai and being unable to speak the language, we also arranged hotel transfers through the hotel at an extremely high cost. We were not met at Mumbai airport by a representative of the hotel. After waiting for 30 minutes {and trying repeatedly to get in contact with the hotel] I was approached by a strange man - without hotel identification - who said that the hotel had sent him to pick us up. Being the suspicious type, we waited until we had confirmed with the hotel manager that this man was in fact here to take us to the hotel. Scarily, the driver got lost. He repeatedly circled the same area numeous times, apparently searching for the hotel. In the end, I called the hotel manager from my mobile and had him direct the driver back to the hotel.

When we arrived, the rooms seemed decent. We had booked two rooms, one for two adults and one for three. The third bed in the room turned out to be a pull out from under the queen size mattress. The pull out was the size of a child's cot, and completely unsuitable for an adult to lie in, let alone sleep. Breakfast is also included in the room rates - and although we didn't expect much, what we received was even worse than our wildest imaginations: SCRAMBLED EGGS MADE WITH SUGAR! Disgusting!! However, as we had paid upfront, we were unable to leave the hotel and managed the best we could for the two nights that we were there. To those who choose to stay, make sure you get a room with a fan and an 'All out' mosquito power outlet, and order the omlette. Otherwise, you will get bitten.

All I can say is NEVER AGAIN. I will pay more to stay at the nearby Ramada or if the budget allows, the Marriott, and it will be worth every dollar.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chelvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

gujarat
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

It was the start to our trip in india from mumbai and it turned out to be worst nightmare. the hotel beach garden despite the fact that it was under construction, didnt inform us in advance and the work was continuing till later than midnight, even after we called the management to look after the matter, we also had problem with the mouses in the rooftop of our room which were dancing all over the night, although all that happening we tried to be calm and kept our patience, but the worse doesnt came yet.

On the second day of our staying, after our dinner at another resturant, we returned at the hotel room around 11:30pm, we thought to hav a shower which would be relaxing for us after a hectic day out, but while we were having a shower we saw a human face on the window pan of the bathroom who was trying to look inside the bathroom (peeping inside), which was not only terribly shocking but also frightening and unacceptable for us, we tapped the window and the man instantly went off, we alarmed the manager of that incident at the same time, who went and checked the backyard from where that man was looking and the only man who was there at time was frm the working staff. we also observed that the cover of the window was intentionally removed to make it easy to get a view of inside the bathroom. we bring that to the notice of the management as well which clearly stated that it was a fair case of intentional breach of our privacy.

it was totally a shocking moment for us as we never thought of going through that sort of experience during our trip in india which must be mention it wasnt the first as we had travelled lot places in different cities and never faced such problems. my girlfriend and me both were in terrible mental setback the whole night and that is the reason we vacated the hotel the very next morning after having a discussion with the manager of the hotel who was totally unprofessionally because he was trying to cover the things up without taking into consideration the seriousness of situation which we faced the previous night. We also have to mention that even we didnt call the police cause we felt fearful under that circumstances, beieving that the management will be taking the matter with high objective and totally professionally which didnt happen even though we settled the hotel bills, in that time they assure us that they will investigate the whole situation and surely find the guilty, the only thing they done after some days was to give us a call and say that the culprit was a man from the street which raised questions abt the hotel security and management.

it was really THE WORST experience which we faced and would never forget in our whole lives. WE FELT THE NEED TO UNDERLINE THE FACT TO EVERYBODY WHO THINKS TO GO TO THAT HOTEL ......TO PLEASE CHOOSE ANOTHER ACCOMODATION ELSEWHERE EXCEPT THIS BEACH GARDEN. TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE FOR ME AND MY GIRLFRIEND.

  • Liked — NOTHING AT ALL
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kumbhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2009

We have just come back from Mumbai (28/04-02/05) and this was one of the best Hotels we have stayed in in India! The Hotel is rated 2* but to my mind it was more of a 3* because we had a lovely room; the service was EXCELLENT and the room had fabulous A/C and a fan & we ordered food from their menu & the food was lovely. Definately recommend this hotel - we couldn't find a hotel in the mid-range price & this hotel definately was what we were looking for. It is around the corner from Juhu Beach and a walk away from larger hotels where you can have buffets; Italian restaurants and there is a coffee shop next door. We took a bus to Santa Cruz nearly everyday (5 rupees) this took 20 mins to the market where we brought loads of bargains. The staff wouldn't let us lift a bag/suitcase and came running when we needed anything & we couldn't fault anything about this hotel. Equipped with WIFI (need a password from reception) they even let us use their computer downstairs when we had problems

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TARAandAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2008

A pleasant surprise to find a hotel in a busy city like Bombay where staff took the time to listen and then get you exactly what you need. We had a special requirement as I travel with my pet cat, and they were kind enough to offer us a room with a balcony for her. The outside areas of the hotel are basic, but the room had everything a good hotel room should and was clean. They also provided us with wifi access.

The location was really nice as well, as the hotel is just opposite the Juhu beach and a stones throw away from shops, restaurants etc.

I would stay there again and recommend it to anyone going to Bombay.

  • Liked — The helpful and friendly staff a& the location.
  • Disliked — The main gate is hard to locate as its on a turn.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Zephiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Juhu
Hotel Bawa Continental
Hotel Bawa Continental
#76 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
452 reviews
Juhu
Citizen Hotel
Citizen Hotel
#136 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
200 reviews
Juhu
JC Chalet
JC Chalet
#372 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Garden Hotel
#315 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
107 reviews
Juhu
The Emerald - Hotel & Service Apartments
The Emerald - Hotel & Service Ap...
#93 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
392 reviews
Hotel Atlantic
#317 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beach Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beach Garden

Property: Hotel Beach Garden
Address: Opposite Juhu Beach, Mumbai (Bombay) 400049, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay) > Juhu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Beach Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Beach Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing