We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
3
1
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
1
2
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 7 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2017

This review is actually for Goa Bhavan Canteen and not for Goa Bhavan lodging facility. They serves awesome fish thalis at very very pocket friendly rates. I tried prawns thali, prawns rawa fry and clams (thisarya) masala. All the items are authentic goan style. They dont serve prawns rawa fry in prawns thali but their prawns curry was super awesome. Dont expect any fine dine experience here. They only have 6-7 tables and you might have to share your table. A must visit place.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank amsawant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 5, 2016 via mobile

I had heard about this place in a casual discussion and decided to head to this place with my daughter who is also a foodie and a fish lover.

It is on the ground floor in the goa bhavan building.A no frills eatery more like a "khanaval" of the old times.

We ordered two fish Thalis, a bombil fry, prawns masala, surmai fry and sol kadi.And the bill came to Rs.750.They serve a dry shrimp chutney and unlimited supply of curry, chutney, sol kadi etc.

Very good on taste, portion size and full paisa vasool. They have very limited seating approx 6 to 7 tables and on typical non veggie days like Wed,Friday, and Sunday.I had been on a Tuesday hence managed to get a table easily.

All in all a very good place for good food at honest prices.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Avadhoot G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2016 via mobile

The fried fish and Bombay duck is great , rest is edible ... food on the go .. small joint to satisfy Goan cravings ... can join a person on the table if there is no place .. clean and quick ! No long waiting

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Tejaswini K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2016

The canteen at Goa Bhavan guest house serves some extremely flavourful Goan style food. The place is basic with canteen style seating. No fancy fare here but simple basic Goan fare and very budget friendly too. The Goan fish curry is beautiful and fragrant with fresh fish and rice. The Mandeli fry is crisp and a perfect accompaniment to the meal.Do not expect any facilities or amenities here but be assured of some lovely authentic Goan food.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank eagertraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2015

The location is good, however, the building is long due a face lift. The restaurant servers only fish curry, which is good, however if you've got kids, then you will need to find another restaurant, of course if they like little spicy then fine, but really small kids normally dont eat much of the curry.
Rooms are actually quite nice, however, it needs paint and plaster work. Worse thing I have faced is a water shortage !! The wall plaster is comming off badly all over the place inside the rooms as well as in the corriders, bathroom ceilings are full of fungus and is darkened. No TV, There was no water in the taps when we returned at 10 pm and needed to bath and wash...and the guard eventually brought 2 buckets of water to save the day, or else I would be in a major soup especially as I went to spend the night there with my family !!! The pharmacy is nearby that;s a good thing since it is 24 hrs open. For the price, I guess its okay, but really wouldnt hurt to keep it well maintained at least.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank KevinRandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews