We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taj Mahal vs Oberoi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Taj Mahal Palace
Ranked #3 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Taj Mahal vs Oberoi”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I've stayed at both the Oberoi and the Taj Mahal - the Oberoi is definitely the classier choice - impeccable service, 5 star with no limits - but the hotel has little Indian flavor to it, it could be located in any major city in the world. Guests who stay here are typically business people or wealthy Indian families. The only disappointment was the internet: My reservation said "room with wifi access" - which means exactly that: you can access the wifi, but not the internet (!!) unless you pay extra. For a 5* hotel, mentioning that the room has wifi access is like mentioning it has running water...

The Taj has the historic side to it, service is also great, but when you enter the reception area it quickly becomes clear that this is where foreign tourists flock to - colorful t-shirts, shorts, sunglasses, sandals... and at the reception they hang a chain of flowers around your neck. Excellent location of course right next to the Gateway to India.
BTW: If you do chose to stay at the Taj, I would recommend staying in the Palace rather than the tower. Both are 5 stars, but the tower was only built a few decades ago, while the Palace is the century old palace you always see on pictures.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Felix_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,443
    957
    245
    62
    85
See reviews for
1,257
2,478
571
1,411
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,592)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I had a privelege of staying at Taj for a day and it makes you feel a part of TATA's history and India's too.

View is great, Staff friendly and they made my B'day a life time memory... ( i visited on my B'day ). Staff has senta cake and champgne bottle to the room ( facing Araina sea and Gateway of India).

You should be there to experiene that.

Room Tip: Ask for Heritage building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_mastana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

From check-in to check-out the Taj Mahal hotel staff make you feel special. The traditional welcome, the customizing of dishes in the restaurants on request, friendly smiles and an ever helpful attitude sets hospitality of this hotel apart from the others. The spa services were excellent and the food in the restaurants was a delight. Granted its a splurge but its well worth it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isha135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.K
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I need to say.. I travel the world for a living and stay in countless hotels, The Taj Mahal Palace is not a hotel, the staff here will make you feel like a King.

Its memories like this that you look back upon in years to come and even though its a little more expensive than your average 5 star, you will not regret it! I will now stay here every time I come to Mumbai - well worth that little extra

Go on, just like I did... give it a chance and tomorrow I guarantee you will recommend it to someone else! make your dreams come true

Room Tip: I stayed on the 19th Floor with a city view - a small balcony you can go out on is nice to see the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here for approx 4 days in Feb 2012. We deliberately chose a high class hotel to help offset the 'challenge' which is Mumbai and wow what a fabulous hotel this is. We were lucky enough to stay in the old part of the hotel rather than the tower and definately felt like we were in a place steeped in history.

In balance the food was pretty ordinary in the hotel and the India restaurant was dissapointing and very expensive - the learning is to eat out.

My recommendation is to try this hotel - i am sure that you can getting more modern and perhaps larger accomodation but you will not get this sort of old fashioned quality experience in many other hotels in the World never mind Mumbai.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

check in - very friendly and welcoming . i was met at the front door and whisked up to my room in the palace wing to complete all formalities . soon after a butler arrived to show me around the room and explain the services offered
room - i was upgraded to a large suite . very tastefully furnished , and extremely comfortable . separate lounge area , dining area and hall - all with beautiful paintings/ornaments . large walk in closet and dressing room with ample space .
huge bathroom with separate shower and large spa bath
club lounge - a good selection of books and magazines , very good snacks /drinks . service in the club lounge was quite slow , and definitely not as friendly as the rest of the hotel
in room dining/ breakfast/restaurants - all excellent , and very good value too
the best part was the service - undeniably the best i have experienced so far
there is excellent security throughout the hotel without it being in your face

Room Tip: definitely go for a room in the palace wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hopelands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I'd been in India for 4 weeks when I stayed at the Taj and was ready for a bit of luxury. I spent 3 nights there and it really is a haven in the middle of manic Mumbai. All feels very grand: service, food and surroundings are all excellent. Also worth visiting the spa - the deep tissue massage I had was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
1.5 km away
The Oberoi, Mumbai
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,133 reviews
1.5 km away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#9 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,930 reviews
1.6 km away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#29 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 km away
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,602 reviews
8.1 km away
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
#11 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,744 reviews
13.6 km away
Taj Lands End
Taj Lands End
#12 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj Mahal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj Mahal Palace

Property: The Taj Mahal Palace
Address: Apollo Bunder | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#3 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj Mahal Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1903, The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai is India's first luxury hotel. Offering panoramic views of the Arabian Sea and the Gateway of India, the hotel is a city landmark. The hotel offers 543 rooms including 54 suites, each adorned with original paintings and period furniture that exude an aura of old-world charm and elegance. The restaurants at The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai offer distinctive dining experiences that cover the finest Indian and international cuisines - from casual, all-day eateries to Oriental, Japanese, Indian and Mediterranean fine dining. The hotel also houses the first licensed bar of Mumbai and also a beautiful sea-front restaurant for hi-tea and live music. Palace Services in the Palace Wing of the hotel add to the experience, where the butler plays the all important role of guide and assistant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoftTaj, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Taj Mahal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal Palace Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
Taj Hotels
The Taj Mahal Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
The Taj Mahal Hotel
The Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing