We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Service Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Taj Mahal Palace
Ranked #4 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Impressive & fantastic service. Out of this world hospitality that will leave you in awe & bliss.....From the Concierge desk to the Check-in counter to House-Keeping nothing was amiss..we were celebrating our 35thAnniversary & we were pamapered. Special mention will also go to the Director of Sales who helped me with registration & all the last minute details Ms. Shaheen Rajguru.....She was great! Keep up the great legacy. Shy from Canada

Room Tip: Room facing the Arabian Ssea & on the top Most Floor is outstanding.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShyToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,107)
There are newer reviews for The Taj Mahal Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,672 - 5,678 of 7,107 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

Our flight came into Mumbai quite early in the morning. We were met by someone from the hotel and escorted to a pre-booked car. A friendly and informative driver kept us fully abreast with information about the areas and sights we passed through on the way into the hotel. It immediately became apparent that arranging to be met at the airport is a good idea for anyone unfamiliar with the organised chaos that is urban India.
Despite our arrival some hours before check-in time we were graciously received in the small separate reception hall reserved for guests staying in the Palace section of the hotel and, after a welcoming pot of tea and plate of biscuits in the elegant wood panelled and richly decorated Palace Club room (which is available complimentary to guests in the Palace section of the hotel and has newspapers, internet and refreshments available and served by hospitable and quite charming under-butlers throughout the day), taken up to our room.
The room was comfortable with everything we needed and commanded a stunning view over the Gateway to India, directly across the road, and beyond over the Arabian Sea.
The hotel premises exude a clubby, luxurious, yet informal feel.
There is a generous choice of places to eat. The complimentary breakfast in a dining room alongside the spectacular swimming pool was excellent with a wide choice of western and local dishes available.
A must-do is the historical tour of the hotel conducted by one of the duty managers every afternoon at 5.30. it really was most interesting and presented with humour and panache by Verin Desa.
The area of Colabar in which the hotel is situated is charcaterised by some beutiful Victorian and Edwardian architecture and we felt safe wandering around this relatively clean and well-kept part of the city on our own during daylight hours.
We felt quite at home in this hotel and would happily return.
We did hear that the experience of staying in the Tower wing was nowhere near as good, so would recommend specially booking a room in the Palace, and preferably sea-facing.

Room Tip: Stay in the Palace wing and reserve a sea-facing room.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChapmansChaunce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

i have stayed at some superb hotels in my travels,but the Taj must be the best-compared to others this hotel is better than home!-any needs ,any hr,and you got them-please stay there and enjoy a sublime place of beauty-especially when you see elegance wrapped in a sari - value of around $250,000-you see the best at the TAJ.-SUPERLATIVE.-ROY-AUSTRALIA

Room Tip: book in early as you can as the hotel used to book up to 110% to cover no-shows
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roy55mcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The Taj Palace is impressive - impressive architecture, impressive pedigree, impressive location, impressive energy. For all these reasons we had expected more than the experience delivered. The hotel is large and teeming with guests and tourists alike. Service is good, but impersonal. We ate breakfast in a large room overlooking the Gateway of India, which also felt cold and impersonal. We dined at the Japanese restaurant in the hotel and were very disappointed - the quality of the food and the amount on the bill were miles apart. I enjoyed meandering down the hallway, looking at pictures of previous guests, but this didn't make up for the fact that the stay overall didn't meet our (admittedly high) expectations.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JezebelleH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Probably the best service of any hotel I have stayed at in the world. Excellent food and a staff ready to go the extra mile.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shayanhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

A beautiful hotel -- as fresh and gorgeous as I remember from my stays there as a child.

The service at this hotel is impeccable. We stayed in the old Taj portion of the hotel. I could just gaze down the hallways and into the rooms all day. They are so spectacular. My children were quite taken with the TV in the bathroom mirror.

I felt pampered from start to finish of our two day stay. The poolside is gorgeous as always. As is the upstairs restaurant in the old Taj. The staff were gracious and remembered our favorite dishes and tea preferences from day to day.

I did miss the Shamiana and the lovely little indoor fountain beside it. I believe they were damaged in the attacks in 2008.

A real treat. If you can't stay, visit for tea and take a walk around the hotel. Plan on taking a few minutes to get through security.

Room Tip: You pay extra for rooms in the old Taj but just walking in those halls is an experience.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayatoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

One of the most famous hotels in the world and you can tell the moment you enter the lobby. The place is bustling with tourists from every corner of the world. The heritage wing is beautiful and worth seeing. The tower wing looks like a 70s business hotel. The grounds are beautiful and the location can't be beat. The service in the restaurants are poor and the business support services are terrible. So if you are going for a night as a tourist go for it. I would avoid for business and a longer stay.

Room Tip: Tip: By all means stay in the heritage wing if you can, avoid eating in the hotel, it's Mumbai...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
1.5 km away
The Oberoi, Mumbai
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,207 reviews
1.5 km away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#9 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,082 reviews
1.6 km away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#29 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 km away
Taj Lands End Mumbai
Taj Lands End Mumbai
#12 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,635 reviews
8.1 km away
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
#11 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,867 reviews
16.6 km away
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj Mahal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj Mahal Palace

Address: Apollo Bunder | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#4 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $240 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj Mahal Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1903, The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai is India's first luxury hotel. Offering panoramic views of the Arabian Sea and the Gateway of India, the hotel is a city landmark. The hotel offers 543 rooms including 54 suites, each adorned with original paintings and period furniture that exude an aura of old-world charm and elegance. The restaurants at The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai offer distinctive dining experiences that cover the finest Indian and international cuisines - from casual, all-day eateries to Oriental, Japanese, Indian and Mediterranean fine dining. The hotel also houses the first licensed bar of Mumbai and also a beautiful sea-front restaurant for hi-tea and live music. Palace Services in the Palace Wing of the hotel add to the experience, where the butler plays the all important role of guide and assistant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Taj Mahal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal Palace Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
Taj Hotels
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
The Taj Mahal Palace Hotel
The Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing