We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Completely Oberated!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oberoi, Mumbai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Oberoi, Mumbai
Ranked #1 of 439 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Completely Oberated!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

If you are seeking a "7 Star" experience, I advise you to try another property.

Due to a snafu at the airport, we needed to stay an extra night in Mumbai and were able to secure a room at the Oberoi. Based on its reputation and despite the additional 500 USD cost, we were expecting our experience at the hotel to ameliorate our frustration with Jet Airways. Unfortunately, the entire experience from check-in to check-out was well below our expectations and not comparable to the Four Seasons - Mumbai where we had spent the previous five nights before our planned departure or the Leela Palace where we stayed while in Delhi.

Essentially, at this level of hotel, I expect to feel pampered and special and that was not our experience at the Oberoi - Mumbai.

Specifically, we arrived at the hotel at 9 in the evening after spending 5+ hours in the airport and reception immediately took full payment on our credit card and then told us that our room was not ready. This was incomprehensible to me as it was past 9 and I was offered no explanation or even a beverage to placate us while waiting.

Rather than sulking (which is normally my nature) we decided to make the best of our time and had dinner and drinks in the hotel while waiting for someone from reception to bring us our room key. As you can probably guess, no one from reception came to find us and we needed to go back to reception to finally get a key.

When we were finally brought to our room, it was surprisingly small (probably half the size of the Four Seasons). Despite there being 2 of us, the room was set up for 1 person (IE, it contained only one robe, one pair of slippers, one bottle of water, etc). I mentioned this to the bell staff when they brought the bags and was told that someone would come back to take care of it. About 5 minutes after they left, a greeter arrived to bring us 1 welcome drink! After about 10 minutes of waiting, I got impatient and pressed the butler button (this actually was the one fun part as I really had no idea how to use a butler) and magically in seconds a very helpful gentleman showed up. After explaining the situation to him, he brought extra water and a matching set of everything else.

With respect to dinner and breakfast, we ate in Fenix. The breakfast buffet was unimpressive. And while the staff were friendly, the pace of service was Caribbean like (don't worry be happy mon), which would have been okay except we did not have extra time.

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable, though a bit on the squeaky side. The common space, pool area, and lobby bar all looked clean and comfortable.

Further, to check-in we were required to provide passports, business cards, and credit card. Yet, our last name was misspelled – making it a challenge to sign on to the internet. Rather than correct the spelling, we were required to sign-on using the wrong name.

After departing, we completed their survey. A manager called us in the States to apologize for our inconvenience and offered to try and make it up to us if we returned to Mumbai.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank surrealus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your message.

I appreciate you taking out the time to take my call a few days back. Infact I tried calling you last evening, however I was unable to reach you, hence have left a voice mail.

At the outset please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. For the past two days we have investigated each aspect of your stay in detail and have initiated corrective measures.

May I request you to treat this incident in isolation and let it not mar the impression of the hotel, as it is our earnest endeavour to provide you with the highest level of service and to ensure that your stay with us is truly most enjoyable.

Please do give us another opportunity as I am confident you will have a brilliant stay with us. Do let me know when you plan to visit us again, as I will be delighted to look after all aspects of your stay personally.

I do hope that you have the occasion to visit us again and we assure you of our best service and attention at all times.

Thank you,

Best wishes,
Nitesh Gandhi
Hotel Manager
nitesh.gandhi@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,651
    265
    39
    12
    6
See reviews for
337
524
159
662
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

This was obviously the scene of a tragic event recently but the Oberoi has been restored and the hotel and its staff are fantastic. Rooms are beautiful, service excellent and the food was amazing. The breakfast is not to be missed.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ooost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your wonderful review with the TripAdvisor community.

The entire team is overwhelmed to read your fantastic comments. We are all pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you,

Best wishes,
Nitesh Gandhi
Hotel Manager
nitesh.gandhi@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed at the Oberoi for our Wedding Anniversary and must say Oberoi is Hospitality at its best.The staff was very courteous.We had an amazing time at ziya with its 5 course dinner and wine.Our room had a the complete sea view.Overall a great Experiance :)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManishaParag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

The entire team feels so proud to read your heartfelt review. Thank you for recognizing our unique ways of delighting our guests, which is truly inspiring for us all.

We look forward to your return and assure you of our best service and attention at all times.

Thank you,

Best wishes,
Nitesh Gandhi
Hotel Manager
nitesh.gandhi@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Perfect place to relax, chill and have a blast! Good food, great ambience, friendly staff. Pleasant room decor with a fantastic view of Marine Drive, Nariman Point with A1 facilities!! Also, a wonderful location to host a pool party.

Room Tip: definitely a sea-view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globetrotter4ever9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate you sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

The entire team feels energised to read such a fabulous review. We are all pleased to learn that you had a most comfortable and a relaxed holiday.

We do hope that you have the occasion to visit us again in the not too distant future.

Thank you,

Best wishes,
Nitesh Gandhi
Hotel Manager
nitesh.gandhi@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amstetten, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed at the Oberoi, Mumbai over the weekend and were overwhelmed by the staff's desire to please us and ensure our stay was memorable - they achieved it by a wide margin!

Having stayed with most of the 5* chains in India (Taj, Leela, Hyatt, Le Meridien, etc) this was our first time at an Oberoi and I can safely say that the service level was way beyond anything we've experienced. The degree of personalization, engagement, attention to detail, accompanied by a willingness to go well beyond the normal call of duty is absolutely admirable and present in each interaction.

We dined at Ziya (contemporary Indian restaurant) and the food was very good but be warned that the servings or appetizers are large enough to compromise your appetite for the mains. The desserts, especially the chocolate platter and a trio of mousse with Bailey's ice cream were fantastic - I'd love to visit the restaurant again if only to have these desserts!

Though this is a business oriented hotel, it didn't detract from our experience, courtesy their splendid staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanking you for staying at The Oberoi, Mumbai and sharing your wonderful experience with the TripAdvisor community.

We are so inspired to read such a fantastic review. The team at The Oberoi is committed to quality service and it is your feedback that motivates all of us to sustain and enhance our focus on small details. We believe that these small details make a big difference and help us to generate some very special moments for our guests.

We thank you once again and look forward to your continued visits at The Oberoi, Mumbai.

Best wishes,
Nitesh Gandhi
Hotel Manager
nitesh.gandhi@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Thank you to everyone at the Oberoi Mumbai for a superb experience. Compared to 5 star global hotel standards you right there along with the best and excelled. Loved the in-room check-in service- very professionally done. Hotel is well located for tourists and the vibe in the area is incredible. Food at the restaurants was excellent. Also appreciated the room amenities and the television above the bathtub...

Thank you once again and all the best to everyone at the Oberoi!

Room Tip: High floor and sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FatimaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

We at The Oberoi feel proud to read your wonderful review. All of us are delighted to know that your stay was enjoyable. Your appreciation for our team members is heartening and I am glad you could take back fond memories of the hotel with you.

We look forward to your return and assure you of our best service and attention at all times.

Thank you,

Warm regards,
Nitesh Gandhi
Hotel Manager
nitesh.gandhi@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed in The Oberoi during our business trip to Mumbai. We were picked up frothe international airport with a brand new Audi A8 organized by the hotel, the driver was waiting for us at the airport
Exit with a clear sign and was very friendlyand courteous.

The only downside is that the hotel is about 45 mins to an hours drive from the Airport, so if your staying for one night, it might be better to find a hotel nearer to the airport but if you are staying more than a night, then I would recommend this hotel for sure.

The hotel has recently been renovated with anew lobby and new rooms, fitted with the latest gadgets and wifi access etc.

Must try and request the high floors and Arabian sea facing rooms, as other rooms views and it worth looking out the window.

One thing we noticed is when giving directions to people who are suppose to visit us at the hotel, they tell his there are two oberois which one are you staying at? Upon further investigation we found out that there is indeed another hotel belonging to the owners of Oberoi called trident or something that is next to the oberoi, however the best way to describe the hotel is to tell them that it is the shortor of the two buildings, and that the tall building is called the trident.

Breakfast was great, all types of food was available, western, local indian dishes as well.

Highly recommend the hotel for travelers to Mumbai.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your views with the TripAdvisor community.

All of us are all thrilled to know that you were pleased with the overall ambience of the hotel and the services catered by our team.

We have a twin hotel complex in South Mumbai namely The Oberoi, Mumbai and the Trident Nariman Point.

The team is delighted to know that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We have 3 speciality restaurants i.e. Fenix, which is an all-day dining restaurant that serves the best of world cuisine, Ziya, the new Indian restaurant, which is under the direction of the twice Michelin starred Chef Vineet Bhatia and Vetro is the Italian restaurant, which presents the best of traditional and modern Italian cuisine.

We appreciate you recommending The Oberoi, Mumbai and hope to be your preferred destination when you are in Mumbai.

Warm regards,
Nitesh Gandhi
Hotel Manager
nitesh.gandhi@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
1.5 km away
The Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 439 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,150 reviews
0.1 km away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#8 of 439 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,654 reviews
16.4 km away
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 439 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 km away
JW Marriott Mumbai Sahar
JW Marriott Mumbai Sahar
#4 of 439 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
7.5 km away
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
#12 of 439 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
1.4 km away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#28 of 439 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi, Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Mumbai

Property: The Oberoi, Mumbai
Address: Nariman Point, Mumbai (Bombay), India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Oberoi, Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Mumbai Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Oberoi Hotels Mumbai
Oberoi Bombay
The Oberoi Mumbai
Oberoi Hotel Bombay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing