We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location but needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Ranked #34 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Spent 2 nights here on our arrival to Mumbai in December.
Average accomodation and food in the restaurant.
The saving grace was the central location
Staff are pleasant but the hotel is in dire need of updating and refurbishment.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank modoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (840)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

682 - 688 of 840 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

We were kept awake until after 1am every night with the incessant noise from the Bar. We asked to move after the first night from floor 4 to a higher floor but were told no. At "chucking out time" the noise spilled out onto the street where lots of honking cabs came to pick up their fares. Lots of people stood shouting and hollering at the front of the hotel and also some of the night staff, security and doorman, joined in!!!. The rooms were fine, the breakfast service non existant, surly non english speaking/ understanding staff made for a very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank homesteads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Here we are again on our travels and unfortunately chose the Fariyas via TravelBag recommendation.

Forget 4 star this place has never seen 4 stars or 3, at best it is 2 and that is being generous.

No one tells you that the Hotel is adjacent to Mumbai's most deprived area and slums just 300 yards away, no one tells you that the noise from the traffic and constant horn blowing is 24/7.

The hotel staff by in large are pleasant but mainly paying homage to lip service making the best out of what they have here which really is mediocre.

The whole place is very dated and in need of a good lump of investment to bring it up to scratch, the place is not exactly falling down but very very tired indeed.

A pool is boasted but to be fair you would not put goldifsh in it, it is really poor. However, using this hotel means you are centrally located. Although the slums are close by you do not have to go into that area if you do not wish to. Also, the night life is wide and varied and a must is a visit to Leopolds Cafe.

The Hotels redeeming feature if there was one would be its food in the restaurant, very authentic Indian mixed with a little western to appeal to all, the occasional live entertainment however made the whole experience a disaster.

Would we use the Fariyas again ? Simple answer, NO. Spend a little extra and stay at the TAJ PALACE 10 minutes down the road opposite the "Gateway To India" another location featured in Slumdog Millionaire.

Last negative was that we were checking out and onward flight to Hong Kong was not until 0200, we asked if we could retain some basic ammeneties as checkout was 12.00 and was told simply NO!!!!

You pay ya money you takes ya choice.

Room Tip: Cancel and go to the TAJ
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ferrarilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

The hotel may be situated in the heart of the shopping centre of Colaba but it is overpriced, not maintained, walls need a paint over, corners are peeling, rooms are not vacuumed, furniture is not polished, service was poor and lacked hospitality,curtains need laundering etc. The point is that it cannot compare to the other 4star hotels that I visited in Delhi, Rishikesh,Mathura and Jaipur. Even the local Know Your City Magazine Issue Dec 2011, gives this hotel a 3star rating but the manager does not agree. This hotel is solely for the purpose of shopping and certainly not for family holidays. Even the swimming pool picture on the brochure is that of another hotel not the Fariyas Hotel in Colaba. Other travelers who recommend this hotel certainly know no better.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank Ravik451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Hotel and accommodations were fine as was the reception and front staff. But cannot really say that about the bar and restaurant staff, however, as they were uniformly slow and somewhat uncaring about their customers.

But the title of this review comes from the evening we were too tired to have dinner elsewhere so ate in the restaurant. Food was fine (pretty good, actually). There was a live singer and keyboard who were basically average. Not great, not bad. At least they were on key. We were not happy with all western music and Christmas carols(!) but it was what it was.

We were asked to fill out a survey form (food, service, and so on) which had us rate the various components on a scale of excellent, very good, or average. That was it, just three choices. So I checked (ticked?) average for the entertainment.

Within minutes a cadre of management types and their thugs descended on the table (at least 6 of them maybe more behind me) and demanded to know why I had the nerve to rate them average. My first thought was to respond, "because you don't have poor as a choice" but glanced at the muscle and replied, "because they are."

Continuing, "they are competent and not unpleasant but if they were wonderful they would be playing the Taj or the Intercon."

The manager guy went into a song and dance about how they do all this and that to provide quality entertainment and how we had no idea of how anything in the restaurant business operates and so on. I went back to my curry in the middle (which apparently is never to be done when being berated by someone supposedly one's superior). I'm betting that survey never made it to the GM's desk.

Also, they never expressed their appreciation for my effort with a free dessert or tea. Ingrates.

Seriously, the overall place is a nice 3-star hotel which is convenient, clean, and quiet. Just don't mention "average" around management. Yes, I would return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kairho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Our stay at Fariyas was a comedy of errors: returning to our room after 5pm to discover it hadn't been cleaned, having to ask for simple amenities like towels and soap, being told that we had to move rooms only to be made to wait around whilst confused staff struggled to locate where we had been moved to and in the end not moving us at all. The location of the hotel is good but it is seriously in need of refurbishment: the lift is temperamental, air cons smell musty,breakfast are mediocre and staff are poorly trained.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shivani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We arrived late, about 11 pm.. In the lobby, there was very loud music coming from the hotel's Tavern door that frequently opened as young party goers came and went. The sole elevator is quite small, so had to take turns with the party goers, using it to get to my roos. My room was dark. Switches didn't work, and no place to insert my keycard to enablel the lights. No problem. I was not going to sleep there! The room smelled intensely of cigarette smoke. Went back to the front desk and requested nonsmoking room, emphasizing that it be a quiet room. The front desk personnel were polite and helpful. My next room smelled fine, and the bed was nice. However, it was above the restaurant patio, which was noisy with patrons. The desk assured me that the restaurant would close in 30 minutes. Eventually it grew quiet by midnight, and I did have a reasonably good night's rest in the end.

Room Tip: Ask for nonsmoking room, higher floor away from streetside, Tavern and restaurant might work better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misty9685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#30 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,395 reviews
The Gordon House Hotel
#83 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
275 reviews
Hotel Suba Palace
#58 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gateway of India
Hotel Residency Fort
Hotel Residency Fort
#17 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,806 reviews
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#70 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
485 reviews
Trident, Nariman Point
#9 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fariyas Hotel Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fariyas Hotel Mumbai

Address: 25 Arthur Bunder Road | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400005, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#28 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#60 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $104 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fariyas Hotel Mumbai 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fariyas Hotel, Mumbai - the hotel that is perfectly in sync with the needs of today's savvy business executive. Located just off the Colaba Causeway, it's right in the heart of the city, yet far from the bustling crowds. At Fariyas, you are just ten minutes away from the business districts of Nariman Point, Ballard Estate and The World Trade Centre. Its scenic location offers a breathtaking view of the harbour. And it's just 2 minutes away from the Gateway of India and other historical sites like the Prince of Wales Museum, David Sassoon Library to name a few. You can strike the best deals at the shopping arcades of Colaba Causeway from handicrafts to carpets and from books to haute couture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fariyas Hotel Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fariyas Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing