We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, very near to airport”
Review of The Orchid Mumbai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Orchid Mumbai
Ranked #55 of 447 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good hotel, very near to airport”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

A very good 5 star property located just beside the airport, which makes it earn more points. Rooms are very well designed to match the comfort. must try out the buffet lunch. it has a very good spread of both the main course and desserts, This property also accomdates no of banquet rooms.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritzy313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gupta_Rajesh, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for investing your valuable time to exemplify the experience with The Orchid, Mumbai. We express our gratefulness towards the same.

We are humbled with your positive response. This is our pursuit to keep our guest satisfied; we constantly thrive to maintain consistency to provide our guests an ace of services in regards to every segment of hospitality experience. We’re glad to serve you with an excellent service and our specialty cuisine.

It is our utmost honor to comfort you with the league of hospitality services and making your stay pleasurable.

Please share your contact details with us as our team would like to get in touch with you.
We look forward to having you back soon and please feel free to contact us on fnb@orchidhotel.com before your next visit so that we can take care of any special requirements that you may have.

Warm Regards,
The Orchid Mumbai – “Friendly. Eco-Friendly”
Asia’s First Certified Ecotel Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    597
    307
    135
    138
See reviews for
241
164
141
979
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Am a frequent traveller...I chose this hotel with attractive package ( Corp Booking)..& I was proved right by hotel. It is a good hotel for people travelling for business purposes & the proximity to the airports makes it suitable for that. The hotel will provide the pickup facility from the airport once infomormed.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoneshGaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gupta_Rajesh, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for investing your valuable time to exemplify the experience with The Orchid, Mumbai. We express our gratefulness towards the same.

We are humbled by your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better.

It is our utmost honor to comfort you with the league of hospitality services and making your stay pleasurable.

Please share your contact details with us as our team would like to get in touch with you.
We look forward to having you back soon and please feel free to contact us on fnb@orchidhotel.com before your next visit so that we can take care of any special requirements that you may have.

Warm Regards,
The Orchid Mumbai – “Friendly. Eco-Friendly”
Asia’s First Certified Ecotel Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed at Orchid Mumbai for one night, the experience was very good. It is very near the domestic airport, very convenient for transit or business purpose, good airport transfer facilities included in the price.

The buffet breakfast was very good with a lots of hot and cold dishes to choose from. The service was very slow, both in the rooms and in the restaurant. The buffet dinner is very expensive for what it is. It has no good amenities nearby.

Room Tip: We had very good size room on the first floor very near the fountain, from where the view is excella...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank w1snk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gupta_Rajesh, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for investing your valuable time to exemplify the experience with The Orchid, Mumbai. We express our gratefulness towards the same.

Understanding your matter of basic prerequisite, the same has been shared with our management; we assure you the incomparable visit next time. We apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay.

We’re glad to serve you with an excellent service and our specialty cuisine; we assure that we avail you with the same league of services. Guest satisfaction is our ultimate priority and we constantly try to maintain it.

Your input is imperative and hence it won’t be overlooked.

Please share your contact details with us as our team would like to get in touch with you.

We look forward to having you back soon and please feel free to contact us on fnb@orchidhotel.com before your next visit so that we can take care of any special requirements that you may have.

Warm Regards,
The Orchid Mumbai – “Friendly. Eco-Friendly”
Asia’s First Certified Ecotel Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
148 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

High expectations were created by the hype around the ecotel concept and the restaurants but this was belied by the lacklustre service and reception at check in.
Apart from the proximity to the domestic airport, this hotel does not have many USPs. The speciality restaurant Vindhyas could have been an attraction but the fare is highly overpriced.The lobby is somewhat cramped and gets very busy and overcrowded sometimes.
The rooms are fairly large and comfortable but no views to speak of. Mine overlooked an office block.
Room Service was efficient but the range on offer is limited.
Internet connectivity is complimentary and of high quality.
There should be a good reason for tourists and the business traveller to select this hotel given the large choices which are available elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vayudoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gupta_Rajesh, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We, the team at ‘The Orchid Mumbai’ would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us!

Apologize for the experience you had with us. We would request you to treat this as an isolated experience and not a reflection of our usual standards.

Your feedback has been shared with the team. We assure you will note a difference on your next visit.

Please share your contact details with us as our team would like to get in touch with you. We look forward to having you back soon and please feel free to contact us on fnb@orchidhotel.com before your next visit so that we can take care of any special requirements that you may have.

Warm Regards,
The Orchid Mumbai – “Friendly. Eco-Friendly”
Asia’s First Certified Ecotel Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Well there is hardly anything positive to say about this experience. USD 150 per night (negotiated contract rates!!!) is a total rip-off considering the quality and service level. This so called 5 stars hotel does not deserve more than 3. But i am not so sure it is about the hotel or the country as it seems hotels in India and Mumbai are very expensive for a very poor quality and service.

The hotel itself is located near the airport, but 10-30 minutes from the airport (because of the huge chaos on the roads in Mumbai). Nice lobby, probably the best area of the hotel.
Pretty efficient check-in and out despite the heavy (Indian) bureaucracy.

Room not too mall completely outdated. HUGE problem with cleanliness! Obviously they know nothing about it, dirt everywhere, bad smell in the room, impossible to open the window to "air" the room. I am not very picky on all this but we reach here a high level of pissing around for this price level.

Breakfast is well below standard, no seat available and no staff willing to help at all. DIY!
Here also, flatwares, glasses, plates not clean. Is there any international standard in this hotel?

On the "positive" side, bed quiet comfortable, shower ok and WIFI internet connection working ok. Roof top bar quiet nice with a swimming pool (of bacteria?), but overpriced food and drinks.

The "Ecotel" concept is a scam.

Overall, this hotel does not worth at all its 5 stars ranking. Only to be considered for his near the airport location, for a one night business trip if nothing else is available. The only reason why i give them a "poor" rating and not a "terrible" one.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raphael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gupta_Rajesh, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We, the team at ‘The Orchid Mumbai’ would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us!
We would request you to treat this as an isolated experience and not a reflection of our usual standards.

We appreciate your detailed review on various areas of improvement within the hotel. We have shared your review with respective teams. You will surely note a difference on your next visit.

Please share your contact details with us as our team would like to get in touch with you. We look forward to having you back soon and please feel free to contact us on fnb@orchidhotel.com before your next visit so that we can take care of any special requirements that you may have.


Warm Regards,
The Orchid Mumbai – “Friendly. Eco-Friendly”
Asia’s First Certified Ecotel Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

This is good for business purposes and for single night stays. It has a good cafe and restaurant. The rates are bit expensive as it is in Mumbai and close to the Airport. But if you pre book they give you a good rate.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gupta_Rajesh, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We, the team at ‘The Orchid Mumbai’ would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us!

Glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do enjoy a strategic location as we are in close proximity with the domestic & international airport. Also, connectivity to the Western Express Highway which makes it convenient to move around the city for guests staying with us.

Please share your contact details with us as our team would like to get in touch with you. We look forward to having you back soon and please feel free to contact us on fnb@orchidhotel.com before your next visit so that we can take care of any special requirements that you may have.


Warm Regards,
The Orchid Mumbai – “Friendly. Eco-Friendly”
Asia’s First Certified Ecotel Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Fantastic hotel. Best bang for the buck near the airport. They offer courtesy pick up and drop off at no charge which is incredible. Service is great and staff very friendly. Rooftop swimming pool is amazing and the spa is fabulous. If you are in Bombay and need a good hotel at a decent price with tons of amenities then stay here. Internet was free which is a plus but really slow. Food was delicious and great ambience. Rooms very spacious and bathrooms was big and clean. For such a wonderful and well kept hotel I was surprised to find the beds not the most luxurious. Other than that best value for money

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fezident P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gupta_Rajesh, General Manager at The Orchid Mumbai, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We, the team at ‘The Orchid Mumbai’ would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us!

Your feedback has been shared with our housekeeping team. On the Wi-fi front we are constantly trying to improve our network and we are sure you will note a difference on your next visit.

Please share your contact details with us as our team would like to get in touch with you. We look forward to having you back soon and please feel free to contact us on fnb@orchidhotel.com before your next visit so that we can take care of any special requirements that you may have.


Warm Regards,
The Orchid Mumbai – “Friendly. Eco-Friendly”
Asia’s First Certified Ecotel Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Vile Parle East
Ibis Mumbai Airport
Ibis Mumbai Airport
#52 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Sahara Star Hotel
#24 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,495 reviews
The Lalit Mumbai
#20 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Mumbai International A...
#14 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#16 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
Holiday Inn Mumbai International...
#35 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchid Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Mumbai

Property: The Orchid Mumbai
Address: 70 C Nehru Road, Vile Parle East | Vile Parle East, Mumbai (Bombay) 400099, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#42 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Orchid Mumbai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchid - An Ecotel Hotel in Mumbai is Asia's first certified eco-friendly five-star hotel. This 372- room hotel is strategically located adjacent to the domestic airport making it a convenient place for the business traveler to stay.The Orchid Hotel Mumbai presently offers the most unique luxury experience in the city that encompasses well appointed environment friendly rooms and suites which are stylishly designed, each boasting of lavishly adorned décor, luxurious ambience and modern services. All the guest rooms are fully air conditioned and replete with contemporary elements, Wi-Fi internet access, attached bath, telephone and television. The hotel also features a variety of lifestyle activities like an exclusive club floor with a private lounge, The Club Privé room, relaxing outdoor Pool, well-appointed business center, conference rooms and state-of-the art banquets. It has five specialty restaurants and outlets namely South of Vindhyas (represents a unique culinary concepts from South India), Mostly Grills (International fusion Open-air barbeque restaurant on the roof top), The Boulevard, (a 24 hours coffee shop located on the first floor serves delicious Indian, Continental and Asian cuisine), Merlin’s (Bar with Karaoke & a Bulgarian Band called Sparkles) and The Gourmet Shop (For cakes, snacks & sandwiches) that seemingly fit the business travelers needs. The 84 international awards reiterate the efforts of The Orchid of being a pioneer amongst environment friendly hotels.Our clientele form the who's who of the discerning international corporate. We, just like our discerning clientele believe in sustainable development and have created an experience where:"Deluxe need not disturb, Comfort need not compromise and Enjoyment need not be insensitive." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Orchid Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Mumbai Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Orchid Hotel Mumbai
Orchid Hotels Mumbai
The Orchid Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing