We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of West End Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
West End Hotel
Ranked #135 of 465 Hotels in Mumbai
Reviewed 18 February 2012

What can I say? Great hotel, nice price and pure history written all over it. Central location only a 15 min walk from the main train station and close to all the main attractions. Breakfast was excellent and the staff are really good. I would recommend this hotel to everybody/

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyJulieElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2012

This place is an absolute gem. Set in the Churchgate area of Bombay opposite Bombay hospital,it's a 25-minute walk to the heart of things in Colaba but a 20-rupee taxi ride. The service is classy and old-fashioned,including an elevator attendant. Rooms are retro and large and the velour-padded hotel bar is well worth a visit for the slick bar service and sixties atmosphere! There is no such thing as cheap accommodation in Mumbai but this was the best value we found; ask for a discount on published prices if staying more than a couple of nights. Recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

West End Hotel lobby is very impressive with staff around to help you take your cases up to your room. Our room on the 3rd floor was huge with a three piece suite and twin beds, which were very comfortable. The hotel is over the road from Mumbai hospital and we were expecting noise from that, but that was fine. The problem was that the floors are mostly tiled and above us you could hear every footstep and scraping of chairs. We could hear people walking in the corridor on the tiles and closing doors, so it was quite noisy really. It's a clean hotel but there's not many places to eat nearby and the hotel restaurant is expensive, so I think we would choose another hotel the next time we are in Mumbai.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadrunner444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Although the hotel is a little basic, it is in a great position, has very friendly and helpful staff, welcoming lobby and large rooms.

The room had a large double bed, very clean bed linen, two chairs, settee and a coffee table, writing desk and chair. Lots of space, airy and light.

The bathroom was very modern and spotlessly clean, it was more of a wet room than a bathroom.

Complimentary newspapers every morning.

WiFi available, but at a charge. Did not use, so cannot comment.

The staff were very helpful in assisting us with sending a parcel using a courier and storing our bags on the day of departure.

Nice restaurant, with a choice of Indian and continental dishes for breakfast. The waiter was very good at explaining all the Indian dishes to me, and even went and got me some that he thought I should try.

In the evening there was a choice of buffet or a la carte, we chose the menu as we are not great buffet lovers. The food was tasty ( we asked for it spicy, which they double checked was really what we wanted), plentiful and reasonably priced for a hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GreteHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

The rooms are large but the beds are not comfortable.Still carries teh old world charm and teh service is great .Buffet breakfast and dinner needs more variety and woudl do well fi we had some fresh fruits and new menus .
The hotel is located close to the commercial district and is well connected .Easily accesible by cab and the rates are reasonable .

Room Tip: away from the hospital side as teh hotel has teh Bombay hospital next door .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baalaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Very well kept 1970s-styled downtown hotel. Loved it. Friendly and accommodating staff; unbelievably clean rooms. Good facilities including wireless.

Loved it!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoamingJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

i had to go to Mumbai for medical conference at Bombay hospital, which is across the road from this hotel. So to avoid traffic of Bombay, I checked in here instead of the 5star hotel located 3 km away. Well, when i checked in at 1 AM, the place had 2 humans on duty who were half awake. Had to carry my luggage to the room on the first floor, no services were available. For late nite snack only untoasted bread sandwich was there. No menu. No cook, the sandwich was most probably done by the guard on duty!! the moment you enter the room, ( had booked a large corner room), a musty smell hits you, as if you entered a long closed cloak room in a dilapidated castle! the walls were lime white washed few years back, they are yellow now. AC was good and very functional. Bed was ROCK hard, with age old cotton mattress. Had 1 bed-sheet and a blanket, which didn't smell bad!! Bathroom was small. Supplied with the worst possible 10 gram soap with the most local brand shampoo packet. don't expect any toothpaste or brush. NO other facilities!! in bath, the bathtub was cracked, with hairs of previous customer visible!! And best of all, there is a soap dispenser, which is found at toilets at airports, dispensing cheap liquid soap for body wash. GREAT.
I expected food to bad, next morning, but was surprisingly good. Menu was VERY limited. But food was ok. I checked out as soon as the conference was over at 5 PM and waited at the airport which had better seats!

Room Tip: Avoid this, unless you need to go to the Bombay Hospital. Pay a bit more and choose the Internationa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiddoctor-delhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Marine Drive
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#109 of 465 in Mumbai
227 reviews
Marine Drive
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#70 of 465 in Mumbai
486 reviews
Gateway of India
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#133 of 465 in Mumbai
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Sahil Hotel
#28 of 465 in Mumbai
453 reviews
Marine Drive
Sea Green South Hotel
Sea Green South Hotel
#195 of 465 in Mumbai
92 reviews
Malabar Hill/Peddar Road
Krishna Palace Hotel
Krishna Palace Hotel
#94 of 465 in Mumbai
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Hotel

Address: 45, New Marine Lines, Mumbai 400020, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 465 Hotels in Mumbai
Price Range: $113 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West End Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your West End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing