We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Suba Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Suba Palace
Ranked #69 of 439 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

The hotel arranged a late night airport pick up. The man was there waiting for us (amongst the crowds!!), & he was very nice.
The hotel room had decent hot water & view outside window of the street which was interesting at times.
Hotel had good wifi.
Buffet breakfast was good also(although small). A mix of Indian & western.
Great location.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amoslandrybasket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    192
    85
    14
    17
See reviews for
77
142
47
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days at the beginning of our trip and then 1 day at the end. Whilst the area (the main tourist section of Mumbai) can be overwhelming, the hotel is a very calming and soothing place. The staff are friendly, and were happy to make recommendations for food or things to see. The rooms were clean, spacious, and had all the mod cons- a/c, large telly, safe etc. Breakfast was really good, fresh food being replenished and staff to help you get you tea and toast to order, or help you determine what it was you were eating (although there are continental breakfast options the curry options were better).

The location is brilliant, just a 5 min walk in one direction to the Gateway of India/ Taj Hotel and the Prince of Wales Museum in the other.

I can recommend the lamb chops at Ali Baba restaurant, on Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Marg and a wander around will bring you to a couple of western bars.

Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sleighLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

This is a "boutique" type of hotel - friendly doorman (and good security) at the street, friendly elevator operator, and friendly reception attendants. I stayed here over New Years 2011 and it doesnt get better than this for location and value. It is one block from the Gateway of India, directly behind the Taj Mahal Hotel (the most expensive in all of India) and walking distance to great restaurants, shopping, and museums. The breakfast room was bright and spotless, and the breakfast buffet offered anything you could think of for either a Western or Indian breakfast. I liked the mix of Indian and Western guests. This hotel is a winner!

Room Tip: They all seemed good. My room was right off the reception area - but it couldnt have been quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElissaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Decent, clean rooms, tasty breakfast and very helpful and friendly staff. Great location, close to the taj hotel and the gateway to india too. Make sure you make the short trip to khyber palace for one of your meals - great food there.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ben m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork,Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed here for 3 days at the start of our month long stay in india. The hotel is good for seeing the sights of mumbai and close to some really good restaurants. The rooms are a good size and are clean. Breakfast was good with a wide choice of different dishes. Hotel was more then I would have expected to pay for this level of hotel but by mumbai standards I think it is as good as you will get.
We did have a problem with someone trying to contact us and been told that we were not staying at the hotel. but on the whole it is ok.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Good choice in Colaba. Location is great and hotel is clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albertxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

I love this hotel...the beds are comfy, the breakfast is good, it's in a great location if u need to be in South Mumbai, it's clean and the renovations since my last stay here have lifted the 'vibe'. I think it's great value for money, and is my hotel of choice when in Mumbai :) Lady at reception was a bit matronly, lol, but efficient so no complaints. First stayed here 2008...and will definitely continue to return again and again...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBandRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.0 km away
The Gordon House Hotel
The Gordon House Hotel
#91 of 439 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.8 km away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#40 of 439 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#193 of 439 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#57 of 439 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Godwin
Hotel Godwin
#122 of 439 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.6 km away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#85 of 439 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suba Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suba Palace

Property: Hotel Suba Palace
Address: Near Gateway of India | Near Gateway of India, Mumbai (Bombay) 400039, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 439 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Suba Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Suba Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suba Palace Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing