We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location, Nice Hotel, Good Business Use” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shalimar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Shalimar Hotel
Ranked #61 of 440 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Location, Nice Hotel, Good Business Use”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Would definately happily stay here again on my next business trip. The bed was very comfortable. The working area was adequate. The bathroom was spacious. Lots of amenities. Breakfast was OK and restaurant fine. Large selection of veg/non veg and India/Western foods on the menu and for the room service. So, the hotel is nice, and it is great to be able to go out the door and be within walking distance of many shops/interests. Enjoyed my stay. Staff definately expects tips!

Room Tip: Mumbai is very quiet at night, but noisy during the day. If you need quiet I would definately ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Dear PumpkinPatch313

We thank you for providing a feedback of your stay with us.

We believe that guest comments and opinions go a long way in helping us constantly improve and upgrade our services and facilities. We have been rewarded by the recognition you have given us by these positive words.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    139
    67
    23
    18
See reviews for
137
98
83
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pearland, TX
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

I stayed at the shalier hotel with my kids in December. I will break it down by the positives and negatives.

Positives:
1. Location is excellent. Very close to great parks and central Mumbai.
2. Very clean property which is tough to find in India.
3. Excellent rooms and bathrooms. We stayed twice at property and I would have to say that the lifestyle suites are well worth it. Beautiful room.
4. Excellent hotel staff, 5 star service. It is true that staff expect tips. I would suggest that management raise wages and make a no tipping policy. This will greatly enhance guest experience.
5. Food is nice for breakfast.
6. Hotel manager is fabulous. I wrote many requests prior to my arrival and all were met. He is very responsive.
7. Great cake shop

Negatives:
1. If your room is not nonsmoking, has a smoke smell. They tried to remove smell as I have kids, this dis help some but not completely.
2. Spa services are very inadequate for four star property. My wife had pedicure and thought
the salon was a little dirty. This was very surprising at an otherwise very clean property.
3. Service in hotel restaurant is very slow. They have plenty of staff, but at times are just standing. Once when the toaster was broken, I had to wait 25 min for toast.

Even with a few negatives, the positives win out and this is a fabulous property. I travel a good bit in India, and my experience was better here than even at some 5 star properties like the Taj. I will definitely stay here again in Mumbai. With a few changes the hotel can be 5 star.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Texantraveladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Dear Texantraveladdict

We thank you for such a detailed feedback on your stay with us.

We have made note of all your observations and will definitely work towards improving on those areas. We have been constantly renovating and upgrading our facilities and I am sure things would keep getting better and better. We put in all efforts to ensure that every guest who stays with us, moves on with a positive thought and to get recognized for the same is indication enough that we are successful in our efforts.

We have always believed that our staff are our biggest asset and the reason behind our success. Your feedback would be an additional boost to their morale.

We look forward to welcoming you on your future visit to the city.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

My husband and I spent 6 nights during the busy pre-Christmas period (16th-21st December) at The Shalimar Hotel. That's the beginning of the most expensive period in Mumbai for hotel bookings up to the end of the first week in January. We had the cheapest room in their range and the room was more than adequate. Everything was very clean and we were both very happy there for the duration of our stay. We even had bathroom scales - which, after the amount of food I ate, I never used! We arrived extremely late - around midnight, but our arrival was expected and we received a very warm welcome from Mr. Darshil Patel, Front Office Supervisor. All the staff were extremely polite and helpful. Even Rose, the Housekeeper, recommended shops where I could buy Indian clothes. The only negative note was the banging of the workmen who were and still are working on the hotel during the day. As we went out sightseeing after breakfast and only came back for a shower and a short break in the afternoon, it did not impede on our stay. The work only starts from about 9am till late afternoon. We had a faulty light outside our room, which (when working) showed whether we wished for the room to be made up or not and, on reporting this, it was fixed on our return the same day. Breakfast was lovely. We ate the fruit with no hesitation (we are English and were keen to keep our tummies in good order lol) and the omelettes and dosas were delicious. Anyone who complains about having to wait for food and drink is obviously neither in the holiday mood nor understanding the Indian way of life. We were always happy with the speed of service, but a gentle reminder would always have speeded things along.

We visited the bar on two occasions late at night and the service was great. Obviously the prices are hotel prices and if you don't like what they charge, then you shouldn't go there. It's the same with the bottles of water, which some reviews mention. We never drank the tap water - I'm sure it was fine, but we didn't want to take the smallest risk - so we just bought bottled water and brought it into the hotel. A small bottle costs only about 13p!! We also took advantage of the Minibar, which on our arrival was a Godsend. As to the location - the most important thing when you are a tourist in Mumbai - it was excellent. We used to go outside the hotel and for 100 Rupees (£1.25p), plus a large tip (as we felt they well and truly earnt their money!), we rode to Colaba. I just kept my eyes shut whilst in the taxis - the rides were incredible. We had a great time and even took the ferry over to Elefanta Island. BTW we had a great meal there - very reasonably priced, especially as the beer prices are not governed by Mumbai taxes. Nearer to the hotel is the Golden Crown - about max. 15 mins walk - go under the flyover and straight on - it's on your right with the park to the left of it. Don't go into the downstairs restaurant (that's where they'll try to get you to go - that's the expensive part, which is less frequented), but go upstairs via the outside staircase and you will have a lovely meal - Indian and Chinese menu available. The service and food are great.

We think The Shalimar is a good bet for the price, location, service and facilities.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RainhamJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Dear miltonkeynesjill

We thank you for the detailed feedback on your stay with us. You have not only covered our services in minute detail, but also the sight-seeing spots in the city.

Each word is for us a moment of encouragement, and it will go a long way in boosting the morale of my entire team. We are happy that we could generate such fond memories in your minds.

Thank you for recognizing and appreciating our efforts in giving the best of Shalimar to every guest of ours.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

The shalimar hotel is beautifully situated in the core of the city , i always prefer taj mahal palace for my stay , this time selected Shalimar , the experience was execellent ,
Value for money

Good work done , Shalimar great work

Coming soon to have a beautiful stay

Room Tip: just go for it one of the best hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Dear nick s

We thank you for providing a feedback of your stay with us.

Such words of encouragement go a long way in boosting our morale and help us to continue offering the best of Shalimar to every guest.

We have made note of your probable visit to our hotel in future and we look forward to the same.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

As you first walk in to the rooms, you are welcomed by a strong musty stretch, the room has no ventilation, bathrooms have no exhaust fans, the windows don't open. Tiles in the bathrooms are cracked, carpet is dusty. They will charge you for everything, yes, that includes the usual complimentary bottle of water.
The breakfast, that is supposed to be open till 10 AM, reach at 9:15, and you will have to scrape the scaps from the buffet, to top it service sucks. The first day I had to wait 30 mins for just plain scrambled eggs. Had to ask waiters 3 times before I could get my 1st cup of coffee. Day-2, I was served coffee in a completely cracked cup, no not chipped, cracked from top to bottom.
The hotel itself is cramped, no place to swing a cat, dingy, the kind of place where people keep lingering till they are tipped.
I could confidently label this hotel, one of the worst I've ever had the misfortune to experience. Best avoided at all cost.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bon007voyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Dear Bon007voyage

We thank you for putting up your opinion on your stay with us.

We are a hotel which has been in operation for the last 49 years to be precise and have survived only on the basis of guest opinion and feedback. We appreciate genuine feedback from guests, as that has helped us over the years to constantly improve our facilities and services. We do not, in all fairness, appreciate camouflaged feedback, which is put up with intent to damage our reputation as one of the best hotels in our category.

We do have a monthly inventory process, whereby all crockery and cutlery is checked and replaced, as required. So, in all likelihood, it is not possible for a cracked cup to be in service. However, it was just a case of human error and it was changed immediately with an extension of an apology. In fact, it was observed just as it was being served to you and it did not cause any kind of damage.

As per our record, you walked into the restaurant for your Breakfast at 09:55, in spite of being clearly informed at Check In that the buffet shuts at 10:00. We also have on record that you left the restaurant at 10:30 after finishing your Breakfast. The duration clearly indicates that the scrambled egg took the normal preparation time that it would take. Further, it was served to you after Breakfast timings. You were served eggs on the second day as well, within normal serving timings.

We are a small hotel and have made maximum usage of space in the best possible manner. And this has been appreciated by a lot of guests, as well. We are probably one of the few Four Star hotels in the city or maybe the country, who have a Pillow Menu in place for guest comfort, a 10-inch mattress with a topper in several rooms, Theme based Lifestyle Suites, a fully packed mini-bar amongst various services that we can boast of. We also have a very high regard towards guest safety and security, wherein for a hotel our size, we have all entry and exit points, besides all guest floors, public areas and back areas under CCTV surveillance. Most of the hotels do not permit windows to be opened from a guest safety point of view, which is the case with us, also. To call this hotel “dingy” is also an unacceptable statement, as our rooms confirm to Department of Tourism standards. The lobby and other public areas are bright and well lit and the photos on Trip Advisor are testimony to that.

Carpets are not only vacuumed daily, but every alternate day, a carpet freshner is sprinkled to enhance the freshness and feel of the carpet. We also have a rigorous preventive maintenance schedule in place and a cracked tile is not present in all probability.

Offering mineral water or any other service at no charge is entirely at the discretion of the hotel. We have not claimed on any site that we are offering any services FREE, unless it is specific packages on our website or other sites, where an inclusion is part of the room charge itself. Charges for all services are determined through surveys conducted by hotel professionals and are prominently displayed, wherever possible and required.

Our employees, who are our greatest asset go through regular training process and to make a statement that they are lingering around for a tip is uncalled for and absolutely untrue.

We also have on record that you were demanding an extended check out at 4 pm at no extra cost. This was refused as we were not in a position to extend the same, due to high occupancy. You were however, given an extension upto 1 pm, in spite of it causing certain amount of inconvenience to us, whereby we had to offer a complementary upgrade to an higher category of room to the guest who had been booked to arrive at 1:30 pm, for whom the room you were occupying was blocked. Your feedback appears more to be a vindictive reaction to this refusal than anything else. However, we apologize for any service flaw that you have claimed or may have faced during your stay with us.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kovalam, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

i thought i should specifically mention how good the staff were. I lost my bag due to airline issues and arrrived at midnight. They arranged for everything for me (as a lone woman traveller it gets difficult) and went out of their way to settle me in with amenities and extras. They did not even charge me for the midnight snack (since i was so flustered). The hotel is also very well designed and comfortable. Kudos to the management for such an outstanding proporty.

Room Tip: side facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melissa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2011
Dear melissa s

We thank you for your feedback on your stay with us.

We are pleased to note that you have had a very memorable stay and have appreciated the services of our associates. We have always believed that our greatest asset and the key to our success is our people. Your words are definitely a morale booster to our associates.

We look forward to your continued patronage.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Mumbai is a delicious city that is STARVED for lack of reasonably-priced solid-quality hotels. In Chennai, Bangalore, and Delhi, you can find clean, pleasant, and modern hotel rooms for less than £90 or 4000 Rps per night with excellent breakfast. Not in South Mumbai. All the hotels at this price that I can find, in walking distance from hip areas, are old and dusty, and you will need to check at least two rooms before finding one that matches its description. Service is lazy and bored. There are no recognizable international chains with international standards. I'd normally never stay in a Holiday Inn but would be thrilled to find one in Mumbai.

So the Shalimar is okay. The bathroom was clean, everything worked (except the drain in the shower, but there was a secondary drain in the floor so crisis was averted); the staff are polite but apathetic (they never stand up for anything nor do anything but charge for things); the breakfast was fair--coffee was awful, service polite but glacially slow, buffet as messy and not memorable and certainly not acceptable when compared to hotels at the same rate in other Indian cities.

I was annoyed by the extra charge for wifi (330 Rps per day). It's not much but it's not nice either. Choose this hotel over, say the Residency (in Fort) which is really horrible but the same price. I stayed in Room 208 which was fine. Single bed (weird), blinking light, hammering noise at 8 a.m. on Sunday (hey this is India: it's a Work In Progress), and silly charge of 220 Rps for a bottle of water.

Will stay here if I can't find anything better, but I will continue looking.

Room Tip: Before you travel to Mumbai, go to http://nytimes.com and input "Mumbai" into the Search w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2011
Dear anes1

We thank you for providing a feedback of your stay with us.

From your profile, it is evident that you are a well travelled person. It is indeed surprising that room pricing in the city of Mumbai has been highlighted as an issue. Pricing is directly related to demand and supply and kindly note that the same rooms may be available in the Summer months on certain days at 20% lesser cost.

As a hotel, we value guest feedback the most, as it provides us with an insight into the expectations of a guest. We have succeeded in having a very high percentage of return guest with our focus on guest satisfaction and comfort. The observations that you have made regarding our services has been noted and we shall positively work on them. However, some of your points are quite unclear and generic in nature. We are not sure about your comment regarding our staff not standing up for anything, which does not provide us with any indication of what you are expecting from a staff. I would also take this opportunity to highlight that managers are available round the clock to assist with any guest, if so required.

For a hotel our size, we have managed our Breakfast quite efficiently, by providing a decent spread and offering additional hot foods, which can be prepared and served directly from the kitchen, as per guest requirement. This not only saves on usage of available space, but also allows us to serve hot food to a guest. These are all done, taking only guest satisfaction into mind.

We do have several categories of rooms with different types of bedding and requests for the same can be noted down for future or current visits, as per the guest preference. However, all room categories have different pricing for each of them. In addition, our website offers several rates, some of which includes other services as well. Wi-Fi is chargeable in most hotels and these prices have been determined after conducting proper survey through industry professionals. It is also observed that the rate offered to you was a discounted price, which was at our discretion. Evian water is an high cost item, but we also provide local mineral water, which is at a much lesser cost and these are all mentioned very clearly in our menu cards for a guest to decide his choice of food, beverage and other services.

We apologize for any inconvenience that may have been caused to you during your stay. However, we are unable to make changes to our pricing policy, as it has been planned properly with timely reviews.

We look forward to your future visit, wherein we may be able to sit across and understand your specific requirements. My official email address is also mentioned on our website to allow a guest to directly communicate with me at any time.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
1.9 km away
The Sahil Hotel
The Sahil Hotel
#38 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Kemps Corner
Hotel Kemps Corner
#70 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.9 km away
Krishna Palace Hotel
Krishna Palace Hotel
#91 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#40 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
4.0 km away
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#56 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
5.8 km away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#29 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shalimar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shalimar Hotel

Property: The Shalimar Hotel
Address: August Kranti Marg, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 036, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 440 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shalimar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shalimar Hotel is a trend setting 4 Star property located downtown, within South Mumbai’s elite residential enclave. The surrounding precinct is a Shopper's paradise and a fashionable hub of social activity and nightlife. Approximately a 40 minute drive from the Mumbai airport, The Shalimar Hotel is close to Mumbai's business district, hospitals, shopping and entertainment.The hotel offers trendy and timeless elegance, warm personalized service and a uniquely enjoyable hospitality experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Shalimar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing