We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Reasonable location and facilities” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ascot Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ascot Hotel
Ranked #86 of 428 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Reasonable location and facilities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We chose this hotel based on reviews of trip advisor and our love of art deco. I have to admit art deco anywhere may not be best option but anyway all rooms here appear to have been refurbished. We were initially shown to a 'double deluxe' room at the back of the hotel but when I opened the windows there were persistant cooking smells and we couldn't adjust the air con which was very cold so I asked to be moved. We payed an additional 600rps pn for a spacious, simply furnished room with opening windows. This room overlooked the front street and a petrol station (and sleeping drivers) but was quiet and pleasant except we still couldn't get the temperature in the room to a comfortable level and the fan couldn't be operated separately to the air con. Coming from Australia we often found the air con too cold in India. There was a limited range of toiletries but some useful amenities (like an iron and ironing board) and the hotel is in a good location with an easy walk to Taj and India Gate. The restaurant looks functional rather than atmospheric so we only ate the breakfast, which was very simple European continental style but no fresh fruit or juice. Appreciated the use of the lap top in reception area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    131
    21
    5
    16
See reviews for
45
125
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We booked two nights in the hotel as we started a trip around India in Mumbai. We requested airport pickup as we arived at two a clock at night. Two minutes before we arrived at our hotel the driver called the reception desk which told us that the hotel was completely full but we would then be brought to a different hotel (we reserved three months in advance)...

Very suprisingly the reception desk did neither understand nor worry about our complaints that we booked a specific hotel for the location and that we wanted our room as booked three months beforehand. The only comment of the reception desk was "we bring you to same hotel just different name". Neither we got a sorry or any sort of compensation. This is not what you want after a 10 our flight in a country you have not been before at three a clock at night. For me this is a ridicoulous scam and i can only advise not to book this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Hotel location is perfect.The price is reasonable its worth the value. All the staff are very helpful and friendly. My family and i were there for 40 days as my mother was going under medical treatment. Before arriving to Ascot , we have been to 3 different hotel and they were all horrible. Finally one family member recommended that we should try Ascot as they were staying there.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabkas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Big clean rooms. Superbly air conditioned. Large 42" TV in rooms. Front desk service was top-notch.

Room service meals were good and delivered on time.

So why four stars and not five? It is reasonably priced for the neighborhood, but not a super deal. The morning breakfast could have had more selections. And the ony free wifi is in the lobby and restaurant. They supply a computer, and will log you in to the free lobby wifi on your own machine, but why no free wifi in the rooms?

It is one-hour from the airport, but they will arrange for a car to met you 900 Rupees, and a car to take you back to the airport (600 Rupees). But it is only a very short walk to India Gate and the ferries to Elephant Caves, stone cravings from 400AD. And this is a total must-see.

We would stay here again, but would also look around at alternatives.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanfranciscotown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

The position of this hotel is great - just walk out and you're right on Colaba Causeway, just around the corner from the Taj. If you don't want to break the bank, which is easy in Mumbai, then this is a good option.
Didn't get off to a good start - we arrived around 6 in the evening, tired after a flight to find that our room wasn't ready. When check in is normally 2 in the afternoon we found this a little odd but apparently this was due to a late checkout - not ideal!
Anyway after a bit of fuss they found us a room - the room was huge and had a nice bathroom.
There's only the option for breakfast which is a little basic but hey you get what you pay for!
The following morning the staff at reception went out of their way to be most helpful.
Would have liked one more night in Mumbai.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cardiffvalleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We spent two nights at the Ascot. Our stay there started off badly when they said that they were not aware of our confirmed booking - booked through Hotels.com and the night manager was less than friendly. They did however find us a room on the ground floor. The next day the day staff were fantastic and went out of their way to see to our needs. A fantastic location and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BagLadyJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We (four 68 yr olds) stayed at this hotel for three nights in early February 2012. We arrived at the hotel direct from the airport at about 5.30am - hours before we were due to check in. The hotel provided us with a complimentary breakfast, stored our luggage and made every effort to make our rooms available at the earliest possible time as soon as departing guests had checked out.
During our stay the hotel management and staff did everything possible to help and assist us in a very efficient and charming way.
The rooms were clean and comfortable with AC that worked efficiently. Breakfasts were basic but adequate for our needs.
The hotel is very well situated for reaching most of the sites of the Colaba area on foot. Although only a stone's throw from the main street it gave the feeling of being in a fairly quiet neighbourhood and felt very secure and safe.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel as an ideal base for those visiting Mumbai at any time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljtye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Suba Palace
Hotel Suba Palace
#73 of 428 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Godwin
Hotel Godwin
#120 of 428 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.2 km away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#39 of 428 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Gordon House Hotel
The Gordon House Hotel
#97 of 428 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.4 km away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#354 of 428 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#219 of 428 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Property: Ascot Hotel
Address: 38 Garden Road, | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400039, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotels
Ascot Hotel In Mumbai
Hotel Ascot Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing