We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
8
28
24
23
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
28
24
23
36
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 119 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2018

I did a transfer in Mumbai and had the most enjoyable experience at the Harbour view restaurant (roof top at the hotel). The sallad was divine. The staff was friendly and went out of their way to make sure I was having a good time. The view from the roof topp is over the harbour and the gate of India and it is amazing. I ended up spending hours there and could not recommend it more sincerely!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Susann032018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2018

We traveled with friends. The first thing that we didn't like - stuff and service. Reception agents were very unfriendly, didn't tell us about room and services available. Doorman and bellman openly beged for tips. Room doesn't have windows - it was painted and we didn't see sun light. Toilet and sink were linking.
We tried to connect wi-fi, although didn't succeed.
Breakfast was very bad, untasty, small. Waiter wasn't friendly. We also had dinner on the rooftop. Unfortunately, there is nothing good but the view. Food was tasty, but lots of positions in the menu were not available.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BAVadimovna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2018

We booked this hotel using booking.com and based on nice rates and photos, only to be highly deceived as there were no correspondences between the photos and the sad reality. The staff is unbelievably rude, the place lacks the basic hygiene, the sheets on the bed are dirty, the bathroom is dirty, the shower doesn’t work, there is a goofy smell all over and there aren’t either kettle or fridge. It was a total disappointment and we immediately changed to another hotel, even though the stay was integrally paid. I do not recommend the place to anyone !

Room Tip: i'm not sure there are good rooms there
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2018

This is a no star review.

After an incredible time touring the Golden Triangle, we decided to spend a couple of days in Mumbai before flying home. The Strand had a better rating on Booking.com and we didn't see the Trip Advisor reviews until it was too late. We sympathise with every one-star reviewer of this place, it is truly horrendous.

They left us stranded at the airport on arrival. We'd been offered an earlier flight by the airline, so we phoned them to give our new flight details. Everything seemed fine, but when we got to the airport, no one was there to pick us up.

This in itself is forgivable. Mistakes sometimes happen. But what came next defies belief.

We stood for over an hour calling the hotel, calling the driver - they didn't seem to know where the airport was. Eventually, we gave up and took an Uber. Mumbai airport is fantastic for that. They even have a dedicated team of people who can help you book an Uber if you don't have the app. Within minutes, we were on our way.

Things got progressively worse once we reached the hotel. Instead of 'We're so sorry about the mix up,' or 'let's get you checked in,' the guy behind the counter proceeded to start a massive argument with us, even calling in the Uber driver to give him a dressing down for daring to pick us up! He kept insisting it was our fault for changing our flight, even though we'd given him our new flight details. He kept telling us our taxi had been waiting, as arranged, at international arrivals.

Why? We were always coming from Delhi.

No part of our original flight or our new flight had been international.

Eventually it came down to 'Do you want us to stay or not? We can find another hotel,' at which point he grudgingly took our passports and gave us the keys. The staff continued to be miffy with us the entire stay. Rude doesn't even begin to cover it.

It soon became apparent that the place was falling apart. The air freshener barely masked the stench of burnt rubber in my room. My family's room smelt strongly of mildew and there was mold growing in the fridge. The front of the aircon unit fell off the wall when we went to adjust the temperature. The towels were brittle as tree bark. Even the wiring was taped together, and the sockets sparked when you plugged anything in.

When I went downstairs to get the wifi password (and suffer another argument about the taxi), a woman appeared in reception. It was clear the receptionist and I were annoyed at each other, but I tried to hide it for the sake of the other guest.

I needn't have bothered. She was there to ask someone to open her bathroom door. When she closed it the handle had jammed and there was no way to get back in. Thank goodness she was on the outside when that happened.

There weren’t kettles or tea-making facilities in either of our rooms, and no fridge in mine. Though, given the mold in the other one, I wouldn't have used it if there was.

Honestly - just don't. Ever.

Room Tip: My recommendation for a good room is to stay at another hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ishuheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2018

I'm at a complete loss how this hotel scores such reviews?!? Done a lot of travelling, stayed a lot of places, never come across a ruder, more argumentative, penny pinching reception staff before. Customer service passed them completely by. Fawlty Towers without the laughs! Don't bother with the airport pick up - it doesn't turn up and they charge you for it. No apology from them just a rant. As for the room, check the photos. Cracked aircon unit facia fell off the wall, switch a serious hazard, nothing but mildew in the mini bar cracked floor tiles. This was supposed to be our icing on the cake, after a long trip we arrived Christmas eve - no icing, no cake! One star for relenting on the last day to look after our bags for an evening departure that gave us an extra day in Mumbai. If your thinking about this place, don't, there are many more, better, places nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews