We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Palace Hotel
Ranked #170 of 444 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do not stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

In short, the following aspects were very poor:
1) Despite the website says it is a non-smoking room, you are allowed to smoke in every single area of the hotel, including the rooms
2) The bed was totally not comfortable
3) The room I was placed in, was at the end of the hallway where some construction work was going on. In other words, I could only enter my room with cement under my shoes
4) The AC in the room makes a lot of noise
5) The sheets & blanket of the bed were too short
6) The curtains were not wide enough, so the sunrise would definitely wake you up
7) Late at night (23.30h) they came (with 2 people!) to my room to say that a bill I used was not valid because it was wrinkled...
8) The light in the closet could not be switched off, which makes sleeping even more difficult together with all the other aspects
And then, I haven't mentioned anything about the person at the front desk, who was more interested in charging people than helping them.

All in all, this was one of my worst experiences of a hotel that calls itself a 3-star hotel. I wouldn't advice anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter2012Chennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    55
    72
    23
    23
See reviews for
24
64
27
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We had two main concerns with regard to housing in Mumbai: we wanted a good location and to not have to worry about bed bugs. Sea Palace met those expectations. The location was within walking distance of everything in Colaba, and there's nothing like seeing the sparkling ocean out the front door as you step outside in the morning--the views are stunning. Plus, giving taxi drivers directions is easy, as you just tell them to take you to the Taj Hotel and then drive a bit farther down the road. Getting the ferry to Elephanta Island is also as easy as can be, as they leave from the Gateway of India, just down the road.

The rooms were clean, the bed linen freshly pressed and bright white. Bathrooms were actually pretty posh, all marble (or something similar). A/C units could be a bit loud and, yes, we did have to ask for more toilet paper (why can't they just keep extra rolls in the bathrooms?). But the staff were extremely friendly and courteous. Unlike some other reviewers, I thought the breakfasts were actually quite good, though I ate the Indian options--if you try to eat a Western-style meal there I can imagine being disappointed as you'd pretty much just have toast and cereal to choose from (though I think they also had a cook making dishes to order). But the food was freshly cooked, warm and tasty, and there was fresh papaya or other fruits to go with it, as well as plenty of coffee and tea (all buffet style). Also, they have a great seating area out front with a bit of garden and views of the ocean (in addition to an air-conditioned indoors seating area with TVs playing the news or a cricket match).

Regarding price, it may not be the cheapest option, but it's still far cheaper than anything in my home country, and we were willing to pay a bit more for something reliable while in Mumbai. I really can't complain about our experience. I see some other reviews mentioning filthy rooms, but that definitely was not our experience in either of our two stays there, which were in different rooms (and our standards are definitely not low). One way to save money is to buy your bottled water in any of a number of nearby shops rather than getting it from the front desk, as they add a huge markup.

So if you want a comfortable, clean, safe place in a fantastic location, I'd say go for it. I can't compare to other hotels in Mumbai, but we were happy at the Sea Palace.

Room Tip: Facing the sea is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

The location is unbeatable, right down the street from the Taj hotel and a stones throw from the Gateway of India. It is an easy walk to all sites in Colaba, Fort and Churchgate area. The hotel rooms are clean and simple. The water is hot and the water pressure is adequate, but can be poor during peak hours. The hotel staff is delightful and very accommodating, just make sure to confirm your reservation multiple times before arriving (however this goes for all Indian hotels). The outside café is a nice place to end a night of strolling. The extensive breakfast buffet is included in the price of your room and gives your more bang for your buck.

Note: Beware of booking through online deal websites (i.e. booking.com). This does not guarantee that your room is secured. Follow up with a phone call to the hotel.

Wifi is not free but is available. A downside for us.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilesDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

I stayed for 6 nights in late December 2011 at a total cost of approx. 300 pounds sterling (taxes included), which was the cheapest I could find for the season and in the area. Their email communication before I arrived - in response to queries I had about room amenities and breakfast foods - was pretty poor. But when I got there the hotel staff were friendly and generally accommodating, but only the main reception staff had good levels of English. They kindly upgraded me from a single room to a twin room and a hairdryer and kettle were provided on request.

The room was clean enough and relatively spacious, with a desk/chair, telephone (8 rupees/minute for calling local mobile phones), TV, small fridge (which didn't work), hotel-style safe, and the usual cupboard space. The room being garden-facing, the blackout curtains were permanently closed so there wasn't much natural light but it was useful for catching up on sleep! The air-conditioning was excellent and not that noisy, and the bed was firm but comfortable for me. The en-suite bathroom was shabby but serviceable, with the hand-held shower being far better than the overhead shower which spurted water widely and weakly. There was some construction going on during the day, which started up around 8.00am but tended to end in the evenings well before bedtime.

The breakfasts were simple (two Indian-style, plus cornflakes and toast, and eggs upon request) and were served until 10.00am - great for late risers! The room service was ok, although anyone with food allergies/intolerances needs to be aware that some items are understood/described differently than you may be used to (e.g., paneer is not regarded as cheese but as "white butter"). The laundry service was very basic, with the ironing so-so.

I felt safe in the hotel as a single female traveller, and its location near the Gateway of India (and the ferry services to/from Elephanta Island), the main museums and lots of places to eat and shop at was ideal. The doorman Mr Da'ta was lovely and recommended helpful, reliable taxi drivers (non-air-conditioned cars) to take me around the city at a reasonable cost (e.g., 700 rupees for 3-hour tour of main sightseeing spots). If you're looking for somewhere cheapish and cheerful to lay your head while you explore this fascinating city, this hotel would suit you. If you want something slicker and more like western-type hotels, this might not work as well for you. On balance, I was content enough with my time there.

Room Tip: The twin, garden-facing room I stayed in was 301, garden-facing. From peeking into the sea-facing ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

So filthy, terrible service and construction literally ON MY DOOR the next morning at 8 am after getting in at 4:30 am...they lost the Expedia confirmation and I slept in my clothes because the sheets were so filthy. I've been in many low end hotels but I have never paid so much for a hotel that was so terrible. Never again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allraindrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

good service and an amazing location. i loved the service and hospitality of the hotel.. the members of the staff are very pleasing and help flu. the food has a very large variety and the rooms are good..the best part of the hotel is that it is located in the best location throughout mumbai..

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saqibbeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeast Asia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

This hotel is located on the same street as the famous Taj Mahal Palace Hotel (just a 2-3 minute walk). So excellent location, right in front of the ocean, and the broadwalk has plenty of male hustlers at night. To the right of the hotel is the Taj and to the left (right around the corner) is Voodoo, a gay night club, also with lots of good looking Indian money boys.

We paid 6,100 rupee per night which translates to around USD117 at the time, not cheap in our view for what we got, particularly compared to other hotels around the world that we've been to, but by Mumbai standard this is quite reasonable (we found hotels to be rather expensive in this city).

What we didn't get in this hotel: No bath tub, no hairdryer, no facial tissue, no cold a/c (was a bit too hot for our taste and definitely too noisy - they are still using the old window type with the machine still attached) and no spring bed (very thin mattress). Everything was VERY mediocre/ minimal, including the breakfast.

However, if you just want a place to crash with an excellent location to the night market, shops, bars and restaurants, this might be the hotel for you.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 205 (with flat screen TV) and 206 (without flat screen TV, but slightly cooler A/C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SoutheastAsiaSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Godwin
Hotel Godwin
#126 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Harbour View
Hotel Harbour View
#234 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#210 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#370 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Suba Palace
Hotel Suba Palace
#58 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.2 km away
Bentley's Hotel
Bentley's Hotel
#155 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Palace Hotel

Property: Sea Palace Hotel
Address: 26 Sea Palace Prem Ramchandani Marg | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 444 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Palace Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Palace Hotel is located in the heart of Mumbai City having easy accessibility to the commercial, shopping and tourist areas. We are 5 minutes away from Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus (V.T. Station), and 40 minutes drive from the Domestic/ International Airport. A heritage enchanting the view of Mumbai's beautiful harbour, we are renowned for luxury and comfort maintaining the standards of service and professionalism which caters to the requirements of a high profile business traveler as well as a leisure tourist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing