We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sea Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$148
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$111
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$216
US$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$296
US$172
Oberoi Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$132
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Le Grande(Mumbai)(Great Value!)
US$48
US$38
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
21
60
75
27
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
60
75
27
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantradio clubwalking distance from gateway of indiaexcellent locationdeluxe roomscolaba causewaythe sea facing roomshotel is locatedpaneerevery morningtasty foodbreakfast spreadcstlocalityindian
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 212 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We had two main concerns with regard to housing in Mumbai: we wanted a good location and to not have to worry about bed bugs. Sea Palace met those expectations. The location was within walking distance of everything in Colaba, and there's nothing like seeing the sparkling ocean out the front door as you step outside in the morning--the views are stunning. Plus, giving taxi drivers directions is easy, as you just tell them to take you to the Taj Hotel and then drive a bit farther down the road. Getting the ferry to Elephanta Island is also as easy as can be, as they leave from the Gateway of India, just down the road.

The rooms were clean, the bed linen freshly pressed and bright white. Bathrooms were actually pretty posh, all marble (or something similar). A/C units could be a bit loud and, yes, we did have to ask for more toilet paper (why can't they just keep extra rolls in the bathrooms?). But the staff were extremely friendly and courteous. Unlike some other reviewers, I thought the breakfasts were actually quite good, though I ate the Indian options--if you try to eat a Western-style meal there I can imagine being disappointed as you'd pretty much just have toast and cereal to choose from (though I think they also had a cook making dishes to order). But the food was freshly cooked, warm and tasty, and there was fresh papaya or other fruits to go with it, as well as plenty of coffee and tea (all buffet style). Also, they have a great seating area out front with a bit of garden and views of the ocean (in addition to an air-conditioned indoors seating area with TVs playing the news or a cricket match).

Regarding price, it may not be the cheapest option, but it's still far cheaper than anything in my home country, and we were willing to pay a bit more for something reliable while in Mumbai. I really can't complain about our experience. I see some other reviews mentioning filthy rooms, but that definitely was not our experience in either of our two stays there, which were in different rooms (and our standards are definitely not low). One way to save money is to buy your bottled water in any of a number of nearby shops rather than getting it from the front desk, as they add a huge markup.

So if you want a comfortable, clean, safe place in a fantastic location, I'd say go for it. I can't compare to other hotels in Mumbai, but we were happy at the Sea Palace.

Room Tip: Facing the sea is nice
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2012

The location is unbeatable, right down the street from the Taj hotel and a stones throw from the Gateway of India. It is an easy walk to all sites in Colaba, Fort and Churchgate area. The hotel rooms are clean and simple. The water is hot and the water pressure is adequate, but can be poor during peak hours. The hotel staff is delightful and very accommodating, just make sure to confirm your reservation multiple times before arriving (however this goes for all Indian hotels). The outside café is a nice place to end a night of strolling. The extensive breakfast buffet is included in the price of your room and gives your more bang for your buck.

Note: Beware of booking through online deal websites (i.e. booking.com). This does not guarantee that your room is secured. Follow up with a phone call to the hotel.

Wifi is not free but is available. A downside for us.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilesDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I stayed for 6 nights in late December 2011 at a total cost of approx. 300 pounds sterling (taxes included), which was the cheapest I could find for the season and in the area. Their email communication before I arrived - in response to queries I had about room amenities and breakfast foods - was pretty poor. But when I got there the hotel staff were friendly and generally accommodating, but only the main reception staff had good levels of English. They kindly upgraded me from a single room to a twin room and a hairdryer and kettle were provided on request.

The room was clean enough and relatively spacious, with a desk/chair, telephone (8 rupees/minute for calling local mobile phones), TV, small fridge (which didn't work), hotel-style safe, and the usual cupboard space. The room being garden-facing, the blackout curtains were permanently closed so there wasn't much natural light but it was useful for catching up on sleep! The air-conditioning was excellent and not that noisy, and the bed was firm but comfortable for me. The en-suite bathroom was shabby but serviceable, with the hand-held shower being far better than the overhead shower which spurted water widely and weakly. There was some construction going on during the day, which started up around 8.00am but tended to end in the evenings well before bedtime.

The breakfasts were simple (two Indian-style, plus cornflakes and toast, and eggs upon request) and were served until 10.00am - great for late risers! The room service was ok, although anyone with food allergies/intolerances needs to be aware that some items are understood/described differently than you may be used to (e.g., paneer is not regarded as cheese but as "white butter"). The laundry service was very basic, with the ironing so-so.

I felt safe in the hotel as a single female traveller, and its location near the Gateway of India (and the ferry services to/from Elephanta Island), the main museums and lots of places to eat and shop at was ideal. The doorman Mr Da'ta was lovely and recommended helpful, reliable taxi drivers (non-air-conditioned cars) to take me around the city at a reasonable cost (e.g., 700 rupees for 3-hour tour of main sightseeing spots). If you're looking for somewhere cheapish and cheerful to lay your head while you explore this fascinating city, this hotel would suit you. If you want something slicker and more like western-type hotels, this might not work as well for you. On balance, I was content enough with my time there.

Room Tip: The twin, garden-facing room I stayed in was 301, garden-facing. From peeking into the sea-facing rooms that were being cleaned, I think they are in better condition.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 15, 2011

So filthy, terrible service and construction literally ON MY DOOR the next morning at 8 am after getting in at 4:30 am...they lost the Expedia confirmation and I slept in my clothes because the sheets were so filthy. I've been in many low end hotels but I have never paid so much for a hotel that was so terrible. Never again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allraindrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 12, 2011

good service and an amazing location. i loved the service and hospitality of the hotel.. the members of the staff are very pleasing and help flu. the food has a very large variety and the rooms are good..the best part of the hotel is that it is located in the best location throughout mumbai..

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saqibbeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews