We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Banquet and front Desk”
Review of Solitaire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Solitaire Hotel
Ranked #341 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst Banquet and front Desk”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I am on a business trip and had been staying in this hotel for 4 days. The staff here is the worst I have come across.
It seems either they dont understand, and pretend not to help the patrons.

You ask for seperate tea in breakfast & are answered its chargeable. I reuested for seperate tea not POT tea, but they dont seem to understand or flatly refuse.

I requested front desk for a print out of my flight ticket, and the front dek guy plainly refuses to help you. I reuest him that i will mail it to you, just take 1 page print out and he plainly refuses.

You cannot expect this kind of service from a hotel of repute.

Really really bad staff

Vivek

Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank pathakv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    18
    20
    20
    21
See reviews for
14
19
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Rooms are a mixed bag of old and new so ask for a newly remodeled one. Cant beat the free airport pickup and drop off. Food was good and service ok.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viksis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Thanks to Air India sending me a text message of a very long flight delay just as I was reaching the airport, I succumbed to the taxi driver who told me he knew a "good hotel - not too expensive". I know I should never have let my guard down but I got sucked in. Price was too high for the type of establishment Hotel Solitaire was but then it was near airport and I couldn't be bothered arguing. On being taken to our room, we were horrified to see that the sheets were dirty and staff had bypassed changing them before they gave us the room. My husband insisted on clean sheets and clean towels and they obliged. The bathroom had been cleaned but there was a grot factor that comes with places that haven't been maintained for years. After finally settling down in our room, our phone rings with the old line of "Was that one Kingfisher you ordered or two?". The latter really set the tone of this hotel - didn't see any female staff and we went out for dinner and made sure our door was securely locked when we went to sleep. Breakfast buffet wasn't worth the effort. There must be better places near the airport for the rip-off price we were charged (which obviously included the taxi driver's commission) - I think they have a nice little racket going here as they seemed to know each taxi driver or rickshaw driver who "discreetly" popped his head in after dropping someone off. Don't get ripped off like we did - take a few minutes to reflect and find something better and cheaper.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed here on 14/07/2011 and checked out on 15/07/2011. They gave us used Towels, there was blood stains on the blanket cover and the linen. The prices of food items were sky high. The Mini bar was full of rotten items. No one will pick up the phone in House-keeping and in the Room Service! In one sentence, this is a ZERO Star Hotel. Just avoid it! For more details, please revert back to me at ppmajumdar@gmail.com!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppmajumdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Hotel Solitaire is located near the airport so is very convenient for travel.
The hotel is not very nice but is ok for cost effective business travel, the looby and restaurant us ok, not very nice.

Rooms are spacious as per mumbai standards, no internet is offered in the room or lobby, you have to use the hotel internet in there business desk. the food offered in room service is ok, not great. but not expensive.

Rooms are clean, beds are not very comfortable, bathrooms are clean.

overall a ok hotel, not great but is value for money i think

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJ2176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

I have stayed 2 nights in April, hotel was under renovation and painting, so there was discomfort, economical and close to domestic Airport, rooms are comfortable. restaurant is not up to the mark. Not recommended for longer stays

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margao, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

This hotel was booked on the basis of its location, viz. its closeness to the Mumbai International airport. I stayed at this hotel for 4 days.

Right from the word "go", my experience was very pleasant. I was picked up at the airport by the hotel's staff. The receptionist's too were very cordial and helpful. I was taken to my room which seemed very cozy and comfortable - above all, clean. I was told about room service, laundry service, hot water availability, television, the mini fridge and its stock, etc.

As regards room service, it is prompt and the food is tasty. All the staff seemed polite and conscientious of their duties, e.g. after you have finished your meal, it is cleared off and the crockery is not just left outside the room. You are also given a complimentary Bisleri bottle daily.

If you like to eat out, you also have that option as there are fast food eateries around (e.g. Subway, Pizza Hut), though one would have to travel by rick to get to one of the same. There are general stores just outside the hotel, as also a pharmacy, and a money exchange shop.

Rooms are cleaned and wiped daily, with a total linen change and a replenishment of used toiletries or drinks/biscuits/chips/water from the mini fridge.

Overall, a stay at this hotel truly seems "paisa wasool".

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selwynfernandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mumbai (Bombay)
GCC Hotel And Club
#51 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
190 reviews
The E Hotel at Eskay Resorts
#111 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
16 reviews
GCC Northside Hotel
#5 of 28 in Thane
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vile Parle East
Hotel Better Home International
Hotel Better Home International
#350 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
26 reviews
Regent Hotel
#102 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solitaire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solitaire Hotel

Property: Solitaire Hotel
Address: New Sanjay Nagar, Sahar Rd | Near International & Domestic Airport, Opp. APT Colony, Mumbai (Bombay) 400099, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #341 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Solitaire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Solitaire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing