We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and helpful”
Review of Hotel Lawrence

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mumbai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Lawrence
Ranked #21 of 431 Mumbai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Lawrence and his mother are wonderful hosts. They try to help you with everything. Excellent location for a good price. Tried to go back this month but they are fully booked. I am not surprised. All the best.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
4  Thank Megan206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

I was 3 nights there with my family and I , perfect guest house: there is the minimum to enjoy your stay, very straight forward but anything you need, there is indeed no plugs in the room, but Mickael ( the nicest owner ever) will let you use his office plugs.
Mickael even pushed his kindness for christmas by offering us chai and cake on the morning with a big smile,
If you look for a cheap and clean place this is perfect
I will add that the situation is perfect, lot of good and tasty bakery around for a good coffee and very central :-)
I'll come back.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank marynebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016

I first discovered the Lawrence hotel in the 80s and then again in the 90s.
So I will go back again to the same. You have to be flexible and cut out the crap of looks because when you get your room it is clean tidy and so close to the heart of this great city

Room Tip: no choice. you get what is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank woody13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016

This place is a total bargain for its location! Close to some great cafes and shops in a nice area of Mumbai. The couple who run it are LOVELY.
It's quite hard to find and you have to go up a very poorly-lit staircase - if you're travelling alone maybe try not to arrive late at night because while the people chilling in the stairwell seem to be minding their own business it does give you a bit of a fright!
My room didn't have a powerpoint but the owners were more than happy to let me charge my phone, camera, etc. in reception and they looked after it.
The bathrooms are shared.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank kiwigirl1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

Thankfully most taxi/auto drivers know where this is, as it's hard to find. Great location once you're there if you're interested in exploring the Colaba and Churchgate areas. No power points in the rooms is a huge loss though when you need to charge things. Michael lets you charge things in the office though. Definitely not a luxury hotel!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2016

This is the second time we have stayed at Hotel Lawrence, the location is absolutely perfect. Tucked in a quite side street just 10 minutes walk to the gate of India it really is an amazing location for just 1000inr a night. it is difficult to find so Google the hotels phone number and have the address with you for the taxis. The rooms are very clean, bright and airy with very high ceilings. The owner is incredibly helpful and kind, he is very knowledgable regarding all of Mumbai and can direct you to some cheap eateries close by. Shared bathrooms are kept clean and there's 4 shared bathrooms with hot water. Slight annoyance not having plug sockets in the room but you can charge your devices in the lobby or in the office which is religiously kept locked if the owner isn't in there so your belongings are kept safe. Don't be put off by the dark and dingy staircase as upstairs is a haven in Mumbai !

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mhl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2016 via mobile

The price for this location is a bargain (1000 rupiahs for a double). But don't expect to get luxury here: there are homeless people sleeping in the staircase, the shared toilets are very difficult to flush and the floor in the shared bathrooms are almost always dirty. The beds are hard but there's surprisingly little noise here. You charge the telephone in the office because there are no power outlets in the room. The owners are very friendly.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kai J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Gateway of India
Hotel Travellers Inn
Hotel Travellers Inn
#74 of 489 in Mumbai
668 reviews
Colaba
Bentley's Hotel
Bentley's Hotel
#298 of 489 in Mumbai
315 reviews
Marine Drive
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#72 of 489 in Mumbai
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gateway of India
Hotel Residency Fort
Hotel Residency Fort
#16 of 489 in Mumbai
1,914 reviews
Marine Drive
Bentley Hotel Churchgate
Bentley Hotel Churchgate
#12 of 431 in Mumbai
96 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel Elphinstone Annexe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lawrence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lawrence

Address: No 33 I T T S House Shree Saibaba Marg, Mumbai 400001, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai > Fort/Kala Ghoda , Gateway of India
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 431 B&Bs / Inns in Mumbai
Price Range: $66 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing