We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
17
37
10
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
37
10
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 70 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2016 via mobile

I was 3 nights there with my family and I , perfect guest house: there is the minimum to enjoy your stay, very straight forward but anything you need, there is indeed no plugs in the room, but Mickael ( the nicest owner ever) will let you use his office plugs.
Mickael even pushed his kindness for christmas by offering us chai and cake on the morning with a big smile,
If you look for a cheap and clean place this is perfect
I will add that the situation is perfect, lot of good and tasty bakery around for a good coffee and very central :-)
I'll come back.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank marynebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 20, 2016

I first discovered the Lawrence hotel in the 80s and then again in the 90s.
So I will go back again to the same. You have to be flexible and cut out the crap of looks because when you get your room it is clean tidy and so close to the heart of this great city

Room tip: no choice. you get what is available
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank woody13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 1, 2016

This place is a total bargain for its location! Close to some great cafes and shops in a nice area of Mumbai. The couple who run it are LOVELY.
It's quite hard to find and you have to go up a very poorly-lit staircase - if you're travelling alone maybe try not to arrive late at night because while the people chilling in the stairwell seem to be minding their own business it does give you a bit of a fright!
My room didn't have a powerpoint but the owners were more than happy to let me charge my phone, camera, etc. in reception and they looked after it.
The bathrooms are shared.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank kiwigirl1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2016 via mobile

Thankfully most taxi/auto drivers know where this is, as it's hard to find. Great location once you're there if you're interested in exploring the Colaba and Churchgate areas. No power points in the rooms is a huge loss though when you need to charge things. Michael lets you charge things in the office though. Definitely not a luxury hotel!

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2016

This is the second time we have stayed at Hotel Lawrence, the location is absolutely perfect. Tucked in a quite side street just 10 minutes walk to the gate of India it really is an amazing location for just 1000inr a night. it is difficult to find so Google the hotels phone number and have the address with you for the taxis. The rooms are very clean, bright and airy with very high ceilings. The owner is incredibly helpful and kind, he is very knowledgable regarding all of Mumbai and can direct you to some cheap eateries close by. Shared bathrooms are kept clean and there's 4 shared bathrooms with hot water. Slight annoyance not having plug sockets in the room but you can charge your devices in the lobby or in the office which is religiously kept locked if the owner isn't in there so your belongings are kept safe. Don't be put off by the dark and dingy staircase as upstairs is a haven in Mumbai !

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mhl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews